We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the staff but not the place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   8 Bankside Street | PO Box 3791, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Loved the staff but not the place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and the best thing about it were the staff. Incredibly helpful manager who came up to the room immediately on two occasions to sort the wi-fi and the washing machine. Polite and un-posey, nothing was too much trouble. The next best thing was that the apartment was clean. Then there was the city and harbour view from the balcony. But other than that, I didn't care for the Waldorf Bankside apartments. Skinny, squished lounge with no feng shui and a really bad smell in the lifts and central stairwell. Parking in the area is difficult and expensive. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Dianne

Thank you for your feedback it is much appreciated. I am glad that the staff and I were able to accommodate you with the wifi and washing machine. It is a value to see that our guests enjoy the service. It is unfortunate that there was a smell in the passage way and lift. I will look into this further to see how we can prevent lingering smell of our other residents cooking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    80
    31
    10
    7
See reviews for
13
103
39
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This place is great in so many ways: well equipped kitchen (washer AND dishwasher!), great view of the harbor from my floor (15th), comfy, large bed, good shower, ideal location....

The only drawbacks are:

-noisy, drunken students (mostly on Friday and Saturday nights)
-NO housekeeping (my room was not cleaned once in 4 days)

If they do not plan to clean the rooms, they should at least provide a vacuum cleaner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the top floors to benefit from the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Nicholas

Thank you for your feedback, it is a joy to see that you enjoyed your stay here at Waldorf Bankside and look forward to welcoming you back.
In regards to housekeeping, guests are more than welcome to call reception for any extras they need as we are more than happy to accommodate. Services are done for guests who are staying 7 days or more, we will look at this again. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have stayed in Waldorf Bankside apartments for 6 weeks and we have been very happy there. We asked for a high floor apartment and we got an studio on the 17th floor with great views to the Gulf.
The apartment was very basic but it had all you could wished for a short stay and very conveniently located in the CBD but at the same time a bit away of the traffic and the noisy streets.
The staff was very very very helpful and nice all the time to us, great job guys...that is the way to go.
We will definetely recommend them and will stay there again if we had too.
Cheers

Room Tip: Ask for views to the harbour and high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Eva

Thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure and joy to have you stay with us here at Waldorf Bankside and look forward to your return visit. we wish you well on your travels.

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here in June and just have arrived home after a long two months travelling. I read on tripadvisor about the Waldorf Apartments and have stayed in a few of them. We were not impressed by the standards or service we received from the Waldorf Apartments so we decided not to ever go back to any of them. My partner read comments about Waldorf Bankside Apartments and couldn't believe what was commented, a Waldorf Apartment being that good? We decided to give it a go to see if we would experience anything like the comments that were written. We checked in, we were surprised at the checking in procedures getting let in and reception was on the 2nd floor. The interior of the building is like nothing we had seen, we were having second thoughts. We got to reception and was greeted by the manager which was a surprising and wonderful! After we were welcomed we were given the keys to our apartment, we walked in, they are small apartments but very nicely furnished. We were both surprised with the service, the staff there were most accommodating and really helpful. We really enjoyed our stay there, we extended our stay for a couple more days. Waldorf Bankside is a great value to the Waldorf company, staying there made us realise that we should not condemn all the Waldorf as this one shone out from the rest. It may not be as big or look as spectacular than the others but it surely proves that the service and customer service is a mind changer. Thank you so much to the manager and the other male staff that made our stay really impressionable!

Room Tip: Never judge your bad experience towards hotels in the same company! Give another a try, you may be l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Johnny

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we have left a good impression on you. We would enjoy having you stay again and wish you a well and safe journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Unfortunatly due to circumstances we were unable to travel to Auckland, I was so looking forward to coming and staying at the Warldorf Bankside apartments, they looked awesome inside.When I rang to cancel, the staff was accomodating friendly and sympathetic to my situation... thankyou..... If I do happen to travel to Auckland at a later date I will definatly be looking at staying at the Waldorf Bankside Apartments...... :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Jodie

Thank you for your feedback.
It is good to see that our staff were able to help you out with no hassles or delays. We hope to see you in the near future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night as we seeing a concert in Auckland.

The Waldorf Bankside was really great. Very clean, nice room with good fixtures like a TV, fridge, cooktop and oven. TV was unplugged for some reason when we arrived but it was easily sorted. Room was nice and quiet, shower was awesome, bed was comfy and view was good.

Location is very good, only a 5 minute walk to Queen Street, and about 15 minute walk tot the Vector Arena where the concert was.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor so it was nice and quiet and had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Its is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Waldorf Bankside and look forward to visiting again.

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

my husband and i enjoyed our stay at Bankside Apartments,Auckland .rev. For us,it was good value for da price pay and a huge bonus on FREE wifi. Both of us love doing a fair share of walking to/frm the city, therefore, location was not a problem.Support staff atBankside were excellent. On the way to Auckland,we experienced flight delay and emailed reservation.on our late arrival. the apartment was self contained, newly decorated and good views I would definately come back again and recommend tis hotel to anyone.ti was great value for money! Thnk you for making our 1st visit a good one!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. It is so pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your first visit with us and look forward to welcoming you back. its been our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments

Address: 8 Bankside Street | PO Box 3791, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Bankside are affordable serviced apartments located in central Auckland City. A short walk to High Street and Chancery shopping quarters, as well as Queen Street and recently upgraded Fort Street areas. With apartments on 18 levels, spectacular city and harbour views can be enjoyed from Deluxe rooms situated on top floors. All of Auckland CDB's main attractions are easily accessible from Waldorf Bankside's central city location. Fully self-contained, Waldorf Banksides in room kitchenettes allow residents to cook for themselves as cutlery and cooking equipment provided in room. Residents can purchase groceries from a major Supermarket 10 minutes walk away or enjoy some of the great fine or casual dining options available throughout Auckland City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside Waldorf Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Bankside Waldorf Serviced Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.