We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual relaxed and yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ortolana

Ortolana
31 Tyler Street | Britomart, Auckland, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Casual relaxed and yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

These guys know how to do a good cafe. Another one of their winners. This one features more Italian inspired food and had a good wine list so a perfect lunch venue. The best part is when they lead you to milse to select your dessert

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    57
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Deliciously surprised!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice in one week and thoroughly enjoyed both visits. Great service, great space, great food! Some dishes more standout that others, but all very tasty - the lamb and beef shin YUM! Don't forget to check out Milse next door - a dessert bar, dine in or takeout.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don't miss this incredible restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We dropped into this restaurant on our way back from Devonport one afternoon & so enjoyed the unique afternoon deserts, we went back for our evening meal which was the best food we had eaten on our 6 week round the world holiday! The combination of flavours from home grown garden vegetables & salads combined with spices & the local market fish was fantastic. It was so good we went again the following night when it was full after a review in the Auckland press. No bother, we were chaperoned to some spare chairs, supplied menus & served with a drink whilst we waited outside. We were kept informed as to how long the wait would be & soon after we were seated & had a repeat of the amazing food. Our experience of New Zealand restaurants & food was of the highest quality & this restaurant set the standard. Its just a pity we live in the UK 11,000 miles away & so can't pop back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A place you will want to return to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Delicious and interesting meals that are high in flavor and melt in you mouth. Great friendly service ( I would say the best in town). They do not take bookings so you need to get there early so as to not miss out. It is worth going for the dessert options alone!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely food, service & location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Have been here 3 times now. Breakfast once and lunch twice. Every time it has been consistently good. Wait staff are always very helpful and friendly. The food is very nice in a cafe style environment without the restaurant confinement. The menu can be a little bit challenging to fully understand, however the staff are very good at describing & explaining everything in detail.
It has a lovely courtyard out front which makes you feel like your on holiday.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortolana also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ortolana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ortolana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.