We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland City Oaks

Save Saved
You added Auckland City Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auckland City Oaks
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 76 hotels in Auckland
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I liked this hotel. Only stayed 2 nights, had a bottle of red waiting in our room on arrival and some snacks for breaky delivered the nights before. I think the value for money was pretty good for the room size and location. Staff service was really good too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest
We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great staff, Great price, Great location. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    296
    132
    46
    28
See reviews for
200
258
40
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went here last June. Spent 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment is complete with almost everything even laundry and good view of the city. The room is cleaned everyday and breakfast sent to room. Internet was ok. Parking must be pre booked so as to avoid disappointment due to limited space. Service is good too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Adli S,
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really nice hotel to stay in. Nice and warm welcome. Friendly staffs, especially the night duty guys. Quick and good response. Simple and elegant breakfast. Enjoyed the business class stay. Hassle free environment. Easy access to city center. On the whole it's a nice place to stay in. Would surely recommend and also come again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Suresh K
Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel. Thank you especially for your kind comments on our staff, breakfast and location. I have passed your kind comments on to the team regarding their service so thank you for sharing this with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The location is close to Sky Tower and shopping area - Queens Street. Great staffs working in the hotel who are willing to help with any information you need. Lovely rooms, free wifi and breakfast. Would come back again and tell my friends to stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued guest
Thank you for your review of our property and your positive comments on our helpful staff and central location. It is wonderful to know that you would recommend this hotel. Thank you and please stay in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter so we can provide you with our best rates for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our 2 bedroom room was very small but had all the facilities were were after. A small kitchenette was very basic but we didn't need to use it anyway. There was not enough couch space for the 4 of us.

I had requested 2 single beds in the second bedroom which I was very pleased to get but there wasn't quite enough room to walk either side of the beds.

The breakfast provided was not our favourite but it was a start to the day. It consisted of a piece of cake, yogurt tub, a banana and a muesli bar.

Be prepared for an uphill walk from downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenyang, China
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I spent four days here. The location is great for downtown Auckland. The rates and cleanliness are ok. But the internet is dreadful. You are given a limited use username and password that you must constantly re-enter (it prevents saving). The speeds only support text email and simple browsing. The internet in the entire hotel failed not less than THREE times during my four day stay and was out for several hours. To top it off, there is a fiber optic internet connection running right under this building. Why they decided instead to contract out to some awful vendor I'll never know. I was unable to keep in touch with my overseas offices from this hotel and therefore cannot recommend it to any business travelers. Consider yourself warned.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued guest
Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you suffered as a result of the issues you experienced with our internet service. I understand how frustrating this would have been for you. We have recently updated all of our hardware, having the latest technology installed throughout the building. Technology is an area of our service that we continually focus on enhancing therefore we take your feedback very seriously. I am following up with our team to ensure that we are providing our guests with immediate support should technological issues arise. I am very sorry that your stay was marred in this way and I can assure you that the service issues you experienced will be investigated. Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback and I do hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panipat, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Its a nice service apartment. Very clean and tidy with full amenities and a kitchen to cook whatever you want.
Not at all that expensive for a two bedroom apartment with a small living room…
Very close to the Downtown or City centre and fascinating Sky tower..you can walk down to all these place in 8-10 minutes.
Overall value for money...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear ArpitKhanna
Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel. Thank you especially for your kind comments on our hotel amenities, central location and good value. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auckland City Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Oaks

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auckland City Oaks 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Auckland City Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
Auckland City Oaks New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland City Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;