We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent low budget choice at a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abaco On Jervois

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Abaco On Jervois to your Saves list
Abaco On Jervois
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   59 Jervois Road | Ponsonby, Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent low budget choice at a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Abaco looks like an old-style motel that has had quite a bit of thought and time put into a refurb. We had the cheapest room available - it was light with big windows, attractive decor and kitchenette and very clean. There is not a huge amount of storage but it worked fine for us for a 3 night stay - if staying for longer I would get the next level of room which has a sofa and a bit more space.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and the location was fantastic for both shopping and restaurants/cafes along Ponsonby and Jervois Roads. There were probably a dozen good cafes within a 5 min walk. The hotel has free off street parking close to the room, and free wifi which were big selling points for us. There are probably marginally cheaper places in the centre city, but paying for your parking and wifi can really increase your costs there. Only a couple of minor quibbles - the shower door leaked a bit onto the bathroom floor, and a couple of extra pillows would have been great. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    28
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
37
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oamaru, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for two nights in this fantastic property. The larger premier room had everything you could have possibly wanted. Lovely and warm. Great view. The owners were delightful and most accommodating . . including carrying my daughter's oversize bag up the stairs to our room, which was quite a challenge in itself!!! Loved it and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My son and I stayed only one night,very clean, nice modern decor,everything we needed, short walk to restaurants,handy to city also. Lovely couple, doing great job. A must return when next in Auckland. Tariff very reasonable for location.Found this on Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: We were at the end upstairs. No noise from road.A one bedroom apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 1 night and were very impressed with excellent service, rooms and amenities.
The location is great with just a few minutes walk to the restaurants and bars ..
In particular we enjoyed the free upgrade and the level of comfort and space was awesome and will definitely be back.
Only one minor heck up was the spa bath that didnt have power but awesome big bath that was good to soak in .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for one night on our return from a week in the Coromandel, just prior to flying home. Found it with the tripadvisor app on my phone. We both loved the place. Small room, but very well though out arrangement to best utilise the space available.

Clean and modern with lovely bed, nice big screen panel TV in room, and almost all the sky channels. Loved the location as well, nice and close to Ponsonby road for a bite to eat, or a coffee.

Will be recommending them to my travel coordinator for the company that I work for as its a short walk from here to our head office, and a perfect place to stay for business. Excellent sound proofing & double glazing in the rooms, as the place was full on the night of our stay, but we didn't hear a wiser all night.

I look forward to staying here again, on my next visit to Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Booked Abaco after finding it nigh on impossible to get four nights in downtown Auckland during a business trip (two big cruise ships in town)
It's quite obvious this is an older style motel that has been renovated, but the renovations are tasteful, the rooms are comfortable and clean, the rates are good, and the wifi is free
Best of all it's not far from the bars and restaurants of Ponsonby and it's only a five minute drive to the Viaduct waterfront
If the hotels in town are ever booked out in future, I'l probably stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a ground or first floor room The climb up to the second floor with a heavy bag will do your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here the night my Nan died. Found them on the internet - for some reason nearly all of Auckland was booked! I actually rang just after reception had closed but the guy stayed open for us and organised Mum a shuttle to the airport in the morning. Excellent location, gorgeous room!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abaco On Jervois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaco On Jervois

Address: 59 Jervois Road | Ponsonby, Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland
#20 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaco On Jervois 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abaco On Jervois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco On Jervois Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abaco On Jervois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.