We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transported back to the South” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orleans

Orleans
48 Customs St East, Britomart, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
09-309 5854
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 1,286 Restaurants in Auckland
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Transported back to the South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Went to celebrate 4th July and thoroughly enjoyed the exciting atmosphere of Orleans. Was seated quickly and food was out fast. Great prices and delicious sides. Would highly recommend for anyone wanting a night out with live music and amazing drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    31
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Thumbs up for Food, down for Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The food here was great and prices totally reasonable, we sat outside and shared the pulled pork po boy (yum), Jumbo Prawns (yum), slaw (yum) and flank steak (super yum!). It was busy and there was a good atmosphere in the outside and inside dining areas. Although none of the cocktails were to my liking the wine list made it easy to choose a drink.

The only thing that let the place down was the indifferent and often rude service. There was a 'hostess' stood at the door who seemed to just scowl at people, young waitresses milling about looking busy and ignoring tables piled high with empty glasses/plates, the girl behind the Little Sazerac Bar actually directed my partner away from her bar and into a different bar altogether because she was 'busy making a jug'.

I get that it's casual and hip and that is such a big part of the appeal but there's no excuse for rudeness or turning customers away....

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Felt like the place to be, and food matched the atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Orleans is a new bar in an established premium spot at Britomart. I was there with workmates for drinks and dinner on a Tuesday night and the restaurant was just humming. Lots of space, long and narrow layout. Food was southern US style (not surprisingly) and a real treat. Tapas style, with some of the Big Bowls options suitable for individuals. Po Boys are basically Louisiana-style stuffed long rolls with moist fillings, and hugely popular. I had the seafood gumbo which was filling and full of seafood although not quite as tasty as I'd expected. The soft shell crab was a new experience for me.

The table shared several of the small bowls and side bowls, including the curly fries with dipping sauce (excellent), andouille jambalaya balls, Orleans fried chicken, corn chips with artichoke and pimento cheese dip (not enough chips with it by far) and some of the salads.

Suggestion would be to each order a Po Boy or a large bowl for yourself, and share some of the small bowls. I have heard the Chicken Waffle is amazing but we didn't try it this time.

Drinks - only a couple of tap beers which didn't seem appropriate at all - Tiger and a house beer - but there are some genuine American bottled beers like Coronado, and Blue Moon Belgian White which was properly garnished with the trademark orange slice. Lots of rye whiskeys etc.

Atmosphere was awesome. It felt like the place to be. Perhaps best for a group of workmates or friends rather than a romantic couples dinner. Loved it, can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very well designed restaurant that looks inviting. We went on a Saturday night and the place was humming with atmosphere. Later into our service a band came on and they added immensely to the experience. The food was good, not great. Those with an appreciation for southern classics might find themselves a little disappointed with the quality (and slightly small serving sizes). Definitely a fun place to hang out if the food is not the only motivator.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Dined here with a friend on a visit to Auckland. Was pleasantly surprised - beautiful food and well designed restaurant. Nice wine selection and good music to top it all off. I will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orleans also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.