We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best occasion, best location and best host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotter House Luxury Retreat

Cotter House Luxury Retreat
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cotter House Luxury Retreat to your Saves list
Cotter House Luxury Retreat
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   2 St Vincent Avenue | Remuera, Auckland 1050, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best occasion, best location and best host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We had the best experience and we took best memories of our life in the private beautiful palace, for 1 instance we feel like we are in king's palace.
We have been staying in various hotels around the world but this is very unique experience. thank you Gloria, you are best host.

Room Tip: suit with the small room is best with all amenitis
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Cotter House. The home is gorgeous and includes a fantastic art collection. The hostess, Gloria, is incredibly gracious and generous with her time. The meals we had at The Cotter House were outstanding. I would definitely recommend The Cotter House to my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed here to celebrate our 10th Wedding Anniversary and as a surprise for my husband, I booked us for the luxury package. A delicious high tea followed our swim in the afternoon. Then we joined Gloria and some other lovely ladies in a yoga session which was a first for both of us and thoroughly enjoyable. In the early evening we indulged in canapes and bubbles and then a lovely private dinner just for the two of us. It was a very memorable night and we loved listening to Gloria tell wonderful stories, shared with such passion.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotterhouse, Owner at Cotter House Luxury Retreat, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thank you so much for your review! It was a pleasure. However, I reviewed the rating and although I realise that price, location and room size is very much a matter of preference given the very old heritage house, I can definitely do something to earn full grades improving on cleanliness, service and sleep quality. I would appreciate it so very much if you could sent me some feedback on these 3 aspects. As you know I train young Hospitality graduates, and it is imperative that they are taught to the highest standards and that their mistakes do not detract from our efforts to provide the whole package to your entire satisfaction. Again, many many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We celebrated our wedding anniversary in true style of a byegone era!! Gloria is very thoughtful of her pampering care of you, well organised and professional - her knowledge on history and arts from all around the world is very impressive and entertaining!
There are not many places where you really do receive a proper silver service standard ......and Gloria fulfills this beautifully.
I think Cotter House and it's history added to the grandeur and ambiance of our stay, and we are very pleased the property is in such capable hands, Gloria is very sympatheitc to the needs of such a rare old property and is doing a magnificent job caring for this unique piece of history on behalf of Auckland and NZ.

Thank you for your warm and generous hospitality, breakfast was divine.... all 4 courses!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in November of 2007 at the beginning and end of a 3-week vacation in New Zealand, and I returned again myself for a week for business in October of 2008. The quality of the rooms, furnishings, linens, service and grounds are superb. The location is Remuera, a very nice residential neighborhood about 15 minutes from the Central Business District. The location is ideal if you want to explore Auckland, want a base for day trips, or need a few days of luxury to unwind from a long flight or to cap off physically tiring adventures you may have had in NZ. The building is an historic landmark mansion that is one of the oldest (and nicest) homes in Auckland, with lovely gardens. It is filled with antiques and artwork. Gloria, the owner, is a perfect hostess, a tremendous cook, and a fascinating source of information about NZ. We have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world, and this is certainly the equal of any place we have stayed at, and much less expensive than a Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental, etc.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Gloria was very friendly and an ex host.
Our breakfast's were made by Gloria, and she served us well with a four course, every morning at the time we wanted.
The rooms are very nice but very antique and cluttered with all the gadgets on show.
Bathroom beautiful although the shower kept going hot and cold.
We didn't bring slippers so Gloria put a brand new pair each in our room.
Location is not too bad if you have a car.
Gloria is full of stories about her life so if you don't mind listening to them while you have your breakfast then that's fine.
It would have been really nice to have gone in winter with the fire burning in our bedroom!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

The Bronze Suite offers all the elegance, privacy and room any couple needs. A luxurious setting, within a quiet retreat. Mixing modern amenities with beautiful antiquities and a wonderful art collection made for a rich experience. The staff were quiet, competent and always available.
Being U.S. citizens, we left all our private wedding plans to our hostess, Gloria Poupard, to guide us for our special event in the ballroom. She performed admirably while sourcing all experts and resources to keep our anxiety tolerable .Her wide ranging creativity managing the celebrant, musicians, photographer culinary/wine side was just marvelous. She obviously has a wealth of knowledge and passion for her New Zealand history. Proximity (2 blocks) to local downtown Remuera brought comfort for last minute restaurants, stores,gifts, etc. This would be a great gem for a family reunion or small conference. Just a very special sanctuary!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotter House Luxury Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotter House Luxury Retreat

Address: 2 St Vincent Avenue | Remuera, Auckland 1050, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cotter House Luxury Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotter House, a 5-star Historic Regency 1847 Mansion offering 4 exquisite hi-tech rooms, is a Private Retreat and Art Hotel, with a 1100 sq ft ballroom ideal for honeymoons and weddings, business meetings, conferences and intimate corporate entertaining. In a rare and beautifully secluded heritage setting, guests are offered all modern conveniences: free Wi-Fi, dedicated laptops, Satellite Sky TV, iPod/iPod docks,iPad on request. Guests have direct dial phones while in residence, guest office, and access to in-room Spa treatments, Gym, private pool and Sauna/steam room. Enjoy privacy, charm, ambiance and exquisite food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cotter House Luxury Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotter House Luxury Retreat Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotter House Luxury Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.