We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Home Away From Home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added City Towers to your Saves list
City Towers
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Maungawhau Rd. | Newmarket, Auckland 1003, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Home Away From Home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Would definitely recommend this hotel, and gladly use again in the future. My family and I have used this accommodation twice now, for our family member in Auckland Hospital. Hayley the receptionist, is an awesome asset, who has been very helpful, friendly and willing to assist where she can. It has definitely been a "home away from home", minus the stress.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    0
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
10
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

A wonderful place to stay. Having to travel to Auckland, every three weeks, for hospital appointments, this is the place to stay. The receptionist is very helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Our room is always clean, tidy and aired. The staff are very friendly. So handy to all amenities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Had to travel urgently up from Wellington to support my brother who was going under the knife at Auckland Hospital. Management were incredibly supportive, flexible and provided clear communication on my arrangements. Their empathy and understanding was first class and along with the relaxing ambiance of the surroundings ensured that my stay was exactly the tonic I needed under the circumstances. Although close to the hustle and bustle of the city, it does feel like a world away at City Towers.

Room Tip: Rooms to the left when facing offices I believe would have the superior view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

my wife & i stayed there for 7 weeks and could not get over the hospitality & the helpfulness tht the staff gave us WAS AWESOME i would recommend stayn there the views the shops r jus dwn the rd everything is ryt there 4 u the bed is like u knw huge i would recommend dis motel 2 any ! me and my wife would like 2 put out a big thank u 4 wot uz have done 4 uz 2 make things so easy 4 uz and would like 2 thank uz very much 4 every thing

Room Tip: the view frm L2 & L3 r mean as view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Wow!!! What a place we were greeted with a huge smile:-) from the receptionist she was amazing through our entire stay the girls there made sure our room was always spic an span.awesum!!the room was fully equipped and totally clean everything new. A pleasant view from the balcony of mt Eden and so close to all the shopping facilities wot more do you need aye. Thankyou very much lee to all your wonderful staff will definately recommend city towers a place to be.

Room Tip: Level two or three would be NYC you have a view of the city and the mountain plus a dinky lil patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

When your greeted at the counter by a friendly and inviting face you definitely know that you are at the right place. Our first ever stay was a memorable one as we didn't arrive to the unit till 10:30pm and a kind staff member had turned a light on and also the heater so it was nice after a long trip to step into a warm and comfy place. We stayed at this location for three weeks due to a family member being in hospital. Was close to the hospital and shops so definitely an ideal location. When my son came to stay with me we were provided with extra linen and towels without a fuss. Stayed here once so continue to come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

My partner and I were long stay guests at this accomodation and we cannot say enough about it. I could get picky and say that the kitchen was not terribly well equipped, and that the decor is a bit tatty in places, and the door rattled when the wind blew, but those are not the things I will remember. First the beds - most definitely fabulously comfortable. Large king or superking beds, good pillows and a tv on a moveable cabinet, so watching tv in bed is just a matter of turning the cabinet around. The staff are incredibly helpful, and it is just a matter of asking, although there are no real people on weekends or public holidays, so calling the number provided is all it takes. The property is 10 mins walk from Newmarket, and there are plenty of food options really close by. We were constantly at the hospital so it is close to there, and getting off the motorway is a breeze with the Khyber Pass off ramp. The car park is patrolled several times a night by security so parking a car is no problem. In summary, it is a place I would happily return to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge/freezer if you are staying more than a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Towers

Address: 2 Maungawhau Rd. | Newmarket, Auckland 1003, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, City Towers is a short trip away to Auckand's CBD. A short stroll will also lead you to the vibrant Newmarket, which offers an abundance of shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. Public transport is plentiful within the area. City Towers provides a range of recently re-furbished units including Studio and Garden apartments with self contained kitchens, super king size beds, free car parking and Sky satellite television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland
City Towers Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.