We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Parnell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quest Parnell to your Saves list
Quest Parnell
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Heather Street | Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Auckland
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very accommodating and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment for one night in September 2012. Its not he Ritz, the carpet in the hallways is looking a little worn, but the room was modern, clean, a good size and really good value for money when split between 3 people. Our rate was A$258 for the night which included free parking. Really liked the location of this hotel, just steps away from the main drag in Parnell which made it easy to go out for breakfast, lunch and dinner and of course to do some shopping at all the cute village shops in Parnell. (Chocolate shop is a bit dangerous though..)
We arrived very early on a flight from Australia and were lucky enough to get early checkin at no extra cost. The hotel staff also allowed us to stay parked in the hotel carpark well past checkout the next day while we explored Parnell. I felt like we really got our money's worth and that the staff were very accommodating with our requests and helpful in general. In fact, it made me feel a little guilty for leaving half the black sand of Piha beach on the bathroom floor!

I'd definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    40
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
26
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jayapura, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A group of us were in Auckland for a friend's wedding and the location of the Quest Parnell worked perfectly for us. The apartments themselves are well appointed, although it would have been good if they had apartments with more bedrooms it didn't worry us. The staff were friendly and helpful and the cost of parking was entirely reasonable for central Auckland. Parnell is a good spot having plenty of good cafes and food options nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed just two nights here and was quite impressed with the room and location. Plusses: good little kitchenette; quiet room; on street parking in evenings and weekends (and possibly during the day too); great location.

No frills and no real character but had everything we needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on business and found the room (Level 2, Apt 5) was a great size. Well appointed. This room did face onto the street and the curtains were able to block most of the street lights - it wasn't an issue.
I did not use the wifi but think $10 is a reasonable rate for NZ.
Car parking (you need to prebook this) was great and I appreciated Quest letting me leave my car there until 2pm the next day even though I had checked out in the morning. The only criticism would be that when you pull up outside where the walk-in entrance is to the hotel the is no courtesy parking to allow you to check in and obtain your parking card for the Quest garage. I made the mistake of parking in the carpark building under the hotel sign on Heather St.
Will definitely stay again. The proximity to the shops, cafes and restaurants in Parnell is fantastic.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights (my wife had to stay for 9 due to work). Clean, tidy and our room was spacious with a kitchen, a living room and a separate bedroom (~40sqm big).

The cleaning team was good and very helpful/polite. So was the reception. Plus the place is at the corner of Parnell so it gives access to many bars, restaurants (top-notch some of them) and is 5' from downtown with the bus.

The only "improvement" area is the integrated gym which is a bit small (1 treadmill, 1 elliptical, 1 bike and 1 rowing machine). Unfortunately no dumb-bells or other weight lifting equipment. However they do have a 20m heated pool (1 lane) which you can use.

Satisfied overall although I do acknowledge that some other rooms are smaller than ours (so other people have complained on tripadvisor)

Room Tip: Go for corner rooms as they are bigger. Ask whether they have availability on the 2nd floor (better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great apartments for families - not as 'interior designer-y' as 5* hotels perhaps, a little more basic, but very comfortable and functional furniture and decor. We stayed in a 2 bed 2 bath apartment, nice and clean and very well set up with microwave, dishwasher, fridge, full cooker and hob top etc - great to be able to self-cater with small children.

The location is more family-friendly than some of the hotels close to office buildings as Parnell has loads of cafes, mini supermarket, restaurants to eat out at or take away. And great art galleries and a nice main street. Only 5 mins drive from the Viaduct and central Auckland or if you don't have a car the Link Bus comes down the main street which is about 100m away. Great swimming pool, very cool location (looks like a walkway from below, only the glass edges give it away).

The actual building reminds me of The Barbican in London, rather a 60s/70s concrete jungle but the practicalities of the place far outweight the aesthetics.

Very helpful and friendly staff (fixed a problem with our Sky cable TV almost instantly then came to check again it was all working properly). Not 24 hour reception but they have a good system for after-hours key collection which worked very successfully. On site parking for $11 a night, reserve in advance.

In summary, would definitely stay here again in the future - as ever, it depends on what you're looking for but with small children not having to get room service for a cup of warm milk is invaluable :-)

Room Tip: Reception is on level 3 - this is effectively ground level as there is a courtyard area out the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times for work and I have absolutely no complaints. The rooms are a great size, the bed is comfy and the room is inviting. It also has a really great shower which is always a bonus when travelling for work. The staff are really friendly and helpful.

I rate this over some more expensive hotels as it has a homely feel which is great when you have to be away. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Parnell

Address: 8 Heather Street | Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#15 Business Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest Parnell. Quest Parnell Serviced Apartments are located in the heart of the historical inner city suburb of Parnell in Auckland, New Zealand with a focus on quality and comfortable living. Quest Parnell offers Studios, One and Two bedroom (two bathroom) apartments with all the facilities you are ever likely to need, including an on-site gym and heated lap pool. This contemporary style complex is ideal for both corporate and leisure travellers seeking secure serviced accommodation in the prestigious Parnell area. Our two-bedroom apartments comfortably accommodate families of up to five people. Quest Parnell is situated in Heather Street, adjacent to many of Auckland 's finest restaurants, retail shops, historical landmarks and popular attractions including the unique Parnell Village. Vector Arena, Auckland Domain, War Memorial Museum, University, Auckland Hospital, Viaduct Harbour, Broadway shopping centre in Newmarket, Kelly Tarlton's Underwater World, Beautiful City Beaches are all only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quest Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Parnell Hotel Auckland Central
Quest Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Parnell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.