We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for your pocket!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland City Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Auckland City Oaks to your Saves list
Auckland City Oaks
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Panipat, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good for your pocket!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Its a nice service apartment. Very clean and tidy with full amenities and a kitchen to cook whatever you want.
Not at all that expensive for a two bedroom apartment with a small living room…
Very close to the Downtown or City centre and fascinating Sky tower..you can walk down to all these place in 8-10 minutes.
Overall value for money...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear ArpitKhanna
Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel. Thank you especially for your kind comments on our hotel amenities, central location and good value. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    328
    166
    53
    37
See reviews for
218
292
49
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed a week & you can not complain about the location. 2 blocks from Skytower & InterCity Bus Terminal. A 20 minute walk down to the habour (but the walk back up the hill takes a bit longer).
We arrived after being on a 4 day cruise & knowing that our rooms wouldn't be available, we locked them up in the baggage handling area.
We had a 2 bedroom with kitchen & bathroom/laundry. The WiFi suited us especially for a family of 4 needing that "Internet" connection :)
Reception was very nice & helpful. They recommended a great restaurant for our nephews Birthday (Tonys Steak & Seafood) & wee helpful with all our other questions.
The only fault is the mini Kitchen needs to have more milk, tea towels & dish washing liquid. The light breakfast was good, but not satisfying. Would probably recommend cereals instead of the "cake"
All in all, we were happy

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Valued guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your short stopover with us as we enjoyed looking after you.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night manly to visit the sky tower. The location is close to sky city and other places of interest. Our room were clean and tidy but small I expected this as we booked a basic room through Qantas and were given a room on first floor. Please be aware you need to book your parking in the hotel if you are driving we got caught out and had to park the car in a public car park 300m away. The staff were helpful and friendly and gave us a map of how to loop back around to the public car park (this must happen to a lo of guests as this was a photocopied paper print out)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Valued guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City.
Due to limited parking space we have in the building, we always advise our guest to pre-book a parking to avoid the disappointment, I am glad to hear our staff could help you to find an alternative option. Please book a parking in advance if you choose to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My family and I enjoyed staying here. We arrived very late at night with three young children and we got settled in very quickly. They was enough room for our family of five. We enjoyed the breakfast every morning. We like the location as it was close walking to shopping, museums and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great service, Great location. Thank you for repeating to stay with us again, and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Very warm welcome, nice spacious apartment-like room, free light breakfast and wifi. Great pillows and the heated towel rail was on when we arrived. Would stay here again. 25 minutes walk to Vector Arena.

Room Tip: Our room had a kitchen and semi separate bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I got sick when I was here and had to call the reception 5 times to get them to clean it up, had to remind them to bring new towels, had to ask again to have them take the soiled towels away, basically I had to clean up MY OWN VOMIT because the people working here don't care one bit about their customers. The front desk told me they were sending someone up to clean and then after I called them 30 minutes later tried to argue with me that someone had already been sent up (because they dropped off towels...) The cleaning lady tried to hand me her mop and have me mop up my own vomit. SERIOUSLY WHAT IS HAPPENING. I'm going to make sure to report them to whatever the NZ equivalent of the BBB is, and will not rest until I get satisfaction. These people have made me absolutely furious.

DO NOT STAY HERE. And manager who will inevitably respond to this comment because you doctor the reviews on here.. I WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN AND I WILL MAKE SURE YOUR HOTEL IS SHUT DOWN! YOUR WATER MADE ME SICK! HOW MANY HEALTH CODES ARE YOU VIOLATING? DO YOU THINK THE TOURISM BOARD WILL APPROVE OF YOUR TREATMENT OF CUSTOMERS? DO YOU THINK YOU'RE GOING TO GET AWAY WITH THIS????

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less than top notch. We are sorry to hear that you got sick because of New Zealand Water! You may complain to NZ Environmental Health Services regarding it.
After investigation with our housekeeping team, we had our housekeeping supervisor on duty at that night. She and another housekeeper did clean all your vomit on the bedroom carpet. Because it was on the carpet, its not easy to completely get rid of it on that point of time, so our staff went several time to clean it. You had requested to call a professional carpet cleaning company to clean, unfortunately it was 8PM at night and we are not able to get any company to come and clean at late hours. Meanwhile our staff did vacuum the room and mopped the bathroom and kitchen as you requested. We tried our best but unfortunately it still could not meet your satisfaction. Take care and have a safe trip back to US!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Very Central, convenient to most shops and specially sky tower... Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Small breakfast pack feels like a complimentry treat every morning... My room was very nice and comfortable. .. Simply a home away from home... will definately recommend it to my friend's. .. :) Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Amy,
We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great service, Great price, Great location – there are no properties in Auckland that can match what we offer with complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi.
Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auckland City Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Oaks

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auckland City Oaks 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auckland City Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
Auckland City Oaks New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland City Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.