We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and cheap.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Save Saved
You added Nomads Fat Camel Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   38 Fort St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good location and cheap.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks. Reception is super friendly and nice. There is also yummy snack meal every night. Location is good.

What I didn't like about the place is the paper thin walls. You can hear the music downstairs every night and especially during the weekends. You can also hear people chatting outside at the common area.

Basically you get what you paid for.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Jo,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback and we are stoked you enjoyed your time at the Fat Camel and the complimentary snack meal in the evenings. As our budget hostel and being located in the heart of the lively, trendy Britomart area it can sometimes be a little bit noisy in the weekends with everyone out enjoying themselves!

Kind regards and we wish you happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    21
    35
    47
See reviews for
2
40
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Staff on check in were helpful and nice.

The location here is great as literally all the bars are around you.

The living conditions are not so great. We stayed in a double room since we were a couple. We had a shared bathroom / kitchen. To be honest there were clothes all over the place and the kitchen although cleaned daily, just looked dirty all the time.

We couldnt wait to leave this place as its one of those places you have a shower and you feel more dirty than when you first went in.

The rooms sounded like there walls were made out of paper. You could hear everything. We were abit away from the kitchen however we could hear people in the sitting area chatting all night - seriously guys maybe look into some sound proofing. I understand hostels can have lively people in them getting drunk etc, but these guys werent even drinking...they were just normally talking and you could still here every word!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi JayJay,

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay. Unfortunately we are unable to do anything regarding extra soundproofing as we do not own the building. The owners have plans to renovate the entire building which keep getting postponed so we have actually just started refreshing one apartment at a time. We have completed two so far with another two planned for July and it has made an awesome difference already.
I am glad you mention that the group in the lounge were not drinking as we aim to keep the hostel area dry to mimimise noise, mess and disruption for our guesst that don't want to socialise. The Camel is our budget property and we have our more modern, flagship Auckland property located just 40 metres down the street which you will find much quieter!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed here a couple of nights with some friends.
The girl at reception was very nice and helpful and we had a free snack on the first evening of our stay.
The location is great, basically in the city center, only a few minutes away from Queen St.
The cleanliness and the general state of the apartment we stayed in was very poor, though. Our room was quite cold, the showers were messy, and the sinks didn't drain properly.
It was cheap but honestly not so great a stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Marta,

Thanks for taking the time to place feedback and we are stoked you enjoyed the location, free snack meal and friendly staff. I can assure you the hostel is cleaned thoroughly once per day with 2 more shifts that cover the kitchens and bathrooms of the apartments. The building is quite old and we are waiting on a long promised upgrade by the owners. In the meantime we have started refreshing 2 apartments each month which is making an awesome difference!

Kind regards and happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Just came up for the rugby stayed 1 night. Awesome friendly staff and altho they were clearly busy check in was pretty quick. Good central location close to pubs and restaurants and train to eden park. Room was simple but clean and comfy. All good. Will stay again

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi AJ,

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay at the Fat Camel and we are stoked you enjoyed your time with us! I am sure it was made even better by the All Blacks winning!

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkel enschot
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I have had a great time in this hostel over the last 5 weeks but I leave this central located place with some mixed feelings. People make the place, same for this hostel, were-ether your fellow travelers or the staff, both groups were amazing. The staff in this place makes a huge difference in feeling at home, Elise, Mitch, Gus, Glen and the night shift man doing a great job. Small thing make a difference in personal attention; how was your day, how went the job interview etc. and a smile all day. The establishment is a bit aged and can use an upgrade, but the manager told me that they working on an upgrade as we speak. Its might get noisy form time to time, but that the disadvantage from staying Downtown / Fortstreet. Benefit from that is that there is always sometime to do. The hostel bar (which serves a free snack meal) or the bars around Fortstreet.

A massive crew of cleaners come in around 10 in the morning to get everything clean and fresh (a bit early on a Sunday) and its cleaned during the day and the evening. Although is aged, it is clean.

I highly recommend this place for its price and the people, your get were you pay for. Don't complain too much in the cheapest place in town. I enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Dirk,

Thanks for leaving feedback on your stay at the Fat Camel and we are stoked you enjoyed your time with us and the staff you mentioned who are awesome!
You are right in saying that it is the people and the good times that make a place and more of today's travellers should live by this motto!

Happy travels mate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahiatua, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed here as we arrived late in Auckland. A big waste of money , as we got no sleep, the bar downstairs was noisy and kept us awake. Someone vomited in the corridor outside our room in the night and it wasn't cleaned up until after 10am. Fort street is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi JJJ Holidays,

Thanks you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay and we are devastated it did not live up to your expectations and by someone being sick outside your room. I can assure you the staff would have been more horrified by this than you were and it is definitely not a normal occurrence. Did you tell reception about this as they would have organised it to be cleaned up immediately. It seems not as it wasn't sorted until 10am when the full cleaning crew came on duty and I apologise it wasn't spotted earlier.
The Fat Camel is our budget property and our modern, flagship Auckland property Nomads Auckland is located just 40 metres down the street which is quieter than our budget option.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leads UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here only for two nights in Novemeber, in the girls only dorm because other beds were full. I did choose the windowless dorm so it was a given that the room would be a little stuffy. The hostel is set out like apartments, with 4 or 5 dorms sharing a kitchen and common room. All the girls were friendly, though a lot of them were staying long term, making the place pretty messy. The bathroom was probably the filthiest I had seen after 3 months in hostels in NZ. Mould everywhere! And coming out I didn't feel much cleaner. Girls hair products, toothbrushes and make up surrounded the sink and the kitchen was pretty filthy.

I didn't have a bad time here, though I chose to stay at baseX on my return back to Auckland. Which was much nicer (and cleaner).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Mickmickem,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us and we are disapointed it did not live up to all your expectations. I remember the time and apartment you refer to and agree some of the female guests that we staying at that time did like to spread out a little too much which we put a stop too after a few days.
As an old building we do our best to keep it as clean as possible and have recently started painting the apartments one by one as the building renovation by the owners keeps getting put back!

Kind regards and happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads Fat Camel Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Address: 38 Fort St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nomads Fat Camel Hostel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nomads Fat Camel Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of Auckland, near to the Skytower and Viaduct Harbour. We have apartment style accommodation, with shared dorm rooms and private rooms, even a female only apartment. Security Swipe Card access 24 hours and 24 hour reception and internet access. Free Meal every night you stay, free activities in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Nomads Fat Camel Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Fat Camel Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.