We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy clean room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abaco On Jervois

Save Saved
You added Abaco On Jervois to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abaco On Jervois
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   59 Jervois Road | Ponsonby, Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 76 hotels in Auckland
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cozy clean room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After traveling over 12 hours in the air, Abaco On Jervois was a cozy and clean place to unwind. The room was equipped with a small kitchenette and very nice bathroom. It is located within walking distance of bars and restaurants and is only a short drive from the downtown area. Parking and Wi-Fi was provided which added to the comfort of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    18
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
25
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
el paso tx
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 days as we started our journey through New Zealand and this place was great. Check-in was quick and everything was ready. Room was very clean and the bed was really comfortable. Bathroom was really nice, internet connection was quick and steady and no restrictions on usage! The best thing for me was that there was free parking at the hotel as Auckland parking is a pain. Location was great as many restaurants were nearby and it was less than 10 minute drive to downtown, there is also a convenience store right next door which makes it handy for snacks and drinks.

Room Tip: We stayed in the studio room on the first floor. I found it very nice that it had a parking space ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked x 4 rooms at Abaco as we were going to Auckland for a family function. On arrival the reception was friendly and well organised. The rooms were roomy, clean and very functional (thank you for our free upgrade on one of the rooms :) ) The location is fantastic. Great to be able to pop across the road to the café / shops. We would DEFINATELY recommend this accommodation and would love the opportunity to return for another great stay. Thank you so much Abaco! x

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can understand why the property rates well. Rooms are comfortable. Location is great for access to city and Ponsonby. Bathrooms large. Room clean and well maintained. For me though, I would expect double glazed windows for $155 per night. Sorry to be critical on this point but I was in a room on the top floor which seemed to catch all the Jervois Rd noise (a main thoroughfare busy up to 11pm and from 6am) through the small door off the kitchenette. Perhaps if a better sealed noise reduction door could be used instead? I have no complaints apart from this and mention it purely to advise people to perhaps request a lower room away from the road. The view from the balcony across to the city is stunning at night.

Room Tip: If road noise worries you suggest you request a lower level room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend. It was a beautiful motel. When we arrived they had our keys and a welcome note ready for us. As we arrived late this was easy and quick! The rooms are very cute with a gorgeous bathroom and kitchen with plenty of tea, coffee and milo, perfect for coming home late from a day of exploring.

Only a five minute drive down to the viaduct and a short walk to Ponsonby Road. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in in Abaco for the first day of my visit to NZ. I was very impressed with the room. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Recommanded places to go in the area, patient with my English(It is my second language). Will rocommand to my friends if they got plan visiting NZ.

Room Tip: Pleasant stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place is just beautiful, could not fault 1 thing only that we would of like to stay longer and it was unavailable.We had a little studio room down the bottom it was just beautiful, a Countdown down the road.

Room Tip: Steak house across road very very pricey. no swimming pool cant get the rating thing to go off
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abaco On Jervois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaco On Jervois

Address: 59 Jervois Road | Ponsonby, Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland
#19 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaco On Jervois 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Abaco On Jervois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco On Jervois Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abaco On Jervois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.