We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good impression first night in New Zealand.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Fat Camel Hostel to your Saves list
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   38 Fort St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Jonkoping, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good impression first night in New Zealand.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011 via mobile

When I stay at a hostel, I expect nothing more than a bunk bed and a kitchen (if im lucky). Nomads fat camel was good. You walked in to an apartment with a kitchen, sofa etc etc then there were dorms beyond this other doors. One negative thing is There Was Only One toilet on i dont How Many people .. There was six beds in the room we stayed in, And there where atleast three more rooms in That apartment. The kitchen was a bit dirty. Great location

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    22
    38
    48
See reviews for
2
41
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agnes Water
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Having stayed in the X Base backpacker before, we thought we were booking a private room with a bath in the same building, under the new name of Nomads. Our flight being delayed, we arrived to check in at 4:00 am and were told that we had actually booked a room in the Nomads Fat Camel backpacker. After a short walk down the street past several massage parlours and ladies of the night, we arrived at a very run-down looking place and given a key to "an apartment style private room" with shared bath. This place is very basic, to put it nicely. The private rooms are not even close to being worth the $85 price. The X Base used to be value for money. But Nomads is not.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We took a double room. The room was quit dirty. do they know what is a vacuum? and strange brown spots on the sheets.
Staff can arrange you a lot of 'teenage' days, very expensive. If you avoid this, this a basic hostel.
I will try another one next time

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Fat Camel is in a great location (a couple of blocks from the Naked Bus stop). However, I will never ever stay there again. I requested an all-female dorm and ended up sleeping above a middle-aged man who snored and farted the whole night. Also, there was zero hot water. I tried several showers on different floors before someone told me there wasn't any hot water. Besides the water and rooming issues, and a few sketchy men hanging around, the place was bearable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Bit confusing when we arrived as there are 2 Nomads on the same street and we initially went to the wrong one, but the location is great - quite close to the main town and waterfront.
Main (kitchen) areas were often dirty: dorm rooms were clean, but the windows wouldn't shut and the blinds were hanging off meaning that it was quite cold in the room (bring your own bedding if poss - the bedding provided is definitely not adequate if you are prone to the cold like me!) and we were woken up by the sunrise! Thankfully they do have good hot showers to help wake you up properly! One of the lockers in the room (they're quite small) was also broken, so there weren't enough to go round.
There is a bar in the building, so it's good for socialising and internet is cheap, so it's probably best enjoyed if you are in your early 20's.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

The Fat Camel, has a very trendy vibe and attracts a lot of travellers which is great but they should employ some cleaners. In fact first impressions were good, we had been upgraded for no extra charge to a dorm with windows! Yet when we got to our dorm, the kitchen area was disgusting and the bathrooms not too great either. There were about 24 guests all sharing 2 toilets (one was broken) and 2 showers. So we decided to find showers elsewhere in the morning and found one shower cubicle which had diarrhoea on the floor. Went back a few days later and it was still there. Sleep wasn't much better either as there was a club underneath playing music til the early hours. Go elsewhere. The YHA.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

The checkin was easy, the doubles are on a separate corridor of 6 flats. So you basically share a kitchen and bathroom with 5 other doubles. The bathroom was not really clean, but also not disgusting. The kitchen was quite messy with a lack of a sponge, towel and dishwashing liquid. The fridge stank horribly.

Probably the worst thing: Our room shared a radiator with the room next door, which means there is a bigger hole in the wall and you can hear basically everything out of the other room as if it would be in yours. Privacy: No!

Nevertheless it is very central in Auckland and therefore (in comparison to others) quite cheap.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads Fat Camel Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Address: 38 Fort St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nomads Fat Camel Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nomads Fat Camel Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of Auckland, near to the Skytower and Viaduct Harbour. We have apartment style accommodation, with shared dorm rooms and private rooms, even a female only apartment. Security Swipe Card access 24 hours and 24 hour reception and internet access. Free Meal every night you stay, free activities in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Fat Camel Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Fat Camel Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.