We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ferry ride with nice views from the island top” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rangitoto Island

Rangitoto Island
Sail from Auckland City, Auckland, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$51*
and up
Rangitoto Island Tour from Auckland
Ranked #6 of 88 Attractions in Auckland
Type: Islands, Volcanos, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This volcanic island, which last erupted 600 years ago, offers bird-watching, swimming, fishing, walking trails, colorful flora and spectacular views from the summit of its cone-shaped mountain.
Holt, Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice ferry ride with nice views from the island top”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The trail was boring. We didn't see any birds or wildlife. The views from the top of the "mountain" were good.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    221
    35
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
137 attraction reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Great hiking and views from the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

A short ferry away, this is a great spot for hiking. We did all of the trails and the caves. Most of the trails are easy but one around the coast from the east back to the wharf if two hours of lava hopping so poles were very useful. We didn't bring our bathing suits but near the connection with Motutapu are some lovely bays where one could. Take your time and enjoy the view and the caves and all of the trails.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Day Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I've been to Rangitoto three times now since moving to Auckland. It is one of my favorite activities. The vegetation there is different than the surrounding areas and feels quite isolated even though it is only 30 minutes away by ferry.

An even better plan is to bring overnight gear and hike to Motutapu on the visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great half-day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Picked up an early water taxi to the island and spent the afternoon there, returning to Auckland a little before dinnertime. Hiked to the summit and had some chocolate and spent some time at the base near the water just relaxing before the boat. The walk itself is very easy and the path is well taken care for. There's not much to do out here other than the hike, so just keep that in mind...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Escape to prehistoric times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

.. or something... I was blown away by how different Rangitoto is to the rest of Auckland. You can see the city surrounding you from the island but it's a completely different place. Well worth setting aside a day and paying the ferry price to do. We walked up to the crater and saw the amazing rock caves on our way. I still need to go back to do the crater walk. The old preserved baches are pretty neat too. Do it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rangitoto Island also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Rangitoto Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rangitoto Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.