We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great market!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cigale French Market

La Cigale French Market
St Georges Bay Road, Auckland, New Zealand
64 9 366-9361
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 Shopping in Auckland
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Attraction details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great market!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This market is vibrant with a great variety of merchants. Excellent fruits & vegetables - the bakery products were superb! We were just visiting (and not locals) but found plenty to enjoy.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“If you miss France, then this is somewhere you should go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Why you should to to this place?
- If you are after some local French food (nothing of the fancy sort) like breads, food, coffee etc. Then this is the place to be.
- There's also a vege market that you can buy fresh produce to cook your brekkie or tea for the day.

Who should go with you?
- anyone really, as long as they are keen to try out new things.

How should I get there?
- by car, I recommend going early so you can get a parking nearby otherwise there should be sufficient parking on the roadside.

What else can I do there?
- there is a large shed, and this place has a cafe, and restaurants operating in there. I believe it's mostly free seating, I heard that the food is excellent as well but I will review once I have dined there.
- You will also find in the large shed some small shops selling arts, crafts etc, and also a kitchenware shop selling items for the home (I believe mostly European branded items).

How can I pay for my food etc?
- as like any market, cash is always good. You can use EFTPOS, like a debit card, but this is only for the locals who have NZ bank accounts. There are limited places that can accept credit cards, and if they do mostly Visa is the most preferred.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Expectations Exceeded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We did not know what to expect on our first visit here. Was pleasantly surprised and impressed with the quality and reasonable prices of the produce on sale here. We could have easily took home more wonderful goodies than we did.

Looking forward to our next visit already !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“The best of Auckland's farmers markets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

While the farmers markets scene has flourished in recent years, and Auckland is on the doorstep of fine orchard and farming districts, for me the best of these markets is La Cigale in Parnell. On Saturdays it is deservedly crowded, drawing strong numbers from the local Parnell community and much further afield. A great range of produce and specialty foods from mushrooms to meatpacks and at the centre of everything a bustling cafe serving excellent coffee. You sit, cheek by jowl at big refectory tables - the bustle and chatter being part of the attraction.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful sights and smells are found at La Cigale!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful displays of breads, pastries and locally grown produce. Meats and cheeses, and crepes are made in front of you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cigale French Market also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to La Cigale French Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cigale French Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.