We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to review maintenance and advertising” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
4.5 of 5 Hostel   |   16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Needs to review maintenance and advertising”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Double room is tiny with 4ft bed and uncomfortable mattress. Two rooms shown to me both with lights or bathroom fan not working. Towel supplied was shredded in part. Internet signal good on ground and first floor. Advertising says free dinner but this is not up to date - does not include fre dinner. Rooms are clean though. Good facilities.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    54
    55
    32
    27
See reviews for
6
37
78
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marquez, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We only stayed one night and had picked this one because it was so close to rail station. The bar was closed for remodeling. It is clearly a backpacker's hostel. We had stayed at Downtown Backpackers in Wellington for the same price so we expected about the same quality (wrong!). Young people had long discussions in hallways which you heard through your door while trying to sleep. Next time we'll look a little further from railway for something nicer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

less friendly than fat camel but nicer .... get Global Gossip internet where as fat camel is some other provider ;

also this branch have sun deck , spa & sauna :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights in a 12 bed cheapest dorm.

The dorm was very crowded, but it was cheap as chips so you cant really grumble! The people were friendly and the toilet/bathroom facilities catered for the amount of people comfortably.

Reception were a little slow, but i guess this is not a major problem!

Free internet for 15 minutes at reception is a great little extra!

Nothing really great that is different from anywhere else to talk about really......you will have a bed, shower and the basics!!!

Enjoy if you decide to stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed at this hostel twice The first time we had a fantastic room, Second time the room was tiny My husband who is tall slept with his feet in the bathroom (the bed was so close to the bathroom). Communal kitchen was clean but tiny again, Far to small for the amount of people using it. Location fantastic .

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

The only good thing about this place is the location. Even then it proves to be very VERY noisy of a night (there is a nightclub beneath here so supposed we should have expected it!). The rooms are filthy, the cleaner is a nice lady though, she will stop and chat all day, which probably explains the state of the rooms (shes too busy chin wagging). Staff on the desk are fine and will assist you if required. I don't know where to start on the communal kitchen.. the door is always left open so birds constantly fly in and out so their droppings are all over the cookers, tables etc. The cutlery and pans are dirty and the smell is horrible. We stayed in a 8 bed dorm and I had several items stolen. While they were nothing of any major value, i completley lost my faith in this place. The door swipe cards are constantly not working so you are up and down the stairs to the reception to get them reset. They do offer a free meal (food portions are minute and food is freezing cold) and free tour up to mount Eden. I would never ever stay here again and hope you take my advice and don't either!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

We booked a Private "Standard Double" thru Expedia, which according to the Hotel's provided description, was supposed to have TWO Double Beds and an "In-Room Safe" (in fact, the hotel's description on Expedia said ALL their rooms have "In-Room Safe"). Upon arrival, the room we were shown had only one double bed and NO SAFE. When we asked about the safe, the indifferent Reception person said NO ROOMS had safes, and NO Rooms had two double beds. So much for truth-in-advertising. (In addition, we also thought the room we were shown smelled of mold/mildew and did not appear particularly hygenic, and was so small as to barely be able to turn around. Like their name suggests ACCURATELY, this place is definately for the Backpacker crowd -- ONLY!). Naturally, we refused to Check-in, and demanded a Refund. The Receptionist said this had to be handled by their "Central Office" on Monday (it was Saturday). Within the hour I called Expedia to explain problem. After verifying what I had said was shown on their Website, the Expedia Rep. immediately called the Hotel on another line, and were told same thing -- to get back to them on Monday. Well, after several days of waiting (thru Wednesday) Expedia finally relented in agreeing to pay us a Full Refund, even though they said the Hotel Manager had repeatedly failed to cooperate or even return their calls (big surprise!). Expedia explained that they rely on information provided by the Hotel, but assured me they would follow up with their Marketing Chief to either have the info. corrected or the Hotel removed from their Website. I am pleased to report, that having just re-visited their Website, the previous misinformation does appear to have been corrected. Kudos to Expedia for their taking care of business! As for the Fusion Backpacker's Hotel, we'll leave it to the very low-budget non-discerning Backpacker Crowd!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Address: 16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpack in style at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel.We’re located in a beautiful historic building in downtown Auckland, near everything you need for your stay in this fantastic city. Come stay at our stylish, upmarket hostel in the central city, We have some female-only dorms as well as mixed dorms and private rooms!We have great facilities, with a friendly atmosphere and crew who will cater to your every whim. Our travel staff were hand-picked to ensure you will have a trip to remember!We’re in an awesome downtown Auckland location, close to Vector Arena, Skytower, Viaduct Harbour, the train station and all the downtown shops – it’s the perfect place to stay in Auckland.Our facilities include 24-hour reception, Global Gossip internet and Wi-Fi, and a rooftop kitchen with panoramic views of the city and harbour. We have free tea and coffee, free travel advice (no booking fees) and free 2-for-1 drinks vouchers at check-in. Hang out on our rooftop sundeck, communal kitchen or our lounge with Sky TV. Chill out in our free sauna and rooftop spa then head down to Fort Street Union Bar to meet travellers from all over the world. We put on free and cheap daily activities all around Auckland. FREE 30min WIFI each day.FREE Tea & CoffeeFREE SaunaFREE Heated SpaFREE Travel advice (no booking fees)FREE/Cheap daily activities around Auckland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.