We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is certainly not a 4.5 star hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland City Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Auckland City Oaks to your Saves list
Auckland City Oaks
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Varsity Lakes, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Is certainly not a 4.5 star hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the ground floor. The view was the brick wall of the police station. The towels and face cloths were stained and thin. The breakfast was disappointing, delivered the night before in a basket, not one bit interesting. Who wants a chocolate chip muffin for breakfast. We were hesitant to go out after dark in this street, apparently the homeless mission is just nearby, so that accounts for the people sitting on the footpath. We had a 14 year old with us so didn't risk it. My advice, check which floor the view apartments are on, otherwise forget it, you still pay the same price for what we got. Would not recommend this hotel. Find one near the waterfront, where there are nice restaurants around you, and get a better impression of Auckland than we took away.

Room Tip: Don't accept anything other than a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    316
    150
    49
    36
See reviews for
210
277
45
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Spent two nights after arriving in Auckland onboard a cruise ship. Convenient location, with an easy walk to the harbor. The neighborhood might not be the best at night. We had a very nice two bedroom apartment, however it was on the first floor and we would have preferred one on a higher floor with a view/balcony. A well equipped kitchen and nice comfortable beds. The complimentary breakfast is minimal, delivered to your room the night before (muffin, banana, juice, yogurt). A good value, however the furniture needs replacing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Easy to find from airport, make sure you reserve underground parking.
Short walk to harbour area.
Upgraded to two bed apartment, well equipped inc wash machine, cooker etc
$75 per night , good value and you get adequate continental blast delivered night before.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The advantage of Auckland City Oaks over other hotels in Auckland, is the fact that it's a well furnished apartment. We stayed in the two-bedroom apartment that had a microwave, dishwasher, stove-tops, ironing board, pots and pans, and an array of cutlery, so it's really easy to prepare your own meals. There is also an asian grocery store nearby, and a (well placed) police station is just round the corner. You also get a breakfast of yogurt, banana and a muesli bar - not the best breakfast, but adequate. So it's really a home-away-from-home type of apartment.

For the price, we could've stayed at the Rendevouz close by, or the Crowne Plaza, but they don't offer the same amenities as the Auckland City Oaks. So if you are travelling with 3 or more people and prefer to eat in, then Auckland City Oaks will do just fine.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for any special request before you arrive. The hotel doesn't have too much fle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the apartment and all that it offers as compared to a traditional hotel that offer smaller rooms at higher prices. We do apologize if we could not meet your last minute request due to our high occupancy, however our staff always go out of their way to ensure that our guests will be look after. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Do not stay at this hotel, the people there are not friendly, and don't treat customers right. No parking, the hotel smells bad and housekeeping slack off and don't want to provide service. If you decide to stay at this hotel, after check in, you must move your vehicle in the front of they will call the tow company and tow your car away, no exception. These receiptionists are very mean and rude. My advice is stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I would love for you to contact me directly at aco.fom@vrhotels.co.nz as there a number of issues you have raised in your review that are a real concern to me. I am not one to take such things easily and need to address them after receiving more information.

I look forward to hopefully hearing from you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had an apartment with 2 seperate bedrooms at an affordable price - hard to find in Auckland. The free breakfast was either a muffin or bread with spreads, some fruit and muesli bar, and a box of juice - plenty to fill you up. Very clean and spacious. The beds were comfy. The girls on reception were very helpful and gave us maps and directions. Parking underground was quite limited, so needed to get there early. Easy 10 minute walk to Sky City or Queen Street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny J, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear suzyloo99

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards,
Jenny Jia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great central location, although very quiet and the room had everything I needed and more, only stayed for one night but wish I could have stayed longer.

Breakfast was included in the price which was great and free WIFI was a nice change also.

Most definitely worth the money, I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny J, Front Office Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Oogle90

We are very glad to hear that our little touches enhanced your stay and you had a lovely time. It is wonderful to know that you would recommend this hotel. Thank you and please stay in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter so we can provide you with our best rates for your return!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auckland City Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Oaks

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auckland City Oaks 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Auckland City Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
Auckland City Oaks New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland City Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.