We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem of a place in the heart of auckland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponsonby Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ponsonby Backpackers to your Saves list
Ponsonby Backpackers
2 Franklin Road | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
“a gem of a place in the heart of auckland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

clean,comfy,super location and a real friendly staff(especially mae)...all the reason that made me come bck to stay in here in auckland even while at the end of my journey in NZ(stayed initially for 2 nights when arrived in NZ).Mind u,if u lookin for a party kind of hostel with pub crawls etc(tho wouldnt mind that once in a while) this is not the place.More of a hostel to relax and chill.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    52
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
45
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice and clean backpacker...
But the atmosphere was not that good specially because of one of the manager, Holly, who was not professional at all.
I think she doesn't realize that we are customers so she speaks to everyone by a very strict way, sometimes she doesn't even reply when you say hello to her... She "forget" to book you so you have to change the room every 2 days
Other bad point, the kitchen close at 10pm so if you want to grab something to eat or drink, you can't!
Last bad point, after 10pm you can't speak, you have to whisper!
I have been in many backpackers already and I would definitely not recommend this one since there are other ones in the same area much better, with open mind and easy going people :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi Alex,

It's unfortunate that you feel this way. At the end of the day, we are a backpackers hostel and can not cater for long term all the time due to lack of availability in busy periods. If you had booked your stay longer in the first place, then you wouldn't of needed to move at all, it is your responsibility to extend your stay should you wish to stay longer. We can not always guarantee that the same room is available, we did our best to still be able to accommodate you. But I guess we can't have been that bad if you still wanted to stay longer? The reason that you left in the end was because yourself and the guest you left with were asked to leave by us as we could no longer accommodate you. We did not forget to book you in, that's a ridiculous comment to make. It's unfair to now be bitter about the fact that we asked you nicely to leave as due to future bookings would no longer be able to accommodate you. I do not speak to my guests in a strict manner at all, again this is an unfair comment to make. I love getting to know and talking to all of the guests we have here, that's the favorite part about my job. Though if guests are behaving inappropriately and affecting others guests stay then we have to take action to this. We are not strict, we do not have a curfew, guests can enjoy our common areas at any hour as long as they are being respectful to other guests, just because you want to stay up, does not mean that others that wish to sleep should be affected. Part of backpacking is respect for your fellow travellers, something in which the both of you need to learn. The kitchen closes at 10:30pm as it has an entrance to the building and therefore for security we have to lock it at night, this is clearly labelled and all guests are told this on check in. 10:30 is not an unreasonable hour, if you want items later than this then you could just take them out before it closes. Once again, I feel it's a shame that you felt the need to leave this review, we did not feel that we had any problems with you during your stay as a person, in fact I thought you were a lovely person. I do hope you enjoy your time in NZ and that the more hostels you stay in, the more you will realize that being a backpacker is about caring for the others you stay with and respecting them as well as yourself. I feel that we did all we could for you here. Good luck,

Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great hostel, perfect location, there are lots of cafés, bars, restaurants close by, lots if local amenities also. You can walk In to town in around 25 mins or get the bus for $1.90! Bus stop is around the corner. Staff were very helpful and friendly, we hired a car and there was off road parking at the hostel.....bonus! Enjoyed our time here :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonsonbyBackpackers1, Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this awesome feedback! So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come back and see us again should you return to Auckland and enjoy your time in fabulous NZ! Cheers, Pb Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This place has a perfect location, about 20 min walk to town. There are shops and bars around the corner and also a busstop to town. And it is in a beautifull area of auckland. The hostel itself has a nice vibe. Always clean kitchen when i stayed there, lots of space in the fridges. A really nice area to sit outside enjoying the sun, where you can find the washing machines aswell. The shared room was big enough for 4 people and also very clean. The livingroom has a comfi couch but can get crowded, because its not that big. One negative thing was that the toilet/showers were on first floor, so had to get up the stairs everytime. Or go to the toilet in the sitting area outside. But other than that i can really recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a great experience with Ponsonby backpackers. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the lounge area was cosy and we loved the Ponsonby location, heaps of amazing cafes and restaurants! Great value hostel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangaroa, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were made to feel super welcome here, our first hostel in New zealand after our long journey over. The staff were helpful and friendly. Helped us find somewhere to buy a car- a guy they recommended which all worked out well. The lounge was comfy with massive sofas and big tv. Close to town, and near lots of shops too. great first place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

After a 48 hours trip from amsterdam we were a bit tired so we came to this hostel to regain some energie. We really liked it, especially the wakeupcall at 7 in the morning(smokealarm). Besides that everything was great: staff, room, shower, people in the hostel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponsonby Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsonby Backpackers

Address: 2 Franklin Road | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponsonby Backpackers is a beautiful 19th Century, character villa located right in the heart and soul of trendy Ponsonby filled with swanky boutiques and funky cafes and bars. We invite you to stay in our warm, cosy and spotlessly clean rooms, with welcoming and spacious communal areas that create the real feeling and vibe of your home away from home. Our award winning staff are the friendliest in town and are happy to give you all the information and advice you need for starting your NZ adventures! Travellers ourselves we know what backpackers want and look for in a place to call home, a true kiwi oasis. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ponsonby Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponsonby Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponsonby Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.