We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added City Towers to your Saves list
City Towers
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Maungawhau Rd. | Newmarket, Auckland 1003, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Auckland
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I highly recommend staying at City Towers. Excellent apartments, clean and private, great size, all the cooking facilities you may need. Excellent parking available. I had 6 weeks of treatment at Auckland Hospital and staying at City Towers was a home away from home. Haley is an excellent manager and makes you feel right at home, always really helpful and pleasant. I recommend if you are looking for accommodation in Auckland then this is the place :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
11
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
kaitaia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

always a pleasure to stay there.hailey always goes out of her way for you.if u are going to be late she makes sure you have access to your room when you arrive.nothing is ever a bother to her.even when both me and my husband were is hospital,he wasn't meant to be ....also when ive had to stay longer all arrangements are sorted.the rooms are great.its close to the hospital etc.highly recommend to everyone.ive had to travel to Auckland on reguar basis.at least once a month or more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHCH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

nice friendly quiet place. close to the train station approx 10 min stroll. vey pleased to see a good size fridge/freezer (not a icebox) and a washing machine. sadly the towers don't sell washing powder (bring your own and a washing line too). staff very friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: nice large rooms. gets lots of morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Highly enjoyed my stay at City Towers and cannot recommend enough. From the moment of Check In I new I was at the right place. Service was highly satisfactory and the room was like a home away from home. It was great having the convenience of being able to park my car so close to my unit at no additional cost, while having th added peace of security checks throughout the day and night. I would be more than happy to return here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putaruru, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

City Towers accommodation and staff are fantastic. They looked after our family. Nothing was a bother and the rooms were lovely. I would recommend City Towers as a great Accommodation Facility with outstanding Customer Service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Old building not a hotel more a old motel, only stayed as close to hosipitaly and had read otehr reviews that said how great it was. a stretch of the truth I think. I will stay in a hotel in the city and catch a Taxi next visit

Room Tip: Only stay here if you have someone in having an operation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityTowers, Manager at City Towers, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Firstly for the record City Towers, is a serviced apartment complex not a hotel and never has been, as you have suggested.

Secondly, yes the building is “old”, but freshly painted and also why our average room size is over 40 square meters plus either a 10sm balcony or a 20sm garden area, as opposed to some of the more “modern” hotel rooms which are as small as 22 square metres with a view of somebody else’s garden.

We do specialise in short to medium term stays with free car parking and good security at a competitive price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Would definitely recommend this hotel, and gladly use again in the future. My family and I have used this accommodation twice now, for our family member in Auckland Hospital. Hayley the receptionist, is an awesome asset, who has been very helpful, friendly and willing to assist where she can. It has definitely been a "home away from home", minus the stress.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to City Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Towers

Address: 2 Maungawhau Rd. | Newmarket, Auckland 1003, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, City Towers is a short trip away to Auckand's CBD. A short stroll will also lead you to the vibrant Newmarket, which offers an abundance of shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. Public transport is plentiful within the area. City Towers provides a range of recently re-furbished units including Studio and Garden apartments with self contained kitchens, super king size beds, free car parking and Sky satellite television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your City Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland
City Towers Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.