We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable Budget Location to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
4.5 of 5 Hostel   |   16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Suitable Budget Location to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nomads claims to be a budget option. It stacks up as a good budget option near to lots of attractions. I enjoyed being there for a short time and met several interesting people. The toilet amenities and kitchen / eat area were clean. There was more security than I normally see in a youth hostel type situation. Some floors are quieter overnight depending on what's going on directly above or below. Staff are social. In the end, largely good value in tune with what it claims.

Room Tip: Some people recommend a floor other than floor 6 for a non-noise option
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    54
    55
    32
    27
See reviews for
6
37
78
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel was very clean and well kept. It unfortunately was very close to a busy club and we couldn't get to sleep all night due to the noise. Kitchen and eating area were great. A ton of stairs but I guess that was well needed after all the beer ;)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I recently stayed in what felt like a jail cell sauna. The private room had no window but not only that absolutely no form of ventilation (you can imagine the delightful aromas when we opened the door) .
We stayed on the 6th floor and little did we know until we left reception the common area and kitchen is on the 7th. It sounded like elephants dancing and felt like the roof was about to cave in until late at night.
Our advice is if you stay at Nomads don't stay on the 6th floor and make sure you have a window.
Positives are security and staff are great.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here before changing to Base due to Nomads being constantly fully booked. Overall Nomads felt a lot more welcoming than Base. After a few weeks of living in there, the reception guys were always saying hi and they genuinely remembered us and sometimes even our room numbers. They were always very helpful.

The facilities were pretty basic, kitchen was small but we never had any problems with it. Not to mention that there's nothing like going for breakfast in the morning and sitting outside on the sundeck enjoying your brekkie. The sundeck is a major plus at Nomads.

The rooms are pretty small and don't have a lot of storage room but the cabinets under the beds were really helpful. Every room we were in had a window, we even had a one room with a window on the ceiling. And the location of the hostel is really good. And Fort Street Union pizza is to die for.

The biggest minus would be that when it's peak season, it will be fully booked all the time. Just because it's so much smaller compared to Base. I would choose Nomads over Base any day.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Central, clean, friendly, modern and ultimately cool! With free Wifi next door, an amazing bar inside AND a rooftop view over the city whilst you eat your noodles. Stay. This is a perfect option for staying a few nights in the city.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Nomads has perfect location for backpackers looking for central, buzzed and easy in Auckland. It is close to Britomart, Train Station, Airbus, Shopping Mall and Waterfront. They have an awesome bar with NZD1.00 yummy pizzas in some days of the week and good vibe for drinks. I have stayed in a private room. It was very simple (as it is expected from hostel), but the bed was very comfortable and not so noise as I was expecting (I stayed on 6th floor). Highly recommend if you are looking for a budget accommodation. Cheers!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

I just didn't enjoy my time here at all although it was average really as they go. Room was very messy and had people in room obviously living there long term who occupied all the lockers. When I arrived the staff were trying to forcibly evict someone yet they allocated me the same room! I insisted on switching much to their inconvenience. Mattresses were very thin although I slept OK here as at least it wasn't cold unlike most other Auckland hostels!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Address: 16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpack in style at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel.We’re located in a beautiful historic building in downtown Auckland, near everything you need for your stay in this fantastic city. Come stay at our stylish, upmarket hostel in the central city, We have some female-only dorms as well as mixed dorms and private rooms!We have great facilities, with a friendly atmosphere and crew who will cater to your every whim. Our travel staff were hand-picked to ensure you will have a trip to remember!We’re in an awesome downtown Auckland location, close to Vector Arena, Skytower, Viaduct Harbour, the train station and all the downtown shops – it’s the perfect place to stay in Auckland.Our facilities include 24-hour reception, Global Gossip internet and Wi-Fi, and a rooftop kitchen with panoramic views of the city and harbour. We have free tea and coffee, free travel advice (no booking fees) and free 2-for-1 drinks vouchers at check-in. Hang out on our rooftop sundeck, communal kitchen or our lounge with Sky TV. Chill out in our free sauna and rooftop spa then head down to Fort Street Union Bar to meet travellers from all over the world. We put on free and cheap daily activities all around Auckland. FREE 30min WIFI each day.FREE Tea & CoffeeFREE SaunaFREE Heated SpaFREE Travel advice (no booking fees)FREE/Cheap daily activities around Auckland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.