We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self Containted and Central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hobson Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Self Containted and Central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was quite happy with my stay here. The property is located close to Viaduct Harbour and Sky City, just on the east edge of the CBD. The room itself was clean and had a mini-kitchenette - which is great as I went down to the local supermarket sometimes to by my own groceries.

There is car-parking available - quite affordable and great if your hiring car - rates are based on 24 hours - you can enter/exit as many times you want :).

I stayed in the one-bedroom apartment - spacious. There is also a small lounge area and a balcony.

The property has a spa and gym - although a basic gym - as most hotels generally have.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor possible facing Viaduct Harbour - great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    92
    100
    46
    36
See reviews for
43
129
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paihia, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was my second stay here, and it was fantastic!
The service was awesome and the room was great. Location is perfect. Thanks for another great stay. Will be back!
The 1 Bedroom Suite was perfect for 2 friends sharing. Nice deck, nice view and enough space.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our first room was OK as a room, but was on the second floor and faced out into Hobson Street. We could have treated the passing parade on Hobson Street to a full sight of our ablutions and sleeping habits. So we upgraded to an apartment with a harbour view. Bit more expensive, but, given we were in the first days of our holiday, well worth the difference. Location was quite convenient. Staff were fine for what little we wanted. The in-house restaurant was closed. but there was plenty of choice nearby.

Room Tip: Go for upper level rooms with the harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whangarei
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Booked two rooms through Wot if with up grades to suites,The service was fine large rooms and clean. Our 4yr old loved the pool.BUTon booking in we were told it would be an extra $30 per car parking overnight[We had 2 cars] and they had to have a credit card for security ok but on checking out would we like to charge the car parks and $11 bar tab to credit card ok but as she proceess it she tells me there is a 1.5% surcharge for the credit card which they requested,To make matters worse as i drove out the Wilsons car park next door had a banner up offering $5 overnight parking
The special offer on Wotif soon got topped up and on that bases we wont be going back The hotel is ok but the Rip off at the front desk is one to look out for. The overall rating is for the rip off.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Okay cheap, under $100 room. Worst frears after reading other reviews. First desk is programmed to say no so i had her recheck my request for early check in, before 2pm. And there it was. Got room om infamous 2nd flr.it was very nice. Yes there is no platform for the bed and you have to press the power and 1 key to get the tv to work, and the street lights are at you room level, but pull the curtains. Bathroom is a bit bigger than a curise ship. But you paid less than most dumps nearby. Walk down the viaduct and have a great meal or go to the mall and a great and cheap chinese massage. If you really want save money walk to countdown and buy things to cook or heat up because you have a kitchen to do in.. this was better than the chiefly because it has ac/ heater. Rydges now has free wifi. But you are going to pay higher for the room. Its your choice, mate.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

we wanted to stay close to viaduct but away from street noise. We had a 3rd floor sunny but pooky room with 2 double beds. At least it was warm, clean and it had a little deck for a sit down and a drink in the sun. The beds were alitlle hard. And as we had to share with kids, no privacy. The pulg for bath was to small, i think hotel prefer's using shower above bath?? as we had to plug it up with paper to help hold water in. No jug either, had to use microwave or stove top. and I cant stand those little pottles of milk, not enough, why not purchase a small carton milk??. It was shame the resturant was closed for constuction, as would of liked to have breaksfast and or dinner there. The menu looked good. If we had not of rang we wouldnt know that kitchen was closed as there was no notice about it at reception or in rooms. However we found staff very helpfull , especially on check-in. Alittle noise from the street below, but not as bad as the copthorne hotel. And a stroll to viaduct and about 15min walk from the vector which i thought was great. would stay again, but in a bigger room. Though at $150 per night was o.k. And kids and I loved the choice of pool to swim in,,loads of room. Not sure of prices if you stay above 3rd floor, but check out room if possible when you get there. Also lower rooms all you see really is the wilson car park across the road, but at least you get sun

Room Tip: For a view of harbour stay above 5th floor, however depends on room size and how much you have to sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just a short stroll to anywhere in the city, Harbour, casino and shopping.....oh the shopping. Make sure you check out the streets that run parallel to queen street on the right had side of queen street looking down to the harbour. There are any cute little boutique shops and small malls. The staff at the hotel were fab and very forth coming with all this information.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel

Address: 1 Hobson Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Hotel Auckland
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.