We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could live here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland City Oaks

Save Saved
You added Auckland City Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auckland City Oaks
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Thames, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I could live here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Whenever we travel to Auckland we will be sure to stay in this centrally located, well equipped apartment-like hotel. There is a little balcony off a central living area, where you can sit at the end of the day and watch the sunset over the city. Underground parking garage, easy to stay here with your rental car, when you are flying out the next day. In the thick of the city, yet an easy commute to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear ellenrh
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    302
    134
    46
    28
See reviews for
202
261
42
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Loved the fact the fact the it was close and reasonable walking distance to the main attractions in Central Auckland. Two bedroom apartment was lovely, washing facilities was Great, shame about the room service . Had to enquire after a week if the apartment was vacuumed and how often. Told every other day, but still no evidence of this happening. Kitchen and bathroom flooring was never cleaned. Traveling companion tested this by dripping tea on the floor. The stain where still there after 16 days of staying there. Fridge needed defrosting and there where times when no washing up cloth was left for our use.
One occasions came back to find dirty towels still on a pile on my bedroom floor. Clean towels just left on bed as usual. So this is room service!
Breakfast was unsatisfactory, A box of cake slices or muffin, yoghurt, banana, fruit juice and cereal bar was not doing it for us. Would of enjoyed a continental breakfast in its true form.
Free view/ sky TV two main movie channels was out for over four days. Told someone was looking into it on the roof. Internet data allowance only offered if you asked for it. Told this after day one allowance stop working on day three. When we enquires as to why it was no longer working. Felt the staff could of been more forthcoming with information. If you didn't ask you where left in the wilderness.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of the corridor on each floor are less likely to experience the noise of the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your comments about the standard of housekeeping. This is of a major concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping standards – we invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team. I have addressed your concerns with our Executive House Keeper to follow up. It is disappointing to hear that our service did not work, as it should have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulls, null, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Rooms were clean enough, though towels were grey and not white. Apartment was way to small, 2 bedrooms with no room for luggage or even enough seating for 4 people. Breakfast wasn't great, slices of cake, which were stale by morning, cheap cans of lemon iced tea made in Malaysia - I think it was lemon iced tea there wasn't alot of english writing on it, yoghurt and bananas. Wine was good but unfortunately not delivered until between 6 and 8pm so not good if you want a drink before going out for tea.
Wind whistled through apartment really loudly all night long, which made for a wakeful night.
Our room looked out on the back of the Auckland Central Police Station yard, so not the best view.
Basically you get what you pay for, and this is a reasonable price for Central Auckland. Whilst it wasn't bad it wasn't great either and there are plenty of better hotels around.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Pros:
Proximity to city and amenities
Clean and functional rooms - serviced every day though too small (see below)
Free wifi
Helpful staff
Working kitchenette.

Cons :
Rooms are two small - we stayed in two bedroom apartment but did not have space to put suitcase in either room. Daughter had hardly any room to walk/run. Not enough sofa to seat four people in a two bed flat.
Breakfast quality can be much better. A prepacked Sandwich instead of a cake would probably be my preference. (its not impossible with today's technology to ask this as an option to the guest himself)
Parking for guests is atrocious at $25 a night and requires pre booking. We ended up parking on the street outside and ensured we put in the ticket from 8am onwards.
Close to the mission but that's hardly the hotels fault. We walked in the other side of the street to avoid it.

Would I recommend it?
No: if your expectations are to high.
Yes: if you are ok with the cons above

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

As said in previous posts this motel is in a terrible location. Right near a mission so the people hanging around when you return at night at very shady. Unfortunately we weren't familiar with Auckland so this was trial and error for us. It is on a noisy road too. We were on level 1 at the front of the motel. We had 3 incredibly bright lights shining directly into our room- it was like day light in our room when we were trying to sleep. Luckily we were exhausted from travelling and slept ok.
We were in a one bedroom 'apartment' which was absolutely tiny. We had no one to put our suitcases. The 'breakfast' was not good and staff were just meh- did not look interested in being there or helping. Thankfully after 2 nights we moved onto Queenstown which was fantastic.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher room at the back of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, it's a terrible experience that ever had, inconvenient, staff is not helpful and impolite. Room size is horrible and next to the main road, very noisy. Agree with Michelle C, next door to social services and a homeless shelter when go back late, it's quite scary. It mentioned "continental breakfast" but it's just kidding us - cake and cookies.....damn it!!! No slippers, no tooth brush, no toothpaste! The only thing is good - free wifi but with limited usage!! What a bad choice this time!!!

Room Tip: Higher floor is more quiet and privacy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Jackielababy
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
As you have rightly mentioned, Auckland City Mission is a government organisation that is located 500 meters away from us close to Auckland Sky Tower - we have no control on where the City Mission is located and instead encourage the Mission that is in place by the government by donating items weekly instead of shying away from the organization in which we have no control over. We do not see the Mission as a problem as it is over 5 minutes walk away from us and we have no instances thus far during the properties life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We have spent the last 14 days travelling around nz and this is by far the worst place we've stayed. It's in a seedy location, it's next door to social services and a homeless shelter. The hotel itself is drab and run down. Our room was drab. Breakfast was a joke, who eats cake for breakfast. The washing machine took 3 hours and my washing was wet in the dryer setting. The was no forks so we had to ask for some. The spoons were dirty, one had caked on food on it. We didn't even have a kettle, what kind of kitchen is that. Bed hard and uncomfortable and a fan or something was on all night somewhere above us in the roof so bad sleep.

Would never stay here again, go down to the vr on queen street. It's cheaper, new, has a good breakfast and is nice.

Room Tip: Goto the vr on queen st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Michelle C
Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch.There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address. However, I am glad to hear you had a great stay in our sister property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auckland City Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Oaks

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auckland City Oaks 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Auckland City Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
Auckland City Oaks New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland City Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.