We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms small but perfectly formed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland to your Saves list
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Hastings
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Rooms small but perfectly formed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights for a long weekend. Great location only a couple of blocks walk to Downtown and opposite Albert Park. Bed clean and comfy. Bathroom small but modern. Friendly efficient staff on front desk. Breakfast nice even though they had a small area to set up in. Excellent valet parking and retrieval. Room had a small kitchen and washing machine that we didn't use. Only downside was the noisy service alleyway outside our room when the sliding door was open.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Suzyloo99,

We really appreciate your encouraging and valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are equally delighted to have you as our valued guest.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you again and making your stay more enjoyable.

Warm Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    333
    165
    96
    55
See reviews for
94
370
113
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here for one night, before the start of our NZ vacation. We had booked the Penthouse room, mainly for the views across the harbor. However, seeing as we had booked the best room at the hotel, the service did not support it at all. Here are a few things that, let's just say irked me during the stay
1. The toilets were not clean. They had brown stains on them from previous use ...
2. The reception seems to staffed with students, who work at the hotel to complete their internship requirement from a Hotel management school. Its like they're trying to remember from a manual as to how to approach any situation. I think the thing that really stuck out for me was when they couldn't print a simple document when I asked them to and their excuse was that the systems were new and they're not very IT proficient. I'm sorry but its 2014 and computers have been around awhile - its time to get on the bandwagon.
3. They have a small kitchenette in the room, but no towels (hand or paper) to dry our hands with.
4. They have no information in the room about the local area, or for that matter how to call the reception. They had a menu for the restaurant downstairs, but when we called them to place a room service order we were told to call them back in ten minutes as they were presently busy.

Some of the points above could be seen as being demanding (which I am) but when you call yourself a "4-Star Hotel" (as can be seen on their website), there are some things which are and should be taken for granted, and one of them is impeccable service.

All in all, the only thing good about staying here was that the view was pretty good, that's not a reflection of the hotel at all. All the while I was there, I couldn't shake the feeling that I was in a glorified backpacker motel, and I've actually stayed in one and that was a much better experience that this one was.

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear PB_the_Expl0rer,

We appreciate your valuable feedback. I am sorry that you did not have a very pleasant stay with us.

We have noted your concerns very carefully and have taken appropriate actions to avoid any such re-occurrence from our housekeeping staff.

Further we look forward to receive an opportunity to host you again and change your experience with us.

Warm Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The hotel has an excellent central location near Albert park. The staff are courteous and helpful. The beds are comfortable and the appliances are modern. The view from my room was pleasant. The downsides are: sheets may not be washed properly at times (I regularly found long hair in my bed - I stayed a few weeks), and the same for towels which seem to leave some whitish powdery compound on skin at times. The 3 lifts are badly insufficient for a large hotel (and its staff as well as guests) and their swipe-card system is very unreliable (on several occasions, I could not get to my floor because the card would not recognize me - this was extremely common). One of my night lamps did not work. The corridors and fixtures are a bit worn out and the hotel generally needs a refurbishment. The sound insulation is just adequate, unless you are a light sleeper. These things just tipped my ranking to "average"

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear OceanRower,

We appreciate your valuable feedback. Sorry to hear we missed to meet your expectations. However, we have noted your concerns very carefully and have taken appropriate actions to avoid any such re-occurrence.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back a The Quadrant and hope we cab enhance your experience during your next visit to Auckland.

Warm Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed there recently for a few nights. I found it very comfortable, and the location was pretty handy, close to town and right next to the university. The room had a fridge, a little double hob for cooking, a dishwasher and a washing machine ! The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were very clean. There are two things I feel that could be improved, firstly the breakfast, which left something to be desired, with dodgy baked beans, horrible sausages, and probably the worse coffee Ive ever tasted (and Ive been around..). Secondly the lifts, which require a card to get to your floor, It took me several goes sometimes to get them to work, and I encountered many other guests with the same problem. It was a great place to stay, and I feel improving these two things would have made it even better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear JeroenSpeak,

Sincere thank you for your valuable feedback, it is much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were equally delighted to have you as our valued guest.

Your valuable feedback has been taken into consideration very efficiently.

Your feedback helps us to be better and deliver better. We look forward to welcome you again and offer you yet another delightful experience.

Kind Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here for two nights while in transit and absolutely loved this place. We had a Queen suite for a reasonable price, which included a huge balcony, comfy bed, washer/dryer(!!!!), fully equipped kitchen, and shower with great water pressure. Also, the unlimited wifi was super fast! The Quadrant is extremely close to lots of food and shopping. The staff were friendly and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Lauren W,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your valuable feedback. Your feedback is very encouraging and we were equally delighted to have you as our valued guest.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and to offering you yet another delightful stay.

Kind Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Quadrant hotel last week. The staff at reception were very helpful especially Dana. She gave us a complimentary upgrade as it was my partners birthday. The room was lovely and had a seaview. We would diffidently recommend this to my family and friends. 10/10

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Shae B,

We appreciate your valued feedback and thank you for taking time to post it. It was an equally delightful experience for us to have you as our valued guest.

Your valuable feedback is very encouraging and we look forward to accommodate you soon.

Warm Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here just for 1 night in march 2014 but was blissful..just had to wait a bit for check-in as there was a queue,apart from that everything was excellent, good price,clean room,excellent service,front staff was very Friendly and helpful.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Almeidasteven,

It was our pleasure to have you as our valued guest and we thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you would love to stay with us again.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon and offer you yet another delightful experience.

Thank you,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.