We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
4.5 of 5 Hostel   |   16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week, was a busy hostel.
The kitchen area is large but unfortunately only 2 cookers and one microwave for a hostel this size is not enough. The fridge could do with a good clean.
The room I stayed in was nice, 8 bed mixed. Big window but right at the front so did get a lot of noise. Also only two sockets in this room, really not enough! This practice seems standard across most nomads and x base hostels in nz, seriously it's not difficult to create enough outlets for everyone in the room to at least have one!
Room was comfy and clean, although cleaners attitude had a lot to be desired, often coming in without so much as a knock and then screaming and shouting at each other, I don't find this acceptable when people could have been trying to sleep.
Bathrooms were fine, very clean, but possibly need a little tlc.
Bar was good, nice cheap drinks for guests.
Lift never seemed to work, very annoying when the kitchen is on the 7th floor.
Tv lounge was pretty good, however ruined by one long term resident who seemed to be in charge of the tv and kept mounds of dirty pots in there.
Front desk staff were helpful, didn't find the travel shop very helpful at all.
Not advertised as a dry hostel.
No free WiFi. Very annoying!
Would stay again if passing through.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi there,
thank you for placing feedback on our page. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have 3 stove tops in the kitchen and usually more than 2 cookers. Unfortunately we have to re-stock our entire dishes/cutlery every month due to some guests helping themselves when they head of traveling. We will make sure this will re-looked at! Our fridges get cleaned at least 2 times per week but if necessary in between as well. It gets quite busy in a small kitchen with many people using it but we have a strict cleaning planner in place to cover all hours of the day. We inform our guests on arrival that they can't drink in the hostel but advise of the bar on level 1 that offers backpackers cheap deals. Our travel shop next door offers 30mins free daily WiFi to all our guests I am surprised your weren't made aware of this! The lift unfortunately does break down sometimes but we always try to get it back up running as soon as we can. I am sorry that you had to experience staff being unprofessional in front of you. This will be discussed with them as it is unacceptable. They are also advised to always knock on doors before entering them when cleaning - we will advise them of this again in our next meeting!
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand and were able to stay at our other Nomads Hostels in Wellington and Queenstown.

Thanks
Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    54
    55
    32
    27
See reviews for
6
37
78
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Checked in, person at the front counter gave me only the very basic information and was quite unful. Walked up 10 sets of stairs with all my luggage cause the lift wasn't working and finally made it to my room. The bunks were literally so noisy that any time the girl above me made the slightest movement it was the biggest noise, so we got no sleep all night. Also other guests out in the hallway were extremelly loud until 5am.
The only good things were that there was a towel provided and there are storage lockers under each bed that fit all your bags in them so they are safe. Only 2 power points in the room tho so was lucky there was only 2 of us in the room for the night!

Also the location is pretty far away from the main part of the street that you would want to be in, not close enough to walk to.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi there,
thanks for placing your review. We are afraid to hear that your stay with us wasn't as pleasant as we had hoped it would be. We can usually get our lift back up running within a few hours but obviously it's painful to walk up a lot of chairs with you heavy bags. We are open 24hours and our reception is always approachable for anything that might concern our guests, f.e. noise from other guests etc. Are you able to send us an email to identify the staff member that wasn't helpful with you check in? We like to to speak to them as it is very important to us that all our guests get a good first impression.To help out with noise at night time our reception also provide free ear plugs. Could you please forward me the details of your experience to nadine@nomadsworld.com?
That would be much appreciated.

Thanks Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I recently stayed in a private ensuite room for 2 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The staff are all super friendly and accommodating, and even when they are busy they can't do enough to help. The room was tidy and comfortable, and the location unbeatable. Thanks guys!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi there,
we appreciate your feedback after your stay with us! We are very pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future or maybe in our other Nomads hostels in NZ Nomads Capital or Nomads Queenstown.

Thanks again,
Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had a queen ensuite which was small compared to other hostels. Room was clean but had an awful smell coming from bathroom drain. Bathroom sink is so small it's difficult to not splash everywhere when washing your face.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi there,
thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay to the extend you should have! Unfortunately some of our private rooms are smaller than others and the sink is quite small. Our drains get cleaned regularly but we will inspect the bad smell you described and make sure it won't happen again!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels around New Zealand and we see you again in the future.

Thanks
Nomads Auckland Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

i had a great time at Nomads auckland! Michelle, the receptionist was one of the nicest most friendly people i have ever met and she made my stay really really enjoyable! The facilities there are really nice and clean as well. Michelle is also really pretty. Everyone should stay at this hostel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi there,
thank you very much for your review!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again in the near future!

Thanks,
Nomads Auckland Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I didn't mind this hostel, but I've stayed at better Nomads elsewhere. The best thing this one has going for it is location as it's within a ten minute walk of almost everything (Skytower, harbor, transport stations, bars). And right next to the liquor store! Also loved the Mad travel staff in the shop downstairs, they were so friendly and helpful. You also get a half hour free wifi down there everyday or use of the computers too.

The adjacent bar is much nicer than your average backpacker bar, although I don't remember seeing many drink specials. However, Tuesdays they do $1 slices of pizza which are actually a decent size and come with a free drink voucher for later.

I liked the large bathrooms as well and the rooftop kitchen area with the hot tub. The rooftop was probably my favorite feature of the hostel itself. My biggest complaint was how cramped the rooms were. I wouldn't say it was atypical of a hostel, but more space would have been nice. Overall though, not a bad place to stay if you're in Auckland!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi there,
thank you very much for you feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and apologise for the small space in your room. Unfortunately some of our rooms are smaller than others. We try and make it as comfortable as we can.

We hope to see you again some time soon and you enjoy the rest of your travels around New Zealand!

Thanks
Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hostel is in the middle of the city. Walking distance to everywhere which was super convenient. The Lounge room was very clean and a good place to chill out. My room was clean and comfortable. All staff were very friendly and helpful for some local knowledge. The bar next door is fantastic and with my key was able to get some great deals on beers which was a nice supprise. Any questions i had on things to do were answered by the travel shop which is located just under the hostel and you can leave your bags there after checkout.

Id say this is the best place to stay if you are looking for mid range budget accomodation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi there,
thank you very much for your recent feedback. We are stoked to hear that you had such a good time with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks,
Nomads Auckland Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Address: 16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpack in style at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel.We’re located in a beautiful historic building in downtown Auckland, near everything you need for your stay in this fantastic city. Come stay at our stylish, upmarket hostel in the central city, We have some female-only dorms as well as mixed dorms and private rooms!We have great facilities, with a friendly atmosphere and crew who will cater to your every whim. Our travel staff were hand-picked to ensure you will have a trip to remember!We’re in an awesome downtown Auckland location, close to Vector Arena, Skytower, Viaduct Harbour, the train station and all the downtown shops – it’s the perfect place to stay in Auckland.Our facilities include 24-hour reception, Global Gossip internet and Wi-Fi, and a rooftop kitchen with panoramic views of the city and harbour. We have free tea and coffee, free travel advice (no booking fees) and free 2-for-1 drinks vouchers at check-in. Hang out on our rooftop sundeck, communal kitchen or our lounge with Sky TV. Chill out in our free sauna and rooftop spa then head down to Fort Street Union Bar to meet travellers from all over the world. We put on free and cheap daily activities all around Auckland. FREE 30min WIFI each day.FREE Tea & CoffeeFREE SaunaFREE Heated SpaFREE Travel advice (no booking fees)FREE/Cheap daily activities around Auckland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.