We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Breeze Inn

The Blue Breeze Inn
2 Brown Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
(09) 360 0303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 1,419 Restaurants in Auckland
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This place is an exciting new addition to the Auckland restaurant scene. Asian fusion in a funky location. It's also reasonably affordable for what you get. The service from the attentive staff is also great. I had the crispy skin duck and it is the best duck I have ever had !!!!! The only negative (...and the only reason i haven't rated it a 5/5 is due to the way they jammed everybody in. You will be almost sitting in the lap of the diners next to you with their elbows getting in the way of your meal. There is ZERO space for the poor staff to move around and you will be continually pushed and shoved as they try to get past.

The quality of the food is worth enduring the overcrowding....at least for the first couple of visits :-). Book ahead as this place is full 7 nights a week.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    61
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Asian flavoured lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

A lovely lunch, super Asian flavours.
A great adition to the Auckland restaurant scene.
We were recommended to try the dumplings, and they were excellent,
Also the steamed fish, although everyone around us seem to order the pork buns.
Very relaxed decor, great ambiance, good service from Ben.
Can thoroughly recommend

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“China meets Fiji”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We went to The Blue Breeze Inn in Ponsonby last night for a team dinner. The service was excellent from the time we got there. We instantly felt like we were on a tropical holiday with the staff dressed in tropical shirts. The food was fantastic- a bit pricey but this is Ponsonby! Try the Pork Buns- possibly the best buns you'll try. Go here if you want to experience a unique fusion of asian and the pacific. The staff were absolutely brilliant - our waiter knew all our preferences by the end of the night and there was 9 of us!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“5s all round.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is reminiscent of the Asian fusion places that have been popping up around the world. The difference is that they have their own micro brew beer and the it's served in a location that looks like it's in a beach hut in Tahiti!

Great Pork belly buns, nice fresh fish with black beans and the crispy duck was to die for!

Make sure you finish with the cookies and cream dessert!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best pork ribs in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This place is pretty popular.. After all it's the new kid on the block at Ponsonby central. They do really good pork ribs in a sweet sauce. It's not the cheapest place to eat but the atmosphere is good. The bang bang chicken is good too. The peanut butter chocolate pot is also yum!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Breeze Inn also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Waitakere City, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Blue Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Breeze Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.