We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tacos in Auckland town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Original California Burrito Company

The Original California Burrito Company
Shop 7, 8 Commerce Street, Auckland, New Zealand
09 375 3061
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #497 of 1,175 restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice tacos in Auckland town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Located just around the corner from our hotel, this joint was perfect to grab a quick bite just before heading out to explore Auckland. 12" Quesadilla was okay, however what really impressed us were the Tacos. Really fresh, nicely seasoned mince and yummy Guac. Better option than the Colonel or Golden Arches. Worth a quick stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    3
    7
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“So-So Burritos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stopped here our first night in Auckland and were not impressed. We both got the Original Cali Burrito (I had beef; hubby had chicken). Size was fine but it lacked so much flavor - if I tasted anything it was salt, ick. They put a tiny spoonful of sour cream in the burritos so both of ours were very dry. Looking back on our trip their price was not bad at all but when we first saw the cost were shocked as we would have preferred Chipotle or Moe's! It is true that there are not many Mexican places around so if you are craving it this will have to do but would I go back? No. I would try another place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Special take-away in the heart of Auckland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a fantastic restaurant to go to if you want a quick, delicious hot food. We went for dinner and was very pleased with the quick service, but best of all - the amazing food. If I had one thing to complain about - it's the use of plastic cutleries, which makes it hard to eat your enchilada, but I can understand it's a takeaway shop - so I'm probably nitpicking.

Try the 12" quesadilla - you won't be disappointed! This meal can easily feed 3 people and the mix of cheese and salsa with sour cream is just phenomenal. A must try! You can also get half a quesadilla if you're there for lunch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great if you need a Mexican fix”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Very takeaway oriented but a few chairs. We stopped for a late night post theatre gorge. Lots of choice and huge portions but nothing too imaginative.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expensive and tasteless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

There are not many mexican food options in auckland , so i tried california burrito but i feel abit disapointed

Burritos full of ordinary white rice, the mince beef completely tasteless and greasy
Quesadilla was ok big size and you can add toppings

Staff friendly and fast service, the place looks clean and tidy

Its and expensive place having clear the quality of the product, mexican food its rich on flavours and color but this place is plane tasteless

Lots to improve if they are pretending to be considerer mexican food, up to now its just wrapped rice in a tortilla

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original California Burrito Company also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Original California Burrito Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original California Burrito Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.