We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place to be seen” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Breeze Inn

The Blue Breeze Inn
2 Brown Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
(09) 360 0303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 1,286 Restaurants in Auckland
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
alofi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“the place to be seen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

very busy place , had to drink and eat in a rush as the tables are all booked all night, lots of very trendy people all around
nice selection of beers i never heard of , but at $10 a bottle i only had 2
the menu is tiny in size and in portions, most of it had pig in it so i had the few dishes that had veg/chicken
the 5 of us drank a little shared a few plates spent over $250 and than looked for a place to eat , sort of an expensive place for having basicly appetizers only

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    47
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland , New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unique vibrant and unusual...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

There was buzz on the streets about this place and everything I had heard was realised a couple of Friday nights ago when I finally got to sample this unique refreshing vibrant loud buzzy place.
I felt like I was in an old Hawaiian movie.. the place was packed and truly bulging at the seams. You had to choose your table well as some had mini stools ( I could imagine myself falling off one so we moved tables to avoid them). However I was in an aisle and must say my back was bumped every time a waiter went past ( which really started to p me off)... HOWEVER... the really groovy bamboo'ed atmosphere... mixed with the Hawaiian shirted staff made for a relaxing and interesting place to eat.
Then the food arrived.....

We chose 4 starters... pork buns, prawn wontons and 2 others... On their own they were good, tasty even and very hot....but add the most tasty chilli sauce that came with them and soy sauce on the table and OMG yum yum yum. Very tasty food.
For mains we had a lamb dish, a vegetarian dish, a fish dish and veges. Again tasty but not quite as good as those amazing starters...)
Overall a fun experience to keep you feeling alive... and the best cocktail I've had in.....ever. (something lime and at $10 it was amazing)...
Definitely would go back when in the mood for little conversation, tasty Hawaiian influenced Asian food all in a loud buzzy environment where you feel you have left NZ behind for a little while...

PS: I think lunch would be a lot quieter and calmer making it a totally different atmosphere to the Friday night buzz we had... I'll let you know when I get back for lunch..

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rakiraki, Fiji
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This place is super fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

GREAT design, top friendly, helpful service, outstanding food, great drinks...this place has it all. Put it on the top of your list!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Get the pork buns!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Went here for lunch. Great or going with friends and getting a few small plates to share (especially the pork buns). My rum cocktail was also delicious.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Asian-fusion food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Really busy restaurant with great atmosphere. Staff are really friendly and the good is great.
Great restaurant to share food as meals don't all come out at once and so many yummy things to try. My favourite is the cured salmon raw salad.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Breeze Inn also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Blue Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Breeze Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.