We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, Tiny but Central” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge City Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge City Central to your Saves list
Econo Lodge City Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Wellesley Street | Corner Wellesley & Albert Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly City Central Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tired, Tiny but Central”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I must say I was disappointed after reading that some other reviewer had said it was bigger than a Ibis I would have to disagree ! Not much difference at all. The room was very small, tired but clean. My husband hit his head on the shelving, the shower head is low (not built for taller people) and old. But the location for our purpose was excellent. The bed was just ok and lots of road noise even thou we were on the 6th floor. A plus was the continental breakfast which was nice - toast, fruit and cereals. Sorry won't be back as for a few dollars more can purchase a higher class hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    52
    42
    26
    14
See reviews for
17
51
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I booked this hotel knowing it was a budget choice - much better than a backpackers, but still in Auckland CBD.
The rooms are small(no room for large suitcases) and the bed was a double, the price was good and ours included a basic but pleasant continental breakfast.
The bathroom was dated but serviceable - shower head very low(no hair washing) - no basketballers should stay here!
The killer here was the noise from the street below. It sounded so loud and no sleep was had by either of us the first night - it was a Saturday night - revelers yelling, boy racers hooning, sirens going, cars travelling over metal plates on the road( bang, bang, very loud!). The 2nd night was a Sunday and was a lot quieter although I still needed my newly purchased ear plugs and slept like a baby!
All they needed was some retro fitted double glazing to make it far more pleasant.
I wouldn't stay here again unless this was addressed.
If you keen to stay here know that it is clean and staff were pleasant, but take your earplugs!

Room Tip: ask if they have any double glazed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Econo Lodge is exactly what the name says, an economy hotel. However the rooms are clean, the breakfast is very good value for money and the staff are fantastic. Extremely friendly, efficient and helpful. Gloria went out of her way to suggest good places to eat and very helpfully provided and 2nd key to my room so I could leave the air con on.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here for business as the usual hotels were booked out.
Very basic hotel, located one block from Sky City so very convenient for food and entertainment options.
Room and bathroom were ok sizes (bigger than an Ibis). Room had fridge, electric jug, air con, TV (free to air) and ironing board. No safe. Very soft bed (almost fell off sitting on the edge) and motel-like décor. Key with giant plastic insert thing that controls the power in the room. Window not able to be opened. Didn't try the wifi / internet. Spare blankets etc in cupboard. Good lighting, but no plugs at desk height for working on laptop (had to crawl under desk).
Bathroom - felt unclean, seemed like a layer of grime on the shower walls and tabs and sink. 3 long wavy hairs left in bathroom (luckily they looked like they were from someone's head). Dripping plumbing in toilet. I decided to shower elsewhere (Jetts gym about 3 blocks away). Bed linen seemed very clean and towels were nice and soft. Carpet floor.
Rooms a bit noisy - I had an internal room (206) which still got hallway noise plus it was above the reception so after 10pm, heard all the people buzzing the doorbell to get back into the hotel.
Didn't try breakfast.
Friendly and professional staff - however it's the sort of hotel where they ask for your passport, tell you the door is locked at 10pm, and remind you it's a non-smoking hotel. I had to argue to get my ID copy destroyed in the morning after checkout (apparently for security, in case I had done something to the room).
Not really suitable for business as there's nowhere for a taxi to wait or pull in.
Think they charged $150 a night for me.
Would only recommend if you get a good price (like $80) and don't mind the basic-ness of it. I will not stay here again for work.

Room Tip: Room 206 seemed to be right over the doorbell so you hear lots of buzzing after 10pm for people to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here with some friends for a concert. The staff was great with an awesome duty manager Mira. The room is basic but great if you just need someone to sleep. Would happily stay there again next time we are in the city. Good cheap rates too

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed at this hotel overnight after a 14 night New Zealand cruise. All I can say is thank god I only stayed one night and wasn't in the room very much. The room it self was about the size of my closet back at home with no air conditioning. They do provide a small fan so at night it's not terrible. Sorry but I can not recommend staying here. Staff was very helpful and friendly however

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is in a good location--near shopping and key sites. It is very much a budget hotel so you cannot have terribly high expectations when staying here. The rooms are small and the windows are so thin that you can head people's conversations outside, several storeys below. It is not quiet by any means. But the staff are available 24 hours and are pkeasantvand helpful and the rooms have the basics you need. Parking costs a fair bit extra but there is also a public lot around the corner as an alternative. Rooms are clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Central

Address: 37 Wellesley Street | Corner Wellesley & Albert Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly City Central Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge City Central 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Central Auckland
Hotel City Central
Econo Lodge City Central Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge City Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.