We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has got to try better!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland Rose Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Auckland Rose Park Hotel to your Saves list
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   92-102 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Parnell)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Has got to try better!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Ist room allocated had wallpaper off the wall and a big tear in the curtains, hairs in the bathroom and dubious stains on the bedspread and someones old sock under the table! Yes we got the room on a 'deal' but when I complained and was moved to another room, still tatty but no sock! there was no apology and I felt I was being a nuisance.
I booked it as it was linked with Millennium hotels but they desperately need to give it a bit of updating!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    65
    72
    21
    23
See reviews for
48
70
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Awful Awful Awful. Yes it's cheap for Auckland but there's a reason the rooms are old and dated. Still you expect to be able to sleep for the money you have paid. I had to get up early the next day and was so exhausted I was up practically the entire night. Before midnight there is lot's of noise outside the rooms from guests. After midnight is when the international tour bus groups start arriving! First you get the loud bus pulling up then the loud excited people having conversations outside the rooms. This went on all night I kid you not. In between the buses I was treated to a loud buzzing sound right outside my room after complaining for the first time which went away as soon as I pleaded with the guy at reception desk, I heard someone walk past and take away whatever it was.
Don't stay here they have no respect or care for their guests and no desire to make it at all a pleasant stay. Late night guests is one thing but not all night and not when I was put in a room right next to where the buses pull up and they knew the tour bus groups were coming.

Don't do it!!!!!! Stay somewhere else and enjoy your holiday or wake up fresh for the work you have to do the next day.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

This hotel is located in the prettiest part of Auckland, Parnell, with loads of pretty wooden houses, steep hills etc. Opposite the hotel is a beautiful rosegarden and you can see down to the ocean. Countdown supermarket is just a 15 min walk away, and also CBD. The hotel is clean and comfortable, the staff is very nice. Water boiler and generously with tea, chocholate and coffea in the room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamiltonNZ
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Located near the Parnell and Newmarket shops this Hotel provided good value for money for a solo traveller.
Great parking off street parking and views of the skytower and city skyline.
The rooms were a bit dated but were very clean. Its nice to still find rooms that have baths so that was a treat.
Had a good sleep in on my first night but this didnt suit the cleaning staff who left the two replacment towels on my door handle. Tops marks for thinking outside the box but it would have been nice if they had come back and made up the room (in hindsight I should have left the "make up my room sign" on the handle.
Check in/out was a bit slow and could be a bit warmer.
And I would have liked more sky channels.
All up, I would go back again. However, I would ask for a room facing the rose gardens and not near the lift....it was a bit nosiey for me. but otherwise it is a lovely quiet Hotel that is close to everythng.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Great value especially if you have a car and coming late at night

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Got a great rate for a room with a queen, a single and breakfast included. Suspect we had one of the older rooms as it needed an update but was clean, large and had everything needed. This hotel is especially good if you have a car because there is free parking onsite and plenty on the road. Also close to all the main roads so you can be in downtown in 5 minutes, Newmarket 10 [tops] and on the harbour bridge within 10 or so minutes depending on traffic. We paid $NZ117 a night through their own website in a special deal offered. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

We are regular visitors to this hotel as my husband works in and around Auckland.
We have always found this hotel very welcoming and eager to please.

Yes, the place is getting a bit old now but that does not mean it's not a great place to stay.
If there is anything you need we have found all you need to do is ask and within a few minutes your request is actioned. Great stuff Kingsgate we will be back

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auckland Rose Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Rose Park Hotel

Address: 92-102 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Parnell)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auckland Rose Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial-style Hotel situated opposite Rose Gardens, 5 minutes from Parnell Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Auckland Rose Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rose Park Hotel New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland Rose Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.