We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, spacious and clean apartments with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added City Towers to your Saves list
City Towers
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Maungawhau Rd. | Newmarket, Auckland 1003, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Homely, spacious and clean apartments with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

During my stay here at City Towers the staff were always happy to help out. The room I was in was spacious, clean and was well equiped. The bed was so comfortable and I had a great sleep.
It was very welcoming to have the heater on upon check in which made the room very warm and inviting.
The free carparking was also a great help being so close to the hospital and Newmarket shops we could just leave the car at City Towers and walk everywhere without a problem.
I would defintely stay at City Towers again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    0
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
10
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Thank you to the staff and management of City Towers for making my recent overnight stay in Auckland comfortable and pleasant.
My room was spacious and well appointed - new carpet, new curtains, good quality kitchen utensils and new furnishings, including a very comfortable king size bed, good linen, plenty of pillows and I slept well!
Though I didn't use the outdoor garden area that was adjoining my room, it was a pleasant space that I think would be well utilised in the warmer months, and it was safely fenced for children to play. The large doors and windows out to the garden let in plenty of sunshine first thing in the morning.
I appreciated being able to leave my car parked at City Towers after checking out so I could attend a conference during the day at nearby Auckland Hospital within walking distance. Newmarket shopping and dining is only a short distance away also and City Towers is very easy to find coming off the Southern Motorway. I liked the idea of there being a washing machine in the apartment and if I was staying longer, I would have used this facility (unlikely to do so when the only choice is use of a communal laundry).
I would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timaru
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Bathroom needs repairs and updating broken tiles.The flush on the toilet also very dodgy. The pillows provided almost like waifers. Some staining on covers.The sofa and chairs very uncomfortable. However quiet for the centre of Auckland. If you are going to the hospital it is possible to pay a little more and be closer and in much better accomodation. As someone recovering from treatment I would not describe it as a home away from home it is quite missleading.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityTowers, Manager at City Towers, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
All pillows have now been upgraded with positive reports. We are now using a new dry cleaning company that delivers much more effective results than the previous one used.

Units have received various improvements throughout this year and we are receiving good feedback from this. Being in a quiet location and a 12minute walk to the Auckland Hospital we believe City Towers is an ideal place for those recovering from treatment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Comparatively cheap accommodation, but this place has not been maintained for a long time. The photos on their site must be from the time of the last refurbishment, but that could have been years ago, and it is now rather run down. The back courtyard is now more like a rubbish dump, with rotten, broken fencing, tree stumps and a generally dirty appearance.

Old furniture and fittings that are broken and uncomfortable. Nasty stains on the bedspread and NO HOT WATER. There is no air conditioning and not even a fan to help circulate air.

The room was mostly clean and tidy but there are ants lurking just outside, waiting for you to drop a crumb, rotten woodwork and mold in many cracks.

The location is handy to shops, entertainment, the hospital and domain. It is also very close to the train and bus routes.

In summary, spend a few more dollars and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityTowers, Manager at City Towers, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Courtyards have been sprayed for weeds and all trellis and woodwork cleaned. Gardeners are now working on improving the courtyards on a weekly basis.
It is pleasing to report that new bed side tables, dining tables and chairs have been added to the rooms. New shower plates and hoses have also replaced the old ones. Kitchens are now in the process of being upgraded, with five already been completed.
The Hot Water Cylinder was replaced and since we have experienced no problems with hot water. We have now switched dry cleaning companies as we were previously not getting effective results.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

We enjoyed this clean, friendly serviced apartment for 21/2 months. The location is excellent-close to public transportation, the hospital, university, shopping and restaurants. The room was airy with plenty of room for relaxing (we even had our own outside patio). We were able to unpack all of our things, cook and feel at home when we were there. The staff was helpful and accommodating, always willing to answer questions or give advice. There was on site parking and security. We would definitely go back next time we are in Auckland.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Reading reviews of a few years ago this place has obviously made big changes. Lucky I didnt read them before we booked for our friends to stay here recently. The building is in a L-shape making the back area quiet, and it is well maintained with plantings etc. If you remember the TV show Melrose Place then you will have an idea :o) . City Towers is in a great location for the great Newmarket shopping and eating area, which is just a couple of blocks away, and its an easy bus or drive in to the city. The staff said it's popular with out of town NZ'ers who need an Auckland base because of its proximity to the hospital, and you can see that because each room has its own kitchen it would be great as a base for longer stays. Clean, comfortable, nice staff, good value and lots of parking so handy especially if you are looking for a place to stay with your car in tow, in the inner suburbs of Auckland.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2006

I'm from Wellington, New Zealand. If you are paying as we did NZ$90 per night (about US$60) then this makes up for the fact that the place is not so flash... but it really doesn't deserve the 3.5 stars Qualmark award it, more like 2.5 or 3 stars.

The place is clean, but somewhat older and hasn't been refurbished in a while. I don't think i'd choose to stay there again, although the people at the front desk were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and functional.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityTowers, Manager at City Towers, responded to this review, May 30, 2008
City Towers has been under new management since October 2007. In that time each apartment has been re-painted and re-carpeted as well as re-stocked with new kitchen utensils. Car Parking is free and plentiful.
City Towers is patrolled by New Market Security through-out the night.

We are a 10 minute walk to Auckland Hospital and a 5 minute walk to New Market.

Please see our website for updated information and photos



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Towers

Address: 2 Maungawhau Rd. | Newmarket, Auckland 1003, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, City Towers is a short trip away to Auckand's CBD. A short stroll will also lead you to the vibrant Newmarket, which offers an abundance of shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. Public transport is plentiful within the area. City Towers provides a range of recently re-furbished units including Studio and Garden apartments with self contained kitchens, super king size beds, free car parking and Sky satellite television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland
City Towers Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.