We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Parnell

Save Saved
You added Quest Parnell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quest Parnell
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Heather Street | Parnell, Auckland Central 1052, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
chch nz
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Surprisingly comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. Clean apartment, serviced daily. Has all the mod cons you could want. Excellent desk staff and very friendlily housekeeping. Close to bus and taxi for town. Would stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    35
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
22
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
england
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night only, the room had a small kitchenette, with everything you would need, we were only a short walk for the car hire company Ace. We were able to park outside the hotel, but the street did fill up very quickly in the morning and emptied around 4-00pm. There was some building work going on near by but it was not a problem with noise.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment for one night in September 2012. Its not he Ritz, the carpet in the hallways is looking a little worn, but the room was modern, clean, a good size and really good value for money when split between 3 people. Our rate was A$258 for the night which included free parking. Really liked the location of this hotel, just steps away from the main drag in Parnell which made it easy to go out for breakfast, lunch and dinner and of course to do some shopping at all the cute village shops in Parnell. (Chocolate shop is a bit dangerous though..)
We arrived very early on a flight from Australia and were lucky enough to get early checkin at no extra cost. The hotel staff also allowed us to stay parked in the hotel carpark well past checkout the next day while we explored Parnell. I felt like we really got our money's worth and that the staff were very accommodating with our requests and helpful in general. In fact, it made me feel a little guilty for leaving half the black sand of Piha beach on the bathroom floor!

I'd definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayapura, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A group of us were in Auckland for a friend's wedding and the location of the Quest Parnell worked perfectly for us. The apartments themselves are well appointed, although it would have been good if they had apartments with more bedrooms it didn't worry us. The staff were friendly and helpful and the cost of parking was entirely reasonable for central Auckland. Parnell is a good spot having plenty of good cafes and food options nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed just two nights here and was quite impressed with the room and location. Plusses: good little kitchenette; quiet room; on street parking in evenings and weekends (and possibly during the day too); great location.

No frills and no real character but had everything we needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on business and found the room (Level 2, Apt 5) was a great size. Well appointed. This room did face onto the street and the curtains were able to block most of the street lights - it wasn't an issue.
I did not use the wifi but think $10 is a reasonable rate for NZ.
Car parking (you need to prebook this) was great and I appreciated Quest letting me leave my car there until 2pm the next day even though I had checked out in the morning. The only criticism would be that when you pull up outside where the walk-in entrance is to the hotel the is no courtesy parking to allow you to check in and obtain your parking card for the Quest garage. I made the mistake of parking in the carpark building under the hotel sign on Heather St.
Will definitely stay again. The proximity to the shops, cafes and restaurants in Parnell is fantastic.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights (my wife had to stay for 9 due to work). Clean, tidy and our room was spacious with a kitchen, a living room and a separate bedroom (~40sqm big).

The cleaning team was good and very helpful/polite. So was the reception. Plus the place is at the corner of Parnell so it gives access to many bars, restaurants (top-notch some of them) and is 5' from downtown with the bus.

The only "improvement" area is the integrated gym which is a bit small (1 treadmill, 1 elliptical, 1 bike and 1 rowing machine). Unfortunately no dumb-bells or other weight lifting equipment. However they do have a 20m heated pool (1 lane) which you can use.

Satisfied overall although I do acknowledge that some other rooms are smaller than ours (so other people have complained on tripadvisor)

Room Tip: Go for corner rooms as they are bigger. Ask whether they have availability on the 2nd floor (better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Parnell

Also Known As:
Quest Parnell Hotel Auckland Central
Quest Parnell Hotel
Quest Parnell Auckland
Quest Parnell Auckland, New Zealand
Address: 8 Heather Street | Parnell, Auckland Central 1052, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#19 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Parnell 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quest Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Parnell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.