We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison du Bois

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison du Bois
Save
You added Maison du Bois to your Saves list
8 Harry Human Heights | Meadowbank, Auckland 1072, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 60 Auckland B&B and Inns
New Plymouth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This stay exceeded all of our expectations. The hosts are lovely. They are attentive to detail and most accommodating. The place is beautiful too, so a gorgeous ambience. Breakfast is superb. We highly recommend this B+B. What a find!

Room Tip: The bathroom is downstairs. Not a problem for us but guess it could be in the night for some people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I booked in for a week as the start of a few months of round the world travelling and could not have started off better. The hosts, Geoff and Sheridan offered to pick me up from the airport and could not have been more welcoming. As I was travelling alone, I arranged for dinner every night and I was not disappointed! Canapes to start off each night, along with wine and some of the most outstanding food I have had the pleasure to experience! A cooked breakfast was also made available every morning as well as the continental option-Sheridan makes her own muesli which is delicious. The house itself is beautifully kept, with nice touches like fresh flowers in the room and a sweet bowl by my bed. They have an extensive library as well which I was made welcome to use and my hosts were very helpful in suggesting places to see and things to do. As one of the tours I had decided on was not available, Sheridan took the time to show me around herself, a nice personal touch I really enjoyed. I cannot recommend Maison Du Bois enough- great food, beautiful house, fantastic hosts. Really made a fantastic start to my travels!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip to New Zealand. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay! Geoff and Sheridan were very welcoming and had a lot of knowledge on how to get the most out of staying in Auckland, and New Zealand in general. We really enjoyed the chance to enjoy some pre-dinner drinks with them and were made to feel very at home.

The house was immaculately presented and we felt like we were staying in 5* plus surroundings. Our room was very comfortable and once again very well decorated. Guests also have the use of their own living space with sofa, sky tv and plenty of reading material. We really liked the extra touches such as the pot of biscuits and bedside fudges and drinks.

Breakfast was exceptional. Every morning we were treated to a different cooked breakfast as well as an excellent continental selection, including homemade cereal, muffins and bread. We ate so much that we were full until mid afternoon.

The location was in a safe, quiet residential area. Getting into central Auckland was easy and cheap via the local train service. Sheridan and Geoff also showed us a good place to park, about a kilometre or two from the centre, which was good as parking in central Auckland sounded very expensive.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Maison du Bois and would love to return in the future. This is without a doubt the best place we have ever stayed and would highly recommend that anyone visiting Auckland stays here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimli
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We travel internationally often and this B & B was the best that we have experienced. The home is excellent and very clean and well kept. It is located in a quiet district. Its distance from central Auckland is considerable. However, nearby fast train and bus service to central Auckland are very suitable. The breakfasts are outstanding and are at a gourmet level. The early evening provision of snacks and drinks with our hosts was special. Our living area was on the second floor but we felt welcome in all locations in the home. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful – they often provided us rides to various locations. They made us feel more like friends than guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fujisawa, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Geoff and Sheridan's beautiful home for a couple of nights while in Auckland for a wedding. Our stay got off to a great start - drinks while we got ready to head out for dinner and a lift down to the train station too! Everything at Maison du Bois is of a high standard, from the linens to the food. Unfortunately we arrived feeling a bit under the weather so couldn't fully enjoy the AMAZING spread that was breakfast. A perfect combination of friendly hosts and the special extras that make being on holiday a treat. Thanks so much for your hospitality. It was lovely to meet you both and I hope we have the chance to stay with you again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan w, Owner at Maison du Bois, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again when you are in New Zealand. We hope your trip back was not too arduous and you are both feeling much better now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We booked three nights in this B & B in Auckland prior to our three week trip round New Zealand. Geoff and Sheridan gave us amazing trip planning advice on accommodation, restaurants and sightseeing all over New Zealand which we followed almost exclusively and had a wonderful time. After a grueling journey to Auckland from Dallas via Australia, we arrived at the B & B at 7pm and had decided ahead of time to ask for the dinner option as we didn’t want to go out for a meal after the journey. We started with wine and canapés (blintzes with wonderful blue cheese) on the patio followed by a marvelous dinner of champagne scallops mornay and rack of lamb accompanied by sauvignon blanc and pinot noir wines. Breakfasts were outstanding – one day was smoked salmon and scrambled egg on toast, one day was mushrooms on toast and the last day was a traditional fried breakfast all accompanied by delicious homegrown tomatoes. Each morning, our hosts briefed us on what might be interesting to see in the area that day and at night when we returned, they wanted to be debriefed on the results!! One night, their son was visiting so he joined us on the patio for wine and we were even invited to join them for a family dinner which we declined. It is the sort of place where you go as a guest and leave as a family friend. They designed the perfect three week driving tour of New Zealand for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheridan w, Owner at Maison du Bois, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the great recommendation you gave us and all your kind comments. We loved meeting you both and having you stay with us and hope that we can meet up some time in the not too distant future. We have also enjoyed hearing of all your adventures around NZ and glad that we could help with some travel suggestions. With best wishes, Geoff and Sheridan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very nice people. Very good food. Auckland downtown reachable by bus (20 minutes) or cab (40nzd at night). Small room very well decorated, clean. We enjoyed our stay and recommend it. Thank you to Sheridan and Geoff for their hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison du Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Bois

Address: 8 Harry Human Heights | Meadowbank, Auckland 1072, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the use of two bedrooms, accepting single party bookings, or catering for a maximum of four guests at one time. Our boutique style guest accommodation is located on the second story of our home. This comprises two queen bedrooms and a guest lounge with SKY TV. We are located just east of Auckland's CBD Harry Human Heights on a quiet, tree-lined cul-de-sac close to all amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Du Bois Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison du Bois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.