We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartment, everything you need and good location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90-92 Nelson, Auckland, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment, everything you need and good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

I stayed for three nights and loved it. As soon as I walked in I was blown away by the size of the apartment. It was tastefully decorated, the bedroom (it could be separated from the rest of the apartment by louvre doors) was lovely and the bed very comfortable and the loungeroom had a fantastic sofa. The kitchen was huge and had everything you need to cook. There was a large fridge. The bathroom was good and had a washing machine and dryer INSIDE the apartment!! I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. In terms of the area, I found it very convenient. You have to walk about three blocks to get to the ‘central’ part of Auckland, but I thought it was worth it for the cost and facilities offered. It is situated near a lot of other apartment buildings and there is not a lot else going on in that area but that didn’t bother me. Being away from downtown it’s a quieter and there's a lot of Asian supermarkets and food places (fabulous!). It’s nearish to the Circuit and Link buses if you don’t mind walking a bit to get to them (and giving your calves/hamstrings a workout due to the hilliness of Auckland!) which I didn’t mind. For example it’s an easy walk to SkyTower from there, straight up Hobson St. Here’s a funny thing, there seems to be no DVD player in the room and I asked about it as they offer DVD hire but they directed me to a place nearby to hire a player. Then I worked out I could use the digital receiver to play a DVD. Not sure if I was supposed to do that!! And finally, they don’t service on Sundays and public holidays which was interesting as I was there from Saturday night to Tuesday morning!! I actually prefer the privacy but it’s a bit naughty of them to do that as they advertise as being a serviced apartment. They do though provide anything that you need. You go down stairs during the day and if you need extra towels etc or want to get rid of rubbish they’ll sort that out for you but obviously cut down on the staff at those times for cost reasons.
I loved this accommodation, like a home away from home and I would rush back there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    19
    13
    7
See reviews for
16
26
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

everything you need is in the apartment, from cooking facilities, washing machine, dryer, disc washer, heater, etc, very clean room, bathroom is clean too, in New Zealand, the weather is not so hot through out the year, so I didn't found an air conditioner in the room :) room rate is good too, value for money

Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel/service apartment. It was not too bad, the room although a bit small, but cozy and complete. It has everything we need in a hotel. The washer and dryer is the added bonus, not to mention the balcony. We had the best view of the harbour and sky tower. And we had one memorable view here when we saw the Auckland bridge dissapeared from view by the mist/fog one morning. Amazing. The staff are helpful and friendly, although there are so few of them around.

The hotel was a bit far from Queens Street but if you like peace and quiet this is the place for you. But its still a walking distance to Sky Tower, but you have to be fit to walk around since Auckland is so hilly! We are Asian so we are a bit concerned about getting our food supply but to our surprise we found one Asian supermarket just round the corner, which is great.

Our only setback is the internet which cost so much, cant remember exactly how much, maybe its around NZD5 for half hour. But overall, we are happy and dont hesitate to come back here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

Apartment 9C, fabulous size, awesome views, fairly new carpet, nice manager. Unfortunately the apartment smelt strongly of asian cooking, the fridge of garlic, old paintwork, stained yellow light switches, the bathroom badly in need of update, basically the apartment needs refurbishing (black mould in bathroom and on the back of curtains), insufficient heating. Looked clean, smelt dirty.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2009 during our visit to New Zealand. The apartment was large and spacious and the washing machine was a huge bonus! It was very clean and well equipped. As with most places in New Zealand there is no air conditioning, however there are large windows/doors and fans are provided in each room.

The immediate area isn't great with views of dirty apartment blocks, however it is in an excellent location to get to the main sights. It's only a 5 minute walk from the Skytower and 10 minute walk from the bars and restaurants at the harbour. The closeness of the motorway is also an added bonus.

Parking is in a secure underground car park however, there is an extra charge for this.

My only criticism of this apartment is that on arrival we were given an apartment with two double beds despite specifically asking for 1 double bed and 2 single beds. When I queried this I was told they weren't informed about our request so there was nothing they could do. I looked at their printout of our booking and pointed out the request clearly written in the notes section. As soon as they realised it was their mistake and not ours, they were far more helpful and housekeeping were asked to change the room. If you require a specific bedding configuration I would recommend ensuring you add this onto your booking request and book direct through the Quest website.

Other than this initial mix up reception were very helpful and gave us lots of advice about where to go and what to do.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Quest is a serviced apartment, which are common in NZ and Australia. There was a full kitchen and washer/dryer in the bathroom. We had a great view of the Harbor (did pay extra for this).

There is a small balcony to look out at downtown.

As a serviced apartment things are a bit different from a hotel. Reception hours are limited, there is no restaurant on-site and the rooms are cleaned every few days.

The staff were friendly and the room was clean. There are a few items to be aware of though.

There is no A/C, and in the heat of summer, the windows do open up for a nice breeze but as you are in the middle of the city there is A LOT of traffic noise. There was a packet of earplugs on the table in the room when we checked in.

Under the building there is a car park. To get out of the car park, press the very small green button on the left wall (which means you drive to the garage door, get out, go to the left wall (right hand drive here) press the button, get back in the car. Why they can't put the exit button next to the car, and on the right side, I don't know??

Other tip - is I never really figured out where to park when checking in. There isn't a reception check in circle or anything. There is a small sign next to the garage door that says "5 min parking, reception" but to park there I would have to drive up and park half on the sidewalk, maybe this is correct???

  • Liked — full kitchen
  • Disliked — road noise, no A/C
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

We stayed at Quest on Nelson from 9 to 16 August 2008 in apartment 5B - one bedroom apartment with harbour view.
It was very clean and ideally located within 500m of Sky City. Wonderful harbour view. Although Nelson St is a one way thoroughfare we were not bothered by traffic noise - and we come from a lifestyle property in the South Island with nearesy neighbour 0.25 kilometer away. Apartment complex also has secure car parking. Highly recommended - great value forthe price.x

  • Liked — Clean, centrally located, great view
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments

Address: 90-92 Nelson, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.