We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad atmosphere, great staff.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nomads Fat Camel Hostel to your Saves list
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   38 Fort St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Bad atmosphere, great staff.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

The staff at this hostel were impeccable. Very helpful, friendly and easy to chat to.
This place is definitely reflects the money you spend on it....
The beds were clean but uncomfortable. Loud club music playing until 4am. On a Sunday.
Dirty rooms.
This branch of hostel also has another hostel up the road, a bit more expensive. The hostel will often Reply to these reviews and recommend the other hostel to the reviewer. This is no excuse for having a dirty, uncomfortable and uneasy hostel.
Trust these reviews. I thought I'd give the place the benefit of the doubt but regretted it instantly.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Shannon B,

Thanks for taking the time to place feedback on your stay at The Fat Camel and for your comments on our awesome staff!
When mentioning our other, more modern property located just down the street we are merely stating the obvious that the Fat camel is our budget property and Nomads Auckland is our more modern property giving people a choice as with everything in life. If you want a very social, more party orientated hostel for a budget rate we have the Fat Camel and if you want slightly more luxurious and quieter accommodation, free rooftop spa, sauna etc we have Nomads Auckland where you pay slightly more. You are right in saying however that there is no excuse for uncleanliness and we are constantly working to ensure our housekeeping team are doing their job in what is an old building!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    22
    36
    47
See reviews for
2
40
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

To start off with, this is a hostel PURELY for the budget conscious and those who are just looking for a bed to lie their heads down. The only upside is the location as its right in the middle of the city. Bathrooms were a little dirty and rooms are very tiny. Again, its not a bad place for $16 a night. I got a discount when I arrived even though I booked with a slightly higher price through booking.com, so double check the price when you check in so as to not miss any discounts if available. The location of this hostel is on a sleazy part of the street so you might see some action along the street if you happen to stroll along on late nights. I only stayed one night - wouldn't stay for longer than 2 nights as its just not worthed. On the bright side, the staff was super friendly so double thumbs up for that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Linda,

Thanks for taking the time to place feedback on your stay at the Fat Camel and your comments on the staff and location. You are correct in that the Fat Camel is our budget property and is perfect for travellers who want a cheap, social and friendly place to stay in the heart of the city!

We wish you happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Only good thing about this place is the location. Staff were cool but place was filthy, strange smell in the apartment/bedroom and bathroom was disgusting. If you had a shower, you'd come out dirtier than when you went in!!! There's plenty of hostels around the same area which are so much better for the same price! Would not recommend this hostel to anyone!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I don't know what's wrong with the people who gave this hostel more than one star. I spent about a month in new Zealand, and Fat Camel was by far my worst hostel experience in the country.
There are several hostels in the same area, literally few steps away, that are infinitely better. This, btw, includes another Nomad Backpackers which is very nice.
The staff is very friendly, that's true... but so is the staff in neighboring hotels.
Fat Camel has no decent common areas, unless you count attached bar, rooms, kitchens, bathrooms are very old and very unattractive. Finally, Internet access in FatCamel is insanely overpriced - if you need to do lot's of online research, it can cost you several times more than what you've paid for the room.

Room Tip: go to any hostel next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a very nice hostel, i been traveling around Nz and staying in a lot of places , this one is clean and very central, the staff is very friendly and helpful, i strongly recommend the Nomads Hostels!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
HI Manuel,

Thanks for placing feedback on your stay at Fat Camel and we are stoked you enjoyed your time with us! Hopefully Mexico go just as well in the Football World Cup!!!

Happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in fat camel for a number of months, i enjoyed my time there. It is in an ideal location to get around da city and very close to the transport centre. I got to know lots of really nice
people. The staff were friendly and helpful and always around if you needed anyting. I Had plenty of fun nights in the camel bar through out my stay in camel great deals on drinks and food. If u want a hostel to meet people and have fun then this is the one for you!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Maeve,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay at the Camel and we are stoked you enjoyed your time with us including some big nights in the Camel Bar!

We wish you happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

The hostel is on top of a club. This is a good thing or a bad thing depending on what you're after from your stay in Auckland. Staff are nice, location is great, but you're ripped off for things like wifi and towels.

You get what you pay for - don't expect luxury!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arran D, General Manager at Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Marcus,

Thanks for taking the time to place feedback on your stay at the Fat Camel and we are stoked you enjoyed the experience for the most part. As our budget property on Fort ST it can be a little noisy on weekends sometimes.
You will be happy to know that we have almost finished negotiating a new WIFI deal but I hope staff made you aware of our 30 mins free daily WIFI offer in the Mad Travel shop!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads Fat Camel Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Address: 38 Fort St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nomads Fat Camel Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nomads Fat Camel Hostel is perfectly located in the heart of Auckland, near to the Skytower and Viaduct Harbour. We have apartment style accommodation, with shared dorm rooms and private rooms, even a female only apartment. Security Swipe Card access 24 hours and 24 hour reception and internet access. Free Meal every night you stay, free activities in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Fat Camel Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Fat Camel Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Fat Camel Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Fat Camel Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.