We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Thee to Waiheke!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hauraki Gulf

Hauraki Gulf
Auckland, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$57*
and up
Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland...
Ranked #2 of 88 Attractions in Auckland
Type: Islands, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This area comprises 47 islands, the most popular of which is Waiheke for its excellent beaches and bays.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Get Thee to Waiheke!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hands down, one of our highlights on 3 weeks in NZ! Waiheke is paradise, and if I had it to do over, I would have added two nights here to ease out of the jet lag and just ferry into Auckland. It's so incredibly beautiful and peaceful - parts reminiscent of Italy, the Oregon coastline, and the charm of spunkily independent vineyards each trying to make their distinguished mark - and they do a wonderful job. Cable Bay was our fave! Enjoy this! Oh and PS - book your ferry a couple days early. We didn't want one of the vineyard shuttles as we wanted to explore ourselves. Just know that the bus tour you get with the ferry package is great but you still won't be able to get to some places without a solid hike and/or outrageously expensive cab. But go, enjoy, and stay longer than we did!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    32
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Take the ferry to Waiheke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Auckland is a water city, so be sure to take a ferry ride. The one to Waiheke takes you to Devonport and then past a number of islands and you're bound to see a lot of power and sailing vessels. The views enroute are lovely as is the island itself. We went to the Mud Brick winery and restaurant and enjoyed a walk back to the ferry via the Cable Bay winery. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Sunny Sailing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Easy boat trip with great views of Auckland and the islands. The boat was clean with good facilities and free refreshments. The commentary could have been more but was good enough. The charge was reasonable and clear procedures. The trip took in the Gulf seeing seals and other wild life. Unfortunately no dolphins. There was opportunity to visit a nature reserve island and experience one of the islands.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Fuller's ferry over to Waiheke for the day! Such a beautiful way to spend a day away from the city, the difference is wonderful! $36 return on the ferry and $9 if you want a bus pass for the day to get around the island, though walking around is lovely as well! Oneroa is a cute little town with a nice beach, has a good spot for ice cream too! Get out there and enjoy it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“One of the Most Beautiful Harbours in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Hauraki Gulf is stunning with lots of islands - some of which you can visit. Rangitoto island dominates the gulf with its distinctive look which is the same from all angles!

Waiheke Island is my favourite with gorgeous beaches and wineries strewn across the lush landscape.

If you come to Auckland make sure to spend a lot of time on the water ...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hauraki Gulf also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Hauraki Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hauraki Gulf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.