We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service - not the best facilities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hobson Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Friendly Service - not the best facilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Granted I had just come from one of the best hotels ever, and my stay here was tolerable. While the manager and Front Desk Staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel itself and rooms leave something to be desired. The first impression matters and that was the carpet - it should have been replaced long ago.
The first three floors are a hotel - and the room I saw was in below standard condition. The rest of the floors are rented out for the owner and this one was adequate. The Internet is expensive and lasts for 500mb or 24 hours, whichever comes first. Each block has to be re-booked with a new access code - very inconvenient, especially for business traveling. The bathrooms only have showers and this one was small with an awkward entry. There is no restaurant - only a small room that offers breakfast and a few supper dishes, at way too expensive prices. My room faced the street - I think most of them do - which meant sleep was limited. The maid service was also under-par - they seemed to want to do the minimum, and sometimes that was less than minimum.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    91
    100
    46
    35
See reviews for
43
129
23
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

After a long flight into Auckland I made my way to the Grand Chancellor hotel looking forward to some rest. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful to get me checked into the room quickly. The lobby was small and aged looking a bit more like a hostel than hotel.

The room was on the 2nd floor so there was a lot of street noise. The room is large but very old. Unfortunately the smell matched the appearance of the aged room. The bed was old, linens were not clean and felt dirty.

There were several people running and yelling in the hall then would go outside and run and yell then back into the hotel up and down the halls. This continued until about 1:00am. The hotel staff did nothing to attempt to curtail this.

The Wifi was OK speed but at a fee of $25 for 24 hours is expensive. Note this is for only 1 device so if you have 2 devices you should expect to pay double this price. The TV was the smallest I have seen in recent years but it did work OK with a reasonable amount of channels.

The hotel room is equipped with a cook top, microwave, refrigerator and sink for long stay. Also there are mailboxes in the lobby so possibly this could be used for extended stay.

I was scheduled for multiple nights in this property but after an appeal to the front desk was allowed to leave the next morning without penalty.

Location is great near the harbor but with so many options in the area I will try my luck somewhere different next time. Maybe just bad luck with the room or bad timing with the noise during my visit.

Room Tip: Get a high floor away from the street to keep the noise down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Rooms were basically good quality apartments. Great value and on checking into my room there was a welcome card with a box of chocolates. I thought fantastic. BUT, with no double glazing and being right on the intersection of Hobson Street, the noise (including trucks changing gears) was terrible for a light sleeper like me. I was on the 3rd floor, so perhaps if you go higher it makes a difference. 2 nights here and busy work days, I was glad to be going home. Such a shame as everything else ticks the box (if it wasn't for everything else I would have marked this hotel less than 2).

Room Tip: Go high, may make a difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The staff here were really helpful. The room itself was tidy but a little worn around the edges. The bed springs creaked, some water damage in the bathroom and the TV must have been one of the first flatscreens produced because it was square, which distorted the picture. I didn't realise when I booked in that this hotel only serves breakfast. There is no food available for snacks, dinner etc.
Also quite noisy - at least on the lower floors.

Room Tip: Don't get a room low on the back of the hotel... you can hear the garage door go up and down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YYC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

nice hotel very close to downtown and the ship terminal. Stayed two nights just before our cruise, great service, fairly quiet for a down town hotel on a busy corner. Counter staff were excellent. grocery store only a block away, just a couple of blocks from the harbor

Room Tip: with in easy walking distance of the ship terminal even with luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel should be a miss on your travel plans to Auckland. I agree with the previous posters that service was a disgrace and whats more the non-Kiwi owners couldn't care a less. I didn't get the room I booked which was a one bedroom suite. Instead, they put me in a studio suite and insisted that was what I booked. The beds were terrible. Springs sprung up to greet you when you sat on the bed. They charged for the internet and took a $250.00 deposit on my credit card which wasn't released until 4 days after departure. I wouldn't have known that if I didn't overhear a conversation between another guest and the check in girl. The bathroom had a chipped and black bathtub. To boot, upon checkout they charged a service fee for using my credit card.
Skip this horrible hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here for a few hours after attending a concert in downtown Auckland. Found the room on Expedia and booked it last minute. Worked out OK, room was a King Size bed suite on the third floor. A bit of road noise but OK as we ere so tired it didn't matter too much. If walking to here from Britomart or lower Queen Street then use Albert St and Fanshawe Street to walk there, just easier. Didn't try anything on offer in hotel was wasn't there long enough. Suited the purpose of drop the bags, attend the concert, three hours sleep and then back to the airport again for the red eye flight to Wellington at 6:00 am.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel

Address: 1 Hobson Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Hotel Auckland
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.