We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing no pressure restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ortolana

Ortolana
31 Tyler Street | Britomart, Auckland, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,293 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing no pressure restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Met some friends here on their recommendation. Pleased we did as the whole experience from arriving to leaving was excellent. The food was great for lunch the small plates being just enough to start. Tried the Whitebait omelette special and every bit as good as any experienced on the West Coast the home of expert Whitebait chefs. The added addition of Milse Patisserie as part of the restaurant is dangerous for those with the sweet tooth. Deserts like you have never seen before. Try the Double Crunchy Chocolate Gelato Stick, wow.
Great wine list, efficient and not too fussy service helped make the lunch experience pleasant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    57
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Simply gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Joining friends for a lunch in the city during work hours, is a great way to start a working week. Ortolana was the choice our friends made and we were very glad they did. What a treat to be in a comfortable restaurant with a team of trained staff knowing exactly when to attend to you and when to stand back, there knowledge and explanation of the menu was perfect, and we stayed longer lingering over dessert which never happens with us. The freshness and combinations of the dishes were just gorgeous. A treat from other same old same old menus in most restaurants. We will return again and recommend Ortolana, well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very, very nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were not planning on going here but wandered by late in the evening and decided to give it a try. Was kind of put off at first because the menu seems to go out of its way to avoid having any useful descriptions of the food, but the server described everything so I guess that annoyance can be overlooked. The food was delicious and tasted very fresh. We liked it so much we went back the next night, and the (different) items we got that night were again excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A little under-whelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The decor and ambiance is excellent. The service was good. Two people ordered spatchcock but that was unavailable. Two out of the five mains were disappointing. The beetroot and goats cheese salad had only a tiny piece of cheese in it and was definitely not value for money. My beef dish, while it could be cut with a fork (it was shin) was so tasteless that I didn't bother finishing it. However, the lamb, chicken and fish dishes were good and the side of potatoes excellent.

Overall I don't know that I would bother for dinner again as it is such a hassle getting a table. I am very tired of restaurants that don't take bookings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Freshness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Is it possible to get fresher vegetables in a restaurant? Ortolana's salads are the very best and the desserts are such innovative variations. Servers are friendly and on to it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortolana also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ortolana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ortolana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.