We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality, Freshness and Friendliness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Cow On The Bay

Sea Cow On The Bay
33 Tamaki Drive | Mission Bay, Auckland, New Zealand
011 64 9-521 5891
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quality, Freshness and Friendliness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

What can I say.. 4 times already and quite frankly the best grilled fish and fried calamari i've had in years. Their battered fish n chips are excellent too.

The portions will fill you up, especially the appetisers. The gentleman there is very friendly too and the chef knows what he's doing.

Our last visit had a mixture of grilled & battered fish. One thing I love about the battered fish & chips is the lack of that fatty ghee-like smell from the oils used like other places. This one had no smell or odd taste at all. Fries were perfectly cooked too.

Recommendations:

* Fried Calamari (appetiser)
* Grilled local fish (excellent price, taste and size. I believe it was tarakihi)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips and cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This place is tucked away in the northern end of Mission Bay cafe strip and most of time people did not bother to check it out. I have walked around and I found that this place is much cheaper than the rest. The fish was perfectly battered and cooked accompanied with salad and chips (fries for NZ). Good value and quality of food. Friendly staff as well. They will bring out your meal if you dine in.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Value for money and always consistently good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This little cafe at the northern edge of the Mission Bay cafe strip is quite a little gem for a quick or leisurely seafood meal. They have an upstairs seating area as well as a few tables and chairs downstairs overlooking the waterfront. The excellence of the place is due to the owner's ability to cook seafood well, it is always tasty and well presented. They do a 10.00 special each day, highly recommended and other than the seafood menu they have a small variety of cakes and ice cream to finish up with. We had the gurnard, a favourite of mine and then chocolate cake with ice cream.
Simple and appetizing. Coffee is good also. This is a regular once a month stop on our local list of cafes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome seafood! One big reason to go back to Auckland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Shortlisted this place from tripadvisor when planning for my New Zealand trip.

I had one of the best, if not the best, seafood here! I was there on the last day in Auckland and wish that I had gone earlier and made a few more trips there.

Thanks to the chef and staff for this great place and food that makes it one of the highlight of my trip!

Location - A nice short bus ride from city centre. Route is along the water-front. Makes for a nice evening walk if you are not in a hurry.

Restaurant - Nice and cosy. Love the white & blue theme. 2nd floor sitting by the window is good for nice view.

Staff - Very friendly and helpful.

Food - Fish & Chips which is crispy on the outside and soft and yummy on the inside. Scallops are nicely done and generous serving. I can have 2 servings of scallops!

Many likes for the chef and food!!!

Price - Very reasonable. Ordered 3 items and each costs less than $20.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just came for fish'n'chips and loved it! Best fish'n'chips I've ever had! Very welcoming staff! Cozy and comfortable place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Cow On The Bay also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Sea Cow On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Cow On The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.