We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something wasn't right!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of YMCA Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added YMCA Hostel to your Saves list
YMCA Hostel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Corner Pitt Street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Something wasn't right!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We weren't sure about this hostel as it just seemed to be in a quite rough area of Auckland. The hostel was clean enough for the night and only took 15 mins to walk to the sky city. Nothing to do in Auckland though! Fine for a stopover but get yourselves out of Auckland ASAP!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback,

Happy you found our Hostel to be clean and well located. Our Reception team is well trained to inform about what to do in Auckland, in fact, there are several options, such; West Beaches (Piha, Kare-Kare and Muriwai), Kelly Tarltons (Aquarium), Museums, Parnell Village, Devonport, 48 Volcanos to check, several kinds of Bars and Restaurants, Viaduct Harbour, Domain Park, Victoria Park Market, Mission Bay beach, etc, etc. I'm so very sorry you left Auckland under this impression, please if you come back to Auckland, do not hesitate to talk to us, I'm sure we can make your trip even more enjoyable.

Once again thank you for your comments,

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
7
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Location: Walking distance from CBD, easy to find, quiet.
Cleanliness: Linen and towels are clean, room and bathroom are clean too.
Service: Staff are very friendly
Other: Free wifi only in the lobby, quality ok
I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Front Office Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your feedback. Thank you very much for your excellent feedback. We are very happy with our convenient location, spotless rooms and awesome staff that keep the room clean and provide fantastic service. Our wifi signal is strong upstairs due to multiple access points and lounge has a very strong signal. I am glad to hear that you would consider coming back again to stay with us. I look forward to having you stay with us again, where we would have even more improvements. Once again thank you.
Kind Regards
Jay Jon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

in a great part of Auckland. You can easily walk from the hostel to the harbour front and there is a lot to do in between. Lots of shopping, restaurants, parks, etc. It is a close walk to the bus station, maybe five to ten minutes and there was always someone on duty so it felt very safe. Very basic rooms with a bed, a desk and a closet and a tv room if you wanted some down time. Very clean and in a great location.

Room Tip: It is a little darker and quieter on the opposite side of the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Front Office Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your excellent review. We're glad to hear that you had sucha fantastic stay. We are very proud of our location. With a great view of the harbour and central location, you can get to the Queen St very easily and we have bus station that goes to the popular attraction place, Wynyard Quarter. After the reception has closed, we have security guard operating at night time to keep the residents feeling safe and to handle any situations. Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Kind Regards
Jay Jon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I am a solo traveller from Canada and I spent a weekend at there, whist in Auckland. I was impressed by the clerks at the front desk. They were friendly and answered all my questions politely. I had a private (single) room which was kept clean, although I did hear some people talking in the hallway sometimes. As a light sleeper, I was impressed with my quality of sleep during my stay. Location was also not bad, just short walk to city centre (ie. Queen street). Overall, it was a good choice I made to stay here, I would definately do it again!

Canadian traveller,

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, choose a single room to get the best sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Front Office Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your excellent feedback. We're glad to hear that you were so impressed by the Front Desk Team and the cleanliness of the room. Our team is made up of very skilled and wonderful people. They are always willing to listen and give out the best solution for your benefit. I am sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed by the noise in the hallway, we have security guards on duty to minimise any conversations in the hallway and handle any loud noise issues. We're very excited to hear that you would stay with us again. We look forward to having you stay at the hostel with even better experience next time. Once again thank you.
Kind Regards
Eung Yeon Jon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The place was very clean as cleaning was done everyday and rooms were clean almost everyday. There is a kiosk to introduce places of interest, shopping places and eateries which I found most helpful. The washing machine and dryer were generally very clean and effective, very worthy of the amount I paid for. However, the kitchen was dirty and the utensils in the dining room carried a smell as they were kept in the cupboard for too long. The room was very stuffy most times of the day and night unless it was cloudy and windy outside. Sleeping under the sheets at night was impossible as it was too warm and stuffy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Front Office Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your helpful feedback. We're glad to hear that you found the rooms clean and our internet help kiosk very helpful. Our washing machine and dryers are very well maintained by our contractor so that it doesnt lose its effectiveness. I'm sorry to hear that the kitchen was dirty. We have housekeepers cleaning them everyday and making sure the dishes are clean, otherwise cleaning the dishes themselves. Also we have fans available at the reception for hire during the summer times for the guests. Next time you stay with us please feel free to let the receptionist know and we will organise a fan for your room. Once again thank you very much.
Kind Regards
Eung Yeon Jon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I was worried when a friend booked me here for the night. I'm a nervous first time solo traveller (even though I'm mature!) and had visions of packs of young people and noise but it has been nothing like that. All ages are here and my single room is clean and comfy.
The staff are excellent, really put me at ease and helped with transport questions, internet probs etc. I would recommend it to anyone. The shared areas are also v clean.

Room Tip: Try to book in advance to get the room of your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Front Office Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I'm delighted to hear that you had a great stay at the YMCA Hostel. We have a few young people but our poilcy regarding noise and alcohol helps to keep the onise level down. We also have very skilled staff that keeps the room spotless and high level of services that makes the customers want to come back for more. Once again thank you very much fory our feedback.
Kind Regards
Eung Yeon Jon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Each one of the staff at the front desk was so nice and helpful. Facilities were nice and clean though sometimes questionable...

I don't know what it is that attracts weirdos to this hostels. For the first time, all my roommates were shady. The place is located on a steep road. The 4-bed room I stayed in was so tiny that I could not feel comfortable when others were there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YMCAhostel, Manager at YMCA Hostel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate your comments towards our Front Desk Team, glad you find the facilities nice and clean. Our guests come from all over the world, we have more than 20 natiolinaties in-house at the moment. Our 4 Dorm Bed is one of the best in Auckland CBD, with a Harbour View, new 90cm Hotel Mattresses and windows you can widely open, we also offer a fridge, wardrobe, desk, chair and extra duvet, the room has 26 square meters large when comparing to other properties in Auckland. We are sorry about the inconvenient caused.

Kind regards,
Andre Vidoto.
Centre Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YMCA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Hostel

Address: Corner Pitt Street and Greys Avenue, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — YMCA Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YMCA Hostel is part of an International Non-Profit Organisation, which strives for positive impact on community.We provide clean and comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Housekeepers perform Daily Vacuuming and Weekly Linen Service. Vacuum is hired from Reception for personal use.YMCA also offers Laundry Facilities with Soap, Very cheap Wireless Internet Plans, Public Lounge with Sky Satellite TV, Pool Table, Internet Kiosks, Dining Room with TV, Kitchenette with Cutlery and Kitchen essentials hired at Reception, Telephone Booth with Call Forwarding to take incoming calls and Public Parking from 6pm ~ 7am on Weekdays and All Day Weekends.We are not only great for backpackers and travellers but also ideal long-term accommodation for students and those working in the CBD. We even offer accommodation for groups.You’re just…- 2 minutes walk from Karangahape Road, Auckland’s multi cultural suburb and clubbing district.- 5 minutes walk from Queen Street, the CBD with fantastic shopping.- 10 minutes walk from Ponsonby, Auckland’s trendiest inner city suburb full of bars restaurants and cafes.- 15 minutes walk from Auckland University and AUT, some of New Zealand’s premier education and training institutions.- Next to New World Free Shuttle Stop and very close to Dressmart Free Shuttle Stop. You’ll also find yourself near the Waitemata harbour, beautiful Auckland beaches, parks and gardens and the bus station, railway station and ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your YMCA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hotel Auckland Central
YMCA Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YMCA Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.