We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland City Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Auckland City Oaks to your Saves list
Auckland City Oaks
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Myself and a friend travelled to New Zealand from October 30-Novebmer 8. We stayed at Auckland City Oaks for the duration of our trip.

After travelling from Melbourne overnight and landing in Auckland at 5:20am, we were hoping that the hotel would be kind enough to let us check in early (we'd mentioned to them at the point of booking that we would be landing in Auckland early). Unfortunately after arriving at the hotel at 7:30am, there was no room ready for us as the hotel had been booked out the night before. We weren't too fussed by this as it was 7:30 in the morning after all! The hotel staff kindly took care of our luggage while we wandered off to get some breakfast.

The only issue I'd have with the staff at this point were that they were completely unwilling to even TRY and push our room along so we would be able to check in early. The lady at the desk said, at best, we'd be able to come back at 1-1:30 (Check in is 2pm). She was completely unwilling to help get us a room sooner, knowing that we wouldn't have slept in well over 24 hours.

We were exhausted by 12pm so we ventured back to the hotel in the hope that a room would be ready. Sure enough, there was one ready!

We were wary of what the room would be like after reading a few average reviews on TripAdvisor, but much to our surprise our room was fantastic! We'd requested at the time of booking and before we arrived that we have a room with a view and sure enough we got a room on the top floor with a view of the tail end of the Harbour Bridge and the water! Couldn't have asked for a better room.

We had a standard on bedroom apartment and it was just what we needed. Everything worked as it should and was clean. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were perfectly white. The wifi has obviously been upgraded since some of the reviews on this website, because we received a password that was to expire in a weeks time and the wifi was just as fast as my connection at home! We couldn't have been happier.

The breakfast wasn't anything to rave about, so we didn't touch it at all. It didn't bother us because neither my friend or I are big on breakfasts like what they offer anyway.

Each day the staff would come in and make our bed and clean our dishes so we were happy that we didn't have to do it at the end of each day.

I'd also seen some complaints about the car park on the website too. We'd previously booked a car park for our hire car for two nights, and there was no issue with this whatsoever. Besides the car park being a tight fit (not many car parks at all, and we were told that if there was no car park, that we could just block someone else in and we'd be called if we needed to move our car, or reception would take our car keys and do it themselves if we wished).

Other reviews here have mentioned issues with the fact that the Auckland City Mission is just a minutes walk down the road from the hotel, we didn't find this an issue at all! For two 20 year old girls, you would think we'd be quite nervous walking past while the men are smoking out the front. The first one or two times, we were a bit nervous, but after that... we'd happily stroll past with shopping bags and groceries day after day! The men and women from the mission didn't bother us once, and in fact would move out of our way so we could walk past and very rarely did they look at us for longer than a couple of seconds. We figured that they are at the mission to get help, so they were unlikely to bother us at all... and we were right!

Besides the tight fit in the car park and the unhelpful reception lady upon arrival, neither of us could say a bad word about the hotel. It was just what we needed, it was worth every cent of money and we'd definitely stay there again!

We also departed very early in the morning (2:30am) and this was no issue at all. The night staff were kind and wished us safe travels on our way home.

The only things I recommend doing is requesting a room on the top floors so you have some kind of view, and if need be, email the hotel a couple of times to help ensure they come through with a good room for, also I'd recommend informing reception a number of times before arrival if you are departing or arriving early so you don't encounter any issues there.

Room Tip: Email the hotel well prior to your arrival at the hotel to request a room on the higher floors with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, General Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    336
    180
    57
    37
See reviews for
222
304
49
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our last stop in Auckland and on arrival had an issue when we booked in. We had paid for a 1 bedroomed apartment with a balcony and city view. When we got to the room we had no balcony and no view. We did go back to reception and informed them of this and they told us that they only had 1 such room in the whole building. We were not happy with this and insisted this is what we had paid for as we were on our honeymoon so this is what we wanted. After a call by the receptionist they upgraded us to a 2 bedroomed apartment with balcony and view. So a situation rectified by them which was great. The room was very big with all the amenities including washing machine. We we grateful of this as we needed to do some washing however the drying element of the machine wasn't very good. We had some things in the dryer for about 6 hours in total but still didn't dry. The free continental breakfast which was complimentary was a nice touch. The only other negative was that the free wifi was very, very slow infact painful.

Room Tip: If you're booking a 1 bedroom apartment with Balcony and City view bear in mind there is only 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, General Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am disappointed that upon check in the room was not as per your expectation. However, I am very happy to hear that our team went out of their way to ensure that you were looked after and in the end had a great stay with us. This to me is very important.

Thank you for your comments about the complimentary Wi-Fi. We are one of the few properties in New Zealand that offer complimentary Wi-Fi to all guests. It is disappointing to hear that our service did not work as it should have. This is something we will address and fix – perhaps there may have been a weak signal in the room you were staying in – none the less if you could please email me your room number it would be helpful in rectifying the problem for future guests. My email is – udai@vrgroup.co.nz.

We hope to see you back in the near future, thank you for your support.

Warm Regards,

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Comfortable bed, only just able to walk around the queen size bed - would have been improved with changing position of bed in room. Clean, comfortable, good location close to Queen Street & Skycity complex. Stayed on 30th floor and had no road noise at all, good lift access and excellent room facilities. free internet

We paid inflated prices due to the busy weekend of events in Auckland - have no problem with that but the higher price not be warranted if it was usual price due to room size.

The downsides - Reception Staff barely able to understand english - I ordered a taxi and was processed as 'checking out'. We had booked a carpark which on arrival was unavailable and parked in their 10 min caravan park. This was watched by their security man, who said nothing. On our return (albeit 2 hours later) we had been towed - no phone call to our cellphone to alert us. then the fun began - the male receptionist refused to make eye contact with me, I asked twice why they had not alerted us to possibility of being towed - no reply - gave me a disconnected phone number for the towing company and then a map of where to locate the car (4mins walk away) only to discover the towing company was located 10 mins drive away.Would only stay again if the recption staff were radically improved. On the upside we had a great meal out, saw Coldplay the next night and loved our weekend in Auckland.

Room Tip: Higher up in complex - the quieter it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, General Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. However, the property you are reviewing does not seem to be Auckland City Oaks – we only have 10 levels in our building and not 30 in your review. I hope this review can be moved to the appropriate property.

Take care and I hope you choose us next time when you are in Auckland.

Warm Regards,

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Loved the apartment, Only in Auckland for 2 days before heading up to the Bay of Islands. Nice touches such as the fisher and paykel appliances and in apartment washing machine and free wifi. Really close (1 block) to Sky Tower, and waterfront is in walking distance (10 - 15mins).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, General Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for two nights at the City Oaks. The apartment was large and had everything we needed including free wifi.

Breakfast was very basic (toast, muesli bar, juice and fruit) but was all we needed. They deliver it to your room in the evening.

The location was reasonably good. It was a short walk to the Sky Tower or to the main square.

There is no restaurant or swimming pool at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the main road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, General Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the apartment and all that it offers as compared to a traditional hotel that offer smaller rooms at higher prices. As with anything there are certain disadvantages, we have great rooms for great prices but have no gym or pool in our complex (please note that we do not advertise that we do). What we do offer is complimentary Gym and Pool access to a neighboring facility for all guests to use free of cost. We do the best we can in assuring our guests have a great stay with all extras at no charge. I hope you take this into account when choosing your next accommodation partner.

Take care and I hope you choose us next time when you are in Auckland.

Warm Regards,

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

One of the best hotels we have stayed in and for a very reasonable rate. Great having a good oven, range hood, micro wave and washing machine/dryer in your apartment. Great security at the hotel, and while some reviewers have been freaked by the people outside the city mission, which is down the road a bit, it is easy to cross the street or take another street to avoid them. While we popped down to Father Ted's for our excellent, value plus breakfasts, we ate the yoghurt, muffins,fruit juices, and baked bars, at a later time, so was still appreciated. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, General Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great price, Great location – there are no properties in Auckland that can match what we offer with complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi.

Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroomed apartment. The living area is very compact for four people with only three 'comfortable' seats and three dining chairs. It seems very dull and dark inside. Central so ok if you can get a good deal, but only 3* hotel really. Car parking tight and you have to move a car if you get blocked in. We didn't realise that we had 'locked' our door when we went out for the day so our room wasn't serviced as apparently the housekeeping staff cant get in, and there is no notification of this anywhere, so be warned. Continental breakfast delivered the evening before and more than adequate if you have no food with you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, General Manager at Auckland City Oaks, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to read that you found our rooms not up to your expectation in terms of size. Our apartments are much bigger than the standard apartments in Auckland and especially when compared to hotels that are even smaller. Perhaps next time place a request a larger room and our reservations will do all they can to honor your request. For the value that we offer our customers to certainly endeavor to do all we can to ensure you have a pleasant stay at our property.

Take care and I hope you choose us next time when you are in Auckland.

Warm Regards,

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auckland City Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Oaks

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auckland City Oaks 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Auckland City Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
Auckland City Oaks New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland City Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.