We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok, if you just need a bed to sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Arena Hotel

Arena Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arena Hotel to your Saves list
Arena Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131 Beach Road, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Vantaa, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“ok, if you just need a bed to sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2006

I stayed 2 nights in this one last december. It was VERY cheap and in good place near the center of the city. My room was very small and worn out. Clean enough(!) and I slept ok in that small bed. I have no real complaints, but if I go again to Auckland, I will try something else, even if it costs me more.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    11
    6
    19
See reviews for
3
11
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2006

Do not book this place. I wont call it a hotel as it does not deserve it.
Our room was damp and smelly and im sure we too had fleas!
They were the only place to charge my credit card before we arrived and i see why now as i would have left without payment as it was a terrible place. Be warned if you have booked then try to cancel - its horrible.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2006

The room was better then we expected. We only found this website after we had booked and the feed back we read before we got to this hotel was very poor.

We managed to get a room at the side of the hotel so there was no road noise. But the wind howls through the windows making a noise like dragging a lump of rock across the road. Leaking gutters and pipes means all night you will have pouring water falling onto a platic roof. Pure Chinese water torture.

I came down at 8.30am to change the room as we had unfortunatly booked for two nights. But "absolutley not" was the receptionists reply. This was an improvement on the receptionist the previous day who booked us in. She was too busy chatting to a friend on MSN to do anything more then give us a dirty look when we dared to stand at the desk. When we asked to book a shuttle to the airport (as their brochure tells us to do only through reception) She told us to come back and do it the next day. No surprises to see that the lazy girl wasn't working the next day! She simply didnt want to be bothered to do it there and then!

Still look on the bright side. The receoptionist was sooooooooooooooo lazy and preoccupied with her cyber fun that she didnt charge us. STEER CLEAR!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2006

I had no problem with the room. It was clean and tidy, and all the facilities were fine.

But the NOISE!!!

There's a 4 lane street, with traffic lights right outside, so vehicles of all sizes (and volumes) are starting and stopping continuously.

I stayed on a Saturday night, which is probably only second to Friday in terms of noise.

The road noise would have been bearable (just), but the empty carpark across the road was a meeting place for our next generation of deaf people. Cars would gather, open their doors and crank up their thumping stereos. This actually got worse as the night went on. The window was vibrating in the window frame, but at 2am the door into the hallway also started to vibrate from the noise. I gave up on sleep and went walking about the city for an hour. By the time I returned at 3am the noise makers had gone.

I find it amazing that people can be allowed such antisocial behaviour outside a place of residence, but the police are only concerned with bigger issues.

Unfortunately, all the rooms are on the noisyest side, with the stairs and lift enjoying the quieter side.

Perhaps a room near the top would be acceptable, but the 3rd floor was just too noisy.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

First with the positive points - our room had a huge TV! And it was dirt, dirt cheap! But with the price tag comes the dirt, and the Auck City Hotel has plenty of it. ACH saw its day in the 1970s and has changed little since, so expect to get run-down budget accomodation matching the price you pay. The room was a fair size with a decent bathroom and good shower - plenty of water pressure. Location wise, it is a short-walk to the centre and there are a couple of Asian-themed restaurants nearby, but little else aside from the cafe/bar adjoining the hotel - I think we paid more for breakfast here the following morning than for the previous nights accomodation.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2005

Giving this "hotel" (hovel more like it) 1 dot is generous. This establishment is filthy and grimy. We were dying for a shower and a sleep and were horrified to find the shower was on a par with something you'd encounter in a public lavatory. The bed was ... far from inviting. The first thing we did was go out to find some disinfectant so we could use the shower. The walk to the convenience store was miles! Forget trying to grab some sleep here, especially during the day. It is practically on a truck highway - and there was continual construction work going on nearby. We booked 2 nights and didn't stay the second. We were happy to do our dough just to get outta there!!! Be warned. Don't be fooled by their website!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2005

Booked the 'Hotel' on line. Booked 2 double rooms and ended up with one double and one with 4 single beds. The carpet was stained and smelt. The curtains were hanging off their rail. Spoke to the male receptionist who was completely unconcerned and stated we were liable to pay nights payment even if we did not stop there.
This was booked through Flairview Travel-Sydney and even though I have sent an e-mail to them complaining they have not replied.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Address: 131 Beach Road, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arena Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.