We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Federal Delicatessen

Federal Delicatessen
86 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
09 363 7184
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Bagels
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Heavenly food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The food was mouth wateringly delicious, nice ambience.
As a solo customer, bar staff was helpful in making suitable choice of meal.
When I took seat at a table with my drink, a waitress came by to ask in a manner that felt to me rude and abrupt: "Are you having a meal?" "Have you ordered food?"
Perhaps not meant in a rude way but left a bad after taste for the lovely meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    64
    17
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“For Tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

After arriving in Auckland early in the morning, we dropped off our bags at our hotel and went for breakfast. The deli is cute, but the food wasn't all that for the price that they charge.

My husband ordered the Ugly Bagel which was your basic bagel and lox. I ordered the laska (fried potatoes) and lox which I didn't care for at all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Al brown casually serving up my meal tea towel slung over shoulder was the icing on the cake! Food was fabulous -schnitzel was mouth watering salads delish and dessert outstanding. Great evening with attentive staff and fun atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokoroa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Personalised amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Al Brown was in the house when we were there, how fabulous to meet the owner! He treated us like old friends and made us feel so special! Had the best evening ever!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Schnitzel to die for!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Some may say you shouldn't judge a place by one dish. Others may think Schnitzel isn't a very difficult dish. But having grown up in Germany with Austrian-German parents from Vienna i have eaten a lot (!) of Schnitzel over the years - non as mouthwateringly delicious as this. It was a huge portion and certainly filling but i just couldn't stop eating and nearly ordered another one to take home. Paired with their potato salad it's a must try! Loved the atmosphere also. It's a great concept, super efficient staff. Couldn't find a fault. Hope to be back next time we're in Auckland.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Federal Delicatessen also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Federal Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.