We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service well above the usual NZ standard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ortolana

Ortolana
31 Tyler Street | Britomart, Auckland, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Service well above the usual NZ standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Quality food and the most attentive, professional staff I have encountered - they even moved us twice (not that we had complained) when a better one was available! Some of the items on the menu were a bit obscure and even the secret Google to translate wasn't any help - I think they may have made some up! As the menu is outside to be read by potential customers I really think they need to make it a bit clearer as we have eaten at many places all over the world and even we had no ide what was on offer (and nor did Google!) and so we would probably not have gone in except we were taken there by friends. However - what we did get was delicious!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    57
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, INCREDIBLE VALUE !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

After traveling through New Zealand for 4 weeks, I can honestly say that our New Year's Eve dinner at Ortolana, was one of our favorite meals of the entire trip. It has an awesome ambiance in the heart of the funky Britomart section of town. Our lamb was out of this world - again, about the best we had in the country and that is saying a lot. Great service too. But honestly, the most important thing, is that the prices are reasonable...... I only truly understood that, AFTER our 4 weeks of travel. We never found another restaurant with such excellent food, for such great prices. Run, don't walk, to Ortolana !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Perfect Casual Place in Central Auckland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Jet lagged and seeking a light meal our hotel recommended Ortolana. It was just perfect. With a no booking policy we headed down early to secure a table. How right we were as the restaurant is very popular. There is a front court but we preferred to sit inside close to the wide open door.

Much of the vegetables is sourced from the restaurant's own farm. Dishes were original and more than sufficient in portion size. Cooking was excellent. Fish was extremely fresh. Service was fast and attentive. Very relaxed. The restaurant is open from 7am so a place to visit throughout the day.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Superb food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Everything on the menu sounds great, and when our food arrived it certainly lived up to expectations. Beautifully creative and tasty food, with fantastic service.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Ortolana Is Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

A welcoming and well run restaurant in the heart of Britomart. The busy kitchen is a part of the restaurant but does not impose in any way - it adds to the buzz. We had the dry cured pork, market fish, chicken and a side order of celery salad. every dish was bursting with flavor and freshness, just delicious. We wanted to try the superb hand crafted desserts from Milse but were too full. I look forward to returning to this outstanding restaurant next time I'm in Auckland.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortolana also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ortolana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ortolana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.