We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ugly Divine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Ugly Bagels

Best Ugly Bagels
Cnr Wellesley and Nelson Street | City Works Depot, Auckland, New Zealand
09 366 3926
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 1,179 restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Bagel Cafe
Wellington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Ugly Divine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Thought I'd support our ex Welly restauranter Al Brown at his new Best Ugly Bagel place in Auckland. I had the paatrami mustard pickle and swiss cheese and it was to die for with I must say, the BEST coffee in Auckland- Havana brand. The staff were lovely and friendly, the music was loud, old and good and the place buzzed. There is seating inside and out so you can eat there quickly or take away. This is next door to the Bike Café and opposite the Foodtruck garage. Sensational and will go again. Well done Al!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    17
    13
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I don't normally eat bagels. But I dropped in to try the coffee. And they cleverly insisted I try a bagel. I'm glad they did. The coffee was great; the bagel was tasty. Nice vide. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Boom Bagels and good coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is an awesome spot for cool bagels and coffee. The place smells great. Sooooo great. U have to try it. Also pretty cool location and lots of parking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Lives up to name!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I love a good bagel. And the ones from Best Ugly Bagel are certainly some of the best you will be getting in Auckland. The service is fast and friendly. Yes, one may say the bagels are a tad on the expensive side, but they are totally worth it. They are also generous with the toppings each of the times I have been there. My favourite is still the salmon.

It is also worth noting that there isn't heaps of seating - about four or five stools inside and a few communal tables outside. When there has been two of us we have never had to wait long for a seat/if at all, but for large groups takeaway may be the better option.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A bagel, I shall try not to get too excited”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have been here twice. I like bagels. I find it is a bit more image than anything else. The bagels are nice no doubt but they are just bagels. People rave about the bread in France but it tends to come with a meal and isn't the centerpiece.

The menu is clearly trying to be quirky with options like peanut butter or pastrami and a pickle and a bunch of other stuff.

Lets get back to it being a bagel. I wonder if they offered it with bacon and egg, would anyone order anything else.

Nice bagels, pretty good coffee on a good day but in my view it is a vehicle for spending as much as you can on a bagel.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Ugly Bagels also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Best Ugly Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Ugly Bagels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.