We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Mollies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mollies

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mollies to your Saves list
Mollies
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Tweed Street, St. Marys Bay, Auckland, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“We loved Mollies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2007

A stay at Mollies is indeed a rare treat. We stayed for two nights on our way from Australia to the USA and thoroughly enjoyed the property and the hospitality of the owners.

The experience is like staying at the grand home of a friend - rather than in a hotel.

We stayed in one of the lower floor suites that had a separate bedroom and lounge area (Suite 6). Behind the bedroom was a contemporary light filled bathroom. The lounge area, with grand piano, was filled with compendiums on operas and music and this gave a hint of what the guests were to enjoy later in the evening. The room didn't have an expansive view of the harbour, however, it did have a large terrace and a green leafy outlook.

The common areas of the hotel again have a grand yet friendly feel about them. As you enjoy an afternoon drink you can lap up the sumptuous interiors and, if you are lucky, get to cuddle one of the two gorgeous burmese cats that resides in the house.

Just before dinner the guests are treated to a short performance of arias by either the staff and/or music students accompanied by Frances (the owner) on the piano. Frances is a great host - keen to make all her guests feel at home. The general manager Jack was a delight.

We had dinner one night at Herne Bay and the second night at Mollies. The meal was theatrical and fun and the food excellent. The only down point was a rather intrusive street lamp that illuminated the bar/dining area. Drapes may have made the room more comfortable.

Each night we returned to our suite to find a lovely small present left by our hosts.

The a la Carte breakfast was served in the bar/dining room. A computer with internet access is available in the library.

We are looking forward to returning to Mollies soon.

  • Liked — The large suites and the friendly owners and staff
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    11
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
85
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2007

The owners and management of Mollies know how to make a great impression. The attention to detail is carried throughout the hotel from the discreet signage in the hedgerow, to the reception, public rooms to the bedroom and bathroom.

All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had one of the smaller rooms – still big though. We had a beautiful double bed and a sofa for relaxing on. We both took turns in sitting reading on the sofa with a lovely breeze coming from our balcony. The bathroom had a wonderful walk-in shower. It has to be one of the biggest I have ever been in. There was also a spa bath but I ran out of time and never got a chance to use this. Molton Brown toiletries are used throughout the hotel

After a day of wandering around Auckland I returned to the hotel and booked a Luxurious Spa Massage which was an hour of absolute bliss and I would recommend the treatment to everyone.

Before dinner the guests are invited down to the lounge for drinks and a little operatic entertainment. Most of the waiting staff are also to opera singers. It was a wonderful experience and really added to the magical feel of the hotel.

Dinner was to a very high standard (5 courses but we only managed 3). With every course the waiter explained exactly what you were being served. Here, as everywhere else, there is attention to detail. Whilst we were at dinner, not only was our bed being turned down but our room was tidied with clothes hung up.

I have never stayed anywhere so luxurious and special before. We both loved the hotel and wanted to stay for longer. The bed linen is beautifully embroidered and a mohair blanket on the bed.

There are two resident Burmese cats who wander around and are always on the look out for a willing lap to sit in and be petted.

  • Liked — so luxurious
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

My wife and I spent 4 glorious nights in this wonderful hotel. We arrived at 7 PM on our first day. Our room was beautifully made up, and a bottle of champagne on ice was waiting our arrival. Staff ran a bath for us, candels and rose petals, and we were able to relax prior to dinner.

We had dinner in the hotel on two our our four nights. The food was fresh and the presentation excellant. Breakfasts were a delight. We were never rushed and the service always attentive. The hotel has an extensive list of New Zealand's best wines.

We had drinks in the hotel every evening and the staff were always interesting to talk to. On the evenings we had dinner at the hotel we were treated to some spectacular opera singing from some of New Zealand's finest opera singers.

My wife and I both had a massage in the spa. Another wonderfull experience. The ambience was excellant.

Our hosts, Francis and Stephen, were friendly and made us feel extraordinarily welcome. Staff members, Jack, Joanna, Henry, and many others made us feel at home.

Mollies is located in a quiet location near fashionable shops and restaurants. Getting about was easy. We had Mollies choose a restaurant for us and we were delighted with their choice.

Our room was large with floor to ceiling modern french windows that opened onto a delightful garden. We had a grand piano, open fire, and comfortable furniture. We had a separate bedroom with a king size bed that was extremely comfortable and soft white linen sheets. All rooms were bright and airy.

Mollies constantly delighted us.

  • Liked — Ambience and friendlyness of staff
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2006

Mollies is the most wonderful hotel we have ever had the pleasure of staying at (and we've stayed at some pretty amazing hotels!)

The stunning interior design is complimented by wonderful food and wine, staff that constantly ‘go the extra mile’ to make you feel welcome and at home, and special touches like antique harps or grand pianos in the rooms. From our stays, we absolutely adore rooms 1 and 3.

This is truly a world-class establishment. Auckland is worth a visit just to stay at Mollies. Even more so if you have a passion for music, as you may be lucky enough to hear some of the finest opera singers in New Zealand at the pre-dinner recital.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2006

I had the chance to stay at Mollies for a couple of days when I was in New Zealand on business recently and found this a really charming hotel. Everyone was so friendly it felt almost like a home stay. The hotel is a bit off the beaten track but that's part of its appeal. Really good for a romantic getaway where you get pampered.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2005

After hearing so much about one of the best hotels in the world, the suite and champagne on arrival was a taste of more to come. No doubt Mollies deserves recognition as one of the best places in the world to stay, however our privacy was not respected. We were harassed into coforming to social niceties, and not to mention the lack of soundproofing.
Despite these, we did enjoy our stay, however whether or not we would be returning is questionable.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2005

Having being advised by my travel agent to stay at this 5 stay luxurious property, my first impression of the property was very positive, I was in uttmost awe with the decor and the ambience of the entrance. I was impressed to see a young polynesian decent talented host running the hotel and keeping up appearances. Unfortunately, I was only dissppointed to feel intimidated by the owners who are anglo-saxons to talk down at us at dinner with my family. Thier attitudes towards my family and especially towards to my children is totally unacceptable!!! Having witnessed how they treated the other guests in house, they made it clear that we were not welcomed in the hotel. From now on, I will NOT RECCOMMEND this PROPERY TO OTHERS, and my travel agent, has been informed not to send business in thier direction. The property might be 5 star, but the attitudes towards cultural indifferences is a mere '0'. I advise people with families, to stay at ta CHILD FREINDLY PROPERTY...

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mollies

Address: 6 Tweed Street, St. Marys Bay, Auckland, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mollies 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mollies luxury boutique hotel is located just moments from Auckland’s CBD in the gracious heritage suburb of St Mary’s Bay. Private, spacious and welcoming, it offers elegant accommodation in a relaxed and intimate 5-star setting.Mollies’ ten suites are spacious and beautifully appointed with bespoke furnishings, king size beds, exquisite hand-printed linens and marble ensuites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Mollies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mollies Hotel Auckland Central
Mollies Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mollies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.