We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hassle free accomodation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland Rose Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Auckland Rose Park Hotel to your Saves list
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   92-102 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Parnell)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Hassle free accomodation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Recently we spent 4 nights at the Rose Park and were treated by the staff as if we were in a 5 star down town hotel.The Rose Park is in the process of a major refit which will be welcomed by their regular patrons. Why have we stayed at the Rose Park 3 times ? - The location is perfect. The current rooms are ok but we are looking forward to the finished refit. Parking is free. The restaurant has a stunning view over the rose gardens. Our room was quiet, just what we wanted.
But I have to again mention the staff. From the manager to the women who serviced our room, they were all extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming. We will be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    55
    65
    20
    21
See reviews for
44
59
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed here four months ago and was a little disappointed in elements of my stay but overall loved the location and availability of parking. When looking for Auckland accommodation again I found it had changed its name to the Rose Park - thinking there may have been a change of ownership as well as a new name I thought I would give it another try - $99 a night for a room with a balcony, plus parking and breakfast included.

Sadly nothing but the name has changed - still has dated rooms - this time with a very noisy fridge that grunted all through the night. Didn't even bother with WIFI after my last experience.

The breakfast was very average - buffet style with the worst looking scrambled eggs I have ever seen. The waitress must have seen the look on my face and offered fried or poached freshly made...I went for fried on my first day and they were great. The second day I went for poached eggs not so great - looked as if the chicken had dropped them from a great height - not pretty and way overcooked. I gave the restaurant one more chance for dinner - it was no surprise why the restaurant was empty - the food was average at best but the service was friendly.

I am trying to like this place because of the location..but they will need to upgrade more than the name to get me back a third time.

Room Tip: Go for a premium room on the second floor with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We booked this hotel after physically checking it out. Looked good but we did not really look close enough. Old TV, ancient refrigerator and internet at $25/day. The room was adequate, but they do need to update the rooms in keeping with the name change and the attempt to bring the hotel into the 21st century. Pricewize $99 for B & B was very acceptable considering parking is free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Handy for a night or two, easy, free parking, helpful staff, free newspaper. Dated room but wasn't there to admire the interior. Toilet a bit feeble on the flush but probably a matter that management will be attending to before long. Overdue for upgrade but adequate at less than $90 a night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

When we booked this hotel it was the Kingsgate Parnell but since the 1st of August it changed to Auckland Rose Park Hotel. This is an ideal place to stay and go to a show at the Vector Arena. It is far enough away from the busy area to be peaceful yet only 10 minute stroll to the Arena. With free parking and nice surroundings it was a great place to stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Slightly dated room but this may be in the works as it has just changed hands. the room was spacious and comfortable. Enjoyed the break and would stay again.

Room Tip: stayed on the carpark side which was facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

As many have said, I chose this room because of the price and location for an overnight stay. It was a tired room but superficially looked quite clean - until I took the cups out of the cupboard that is! An obvious stain on the outside of the cup that should have been noted by housekeeping. The next problem was a bit more significant - no hot water to the shower! So much for a quick getaway - baths instead of showers, and a rubber bath mat that should have been binned years ago. Sadly I didn't experience the friendly staff that others have reported - on reporting the lack of shower, I got a mere "I'll let maintenance know" with no hint of apology.
So all in all, I won't be going back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We secured 2 rooms - 1 for my wife and I and the other for my 2 adult sons as one of them was going to see a specialist in Auckland and they are from the Hawkes Bay - on the Best Hotel Deals website - excellent deal at $59 each room - that was great value for money in my books - most other places would have been that for just one room - we have stayed there on probably 6 or 7 occassions and whilst the services are basic, they provide a roof over your head and that is the main thing - happy to recommend to anyone who is travelling on a budget and who can book a few weeks in advance

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auckland Rose Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Rose Park Hotel

Address: 92-102 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Parnell)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auckland Rose Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial-style Hotel situated opposite Rose Gardens, 5 minutes from Parnell Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Auckland Rose Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rose Park Hotel New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland Rose Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.