We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing airport lounge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emperor Lounge

Emperor Lounge
Auckland International Airport, Auckland, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Nightlife in Auckland
Type: Bars
Attraction details
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing airport lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I chose to book the Emperor Lounge at Auckland Airport instead of using the Koru Lounge before a trip to Melbourne. It was fantastic and well worth the $35 I paid (you get a discount booking as part of the Auckland Airport carpark). It is quiet and there were only 5 or 6 people in there when I visited. Good selection of food and drink, they bring you the main meal food when you ask. Sian on reception is absolutely lovely, very welcoming. Nice bathroom and shower too. I would highly recommend the lounge if you want a quiet place and nice relaxed atmosphere instead of the hustle and bustle of the Koru Lounge.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Way To Start A Holiday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

A good selection of wines, spirits and beers. Snack food and cooked food available. Comfortable seating, tv, internet and good magazines. Showers were available. It cost us $49 per person (for 3 hrs in the lounge).

One down side would be that there is no view, like other lounges we have been too, however it makes a lovely start to a holiday making you feel like your in business class when your Not!!

If you can afford it, I'd say take advantage of it, especially if you are flying economy!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great lounge worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed at this lounge for 3 hours with partner, loved the whole experience. The lounge is not too crowded, food is delicious especially the chicken curry we had. Lots of drinks and snacks to choose from too. Overall, great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I cannot understand the comments that this lounge is "expensive" and that it should be charged at "half the cost." I recently went to the American Airlines lounge in Miami, which is supposed to be one of the best in the USA. The cost for a day-pass was $US50. a LOT more expensive than Auckland, and there was simply no comparison as far as the food, drinks, and other amenities were concerned. I would recommend this lounge to anyone, especially if you have a long lay-over and want a nice hot refreshing shower and good food in a quiet relaxing atmosphere.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Some of our party also had access to the Air New Zealand lounge but they chose to join the rest in the Emperor lounge principally for the excellent service. We were offered freshly cooked breakfast when we arrived and we're shown around the facilities by Sian. Full marks and thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emperor Lounge also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Emperor Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emperor Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.