We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponsonby Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ponsonby Backpackers to your Saves list
Ponsonby Backpackers
2 Franklin Road | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Remember this review is about a backpackers hostel therefor don't go there expecting the Ritz.
That said Ponsanby is a lovely example of a backpackers hostel. We stayed in a double room and shared showering facilities with other guests on the floor.
The room was fine, a bit dated but clean, tidy with fresh bedding & towels and as we were only in Auckland 3 nights we were up early in the morning and out all day.
The kitchen facilites were great with plenty storage for your food etc.
Ponsanby is a really nice area to stay in if not a little pricey in the bars & restaurants and is only a 30 minute walk into the heart of Auckland which is an outstanding city by the way.
The staff were friendly & very helpful with any requests and their room rates are very reasonable.
All in all we were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi Ian,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us! It's great to hear that you liked Auckland as a city, sometimes people don't appreciate how much of a fantastic city Auckland really is, in all of it's splendor :-) So that's lovely to hear! We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. We hope you enjoy NZ and will visit us again next time you are in Auckland.

Thanks, The Ponsonby Backpackers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    67
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
51
78
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Ponsonby Backpackers really feels like home. It's small, has really friendly staff and guests and the comfiest sofas EVER! The whole hostel is cleaned to a really high standard and unlike a lot of other hostels in NZ the beds are completely stripped and re made after every guest. There is also a lovely garden. Ponsonby itself is a really great area with lots of nice bars and restaurants and is only a 15-20 minute walk from the city centre or a really short bus ride.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for the awesome review, we consistently try our hardest here at Pb and we love our staff. Along with our super comfy sofas we also have the best coffee on our doorstep here on Ponsonby road! enjoy the rest of your travels and we will see you back here in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here at the start of a road trip through NZ and was a great place to start. The staff were very friendly and helpful which was great being new to the city. The location is great only 10-15 minutes walk to central or there are regular buses which take you where you need to go. Would definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thanks for your feedback! It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We do hope that you will visit us again should you return to Auckland! :-) Cheers, The PB Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

stayed here last august was great place to stay,meet other travelers,kitchen nice and clean ,cool location for supermarket and city center,staff were great very knowledgeable and soooo helpful.would highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thanks for your kind comments! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed so many aspects of our lovely hostel. We look forward to hopefully seeing you guys again very soon! :-) Thanks, The PB Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

It's taken me about a month to write this review, but better late than never! This is,honestly, an absolutely AMAZING hostel. We had a situation with a person travelling with us and John, the manager went ABOVE AND BEYOND the call of duty to help us. You are in excellent hands with the people who work here! They are extremely helpful and nice. The rooms of the hostel were great. I liked how they had safes in the rooms. The kitchen area was also very nice and I liked the backyard. If I had to say the one slight annoyance was that you had to pay for wifi - but, travelling through NZ for 3 weeks in about 12 hostels, wifi in hostels is a rare occurrence. Seriously - book your stay here. You will not be disappointed. And for the people who give bad reviews - I don't think they know what a hostel is. Yes, you have to pay in advance upon check-in (that is standard), and yes - you have to clean up after yourself in the kitchen. That is what a hostel is! If you don't like it go to a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hi Sophie!

Thanks for taking the time to leave your amazing comments! It was such a pleasure to meet the 3 of you and we were extremely pleased to be able to help you out as much as you needed given the difficulties you faced during your time with us. We really hope that you enjoyed the rest of trip around NZ! We are glad you also enjoyed the cleanliness of our hostel, the use of lockers in the share rooms and the lovely back garden we have. In terms of wifi, this is something we are working towards providing for our guests so thanks for your comments regarding this, we appreciate that. Also thanks to your comments regarding some recent negative comments. As a hostel, we have learned that we can't always please everyone, though we do try, so we appreciate your opinions on this :-) Thanks again, safe travels and we'd love to see you guys again next time!

The Ponsonby Bp Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed here at the beginning of the month. I didn't find the staff particularly friendly, now did I find the place very relaxing. It was pretty noisy and overall uncomfortable. Upon leaving I was ostracised for asking for clarification on a price. If you want confrontation, stay here. If you want a friendly experience, go to Adventure Queenstown.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We were very disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience during your stay with us earlier this month. We pride ourselves on having friendly and helpful staff and unfortunately you did not feel this was reflected during your stay of which we are very sorry to hear. We are generally a calm, quiet and relaxing type hostel, not loud or a party place, so it’s a shame to hear that this did not come across during your stay. We most definitely do not consider any of our staff to be confrontational, so it's again unfortunate to hear this. Thanks again for taking the time to leave your feedback and we still do hope that you will consider giving us another go in the future. Many Thanks, The Ponsonby BP Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I was staying at the backpackers until I could find my flat (just having arrived in NZ)- staff were so kind to accommodate--when full, they called nearby backpackers for me to check availabilities. Staff were fun to chat with, and real genuine--such as May! It felt like a home because of way hostel was built- a clean and comfy place to stay, with a welcoming environment.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hi Edelrose,

It was lovely to have you stay with us recently and it's great to hear you enjoyed your time here! We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and Mae is a fantastic asset to our team, so thanks for your comments! We are also glad you found our hostel to be clean, welcoming and a comfortable place to stay! We really hope that you will visit us again!

Thanks, The Ponsonby BP Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponsonby Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsonby Backpackers

Address: 2 Franklin Road | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponsonby Backpackers is a beautiful 19th Century, character villa located right in the heart and soul of trendy Ponsonby filled with swanky boutiques and funky cafes and bars. We invite you to stay in our warm, cosy and spotlessly clean rooms, with welcoming and spacious communal areas that create the real feeling and vibe of your home away from home. Our award winning staff are the friendliest in town and are happy to give you all the information and advice you need for starting your NZ adventures! Travellers ourselves we know what backpackers want and look for in a place to call home, a true kiwi oasis. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ponsonby Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponsonby Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponsonby Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.