We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90-92 Nelson, Auckland, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The place was a little hard to find,and because it's on a one way street,can be difficult to get in and out fast. Overall the room was ok,I stayed in a one bedroom apartment,but it's more of a studio apartment,as it has only a small wooden door to seperate the bedroom from the main area,also the sliding door was broken on one side. I liked the couch,and the comfortable chairs in the kitchen area,bed was comfortable. There was a little traffic noise,but it was hardly noticeable,parking was extra,but was easy to get in and out. The service was good,with the exception of the receptionist swearing at someone on the phone while I was checking in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street,the higher up the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
16
24
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Positives-well appointed kitchen and laundry with washer and dryer, friendly and informative staff at reception on arrival, good view from 5th floor room.

Negatives- the room lacked air conditioning and the traffic noise was too much with windows open and even with them shut the noise was still intrusive.
One of the reasons we chose these apartments was because they advertised that Sky TV is available including sport. The only "sport" channel was Trackside-a horse/racing channel.
The label "One Bedroom" is a little misleading in that the bedroom and lounge area are separated by bi-fold louvered doors. The apartment is more like a studio.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Our apartment was burgled on the second day we were there. On return, we found the room was serviced, my suitcase was still locked but the zipper was cut open, likely with the kitchen knife readily available in the apartment. The director of the apartment came and first thing she said was that we must have left the door unlocked. We know we used the hotel key to open the door, so it was locked and the room was serviced.

She handed me the phone number for Auckland central police station and I called to make a report myself.

There are no security camera on the floor of the apartment and the reception is off to one side and people could have walked in. So the one star rating says it all.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Found this apartment on the net for $300 per night, so booked for 2 nights. On arrival was advised there would be a parking fee- not advertised. Accepted that but was disappointed withe state of the bathroom. Not only was there mould and undusted, unwashed surfaces the little shelf above the wash hand basin tilted at such an angle that products slid off!
On the lounge there were 4 cushions with the stuffing literally coming out of them.
We were tired so we did stay 1 night but cancelled the second. Initially they wanted to charge us for both nights but in the end that didn't happen. They even wanted us to show their cleaning staff what needed cleaning!!! Believe me anyone could see what was wrong with that apartment!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Great appartment with very nice view over Auckland. Situated just out of the city center on a busy street though (so some traffic noise). Supermarket is about 20mins walk (One World) or take the free shuttle bus 2 blocks away. Some convenience stores available and easy walking distance to the City Center

Staff was very helpful and friendly, room was clean (for NZ standards) and fitted with washer, dryer and dishwasher. Minus will be the noise of the washer/dryer and missing curtains. Overall we'd love to come back here!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

As I must have been the first one who stayed there for only less than an hour!

4.5 star qualified? 125NZD/night?! NO WAY! on what grounds??

This is a condominium. NOT a high-quality apartment hotel at all.
YHA would offer a lot better quality for its prices.

Do NOT believe what you see in the picture... Room is not as new and is not as clean as it seems. Has a nice view of Harbour bridge with a balcony, though I had to dash out after suffering from flea itches.

So, after having a quick look around I found:
1. Carpet not vacuumed
2. Linens not changed (smelled)
3. Road noise, intolerable.
4. No A/C! (thought there was...)
5. Washing machine smells rotten. This will definitely wash your clothes UNCLEANED!
6. Dead insects in the kitchen drawers... (don't wanna mention but)
7. Parking - Need to go down to B3... Might need some driving skills.

Above all, the receptionist was so kind enough to let me get out of there for free of charge. I told her every fragment of what I experienced and precise reasons.

After all, I checked in to a very clean+accommodating inn located in Greenlane (stayed here once before, and this inn is IMMACULATE and offers more than what we pay for it. Spacious, free parking, recently renovated so to me this seems like a 4 star hotel inside with a king-bed ,40 inch tv, functional kitchenette, amenities excellent with natural soaps - manuka based! etc...)

Feeling really at home, secure and cosy.

Hope my comment helps.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

This suited our needs and was VERY baby friendly (we have an 11 month old). When we checked in, the service that we received was FANTASTIC, but when we went downstairs on the other days there was a different person there and they could not even direct us to the road we needed locally! The location is easy to find, but you do have to walk a few blocks to get to any restaurants etc., The apartments we had were very clean, but maybe a little tired looking is the best way to describe them. Very functional apartments. Our apartment was on the main road and it was hot when we were there, so we had to have the windows open which meant that the road noise woke us up in the morning. But when the windows were closed the road noise did not disturb us. No AC, just a fan. Overall, very good, but not 100% about the location, it is not in the heart of things, you would need to walk 2 to 3 blocks to get there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments

Address: 90-92 Nelson, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.