We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful and charming hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mollies

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mollies to your Saves list
Mollies
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Tweed Street, St. Marys Bay, Auckland, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful and charming hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

My husband and I have just returned back from a weekend stay at Mollies and it is definitely one of the most beautiful and charming hotels we have ever stayed at. The rooms and decor throughout the whole hotel are simply stunning. Also the attention to detail that features throughout the entire hotel makes it that much more special.The suite we stayed in was extremely spacious and tastefully decorated. All the staff are very friendly and helpful.

We were also lucky enough to be there for dinner on a Saturday evening which I had read was an experience in itself and it met all expectations. The evening included a delicious degustation with matching wines from a local winery (along with commentary from one of the owners) and a number of musical performances, The dining area was beautifully decorated with lots of flowers and candles and created a lovely ambience.

We both had the most wonderful long weekend at Mollies and wished we could have stayed longer!. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Auckland.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    11
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
84
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

We arrived in Auckland very early morning and wanted to find the hotel by car just to see where it was. Were really delighted when they allowed us to check in since the flight had been 16 hours from LA! Even before that the staff had offered us juice and coffee, we were made to feel welcome despite not being any kind of opera singer (soprano Angela Brown was hanging out there that day!). I think we got one of the smaller rooms but it was SO lovely. The bathroom features were SUPER nice. We had a great sleep and were able to then start our trip in New Zealand refreshed.

It is run by a Frances Wilson (formerly a voice coach in New York) and is named after her Mother, who used to run it. But Frances and her partner have totally revamped the hotel and it looks beautiful. Heheh it was like staying at Gosford Park! Frances was very sweet to us as well, encouraging us in our sightseeing and exploring efforts, even though we are just the "common folk" as Eddie Griffin might say. The restaurant also was lovely. Very light and airy for breakfast in the morning, for dinner all dolled up for romance with like 50 candles at each place setting!

Some reviews say it is a little far from town, which is true, it is a ways from the CBD. However, the CBD with its ridiculous parking rates of NZ$10 per hour is not that huge an attraction. Parking at Mollies is free, and it is walking distance from trendy Ponsonby Rd with SPQR and Prego etc etc! OK that is all, book your stay now, YOU TURTLES!

  • Liked — It was fantastic
  • Disliked — We had to leave
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

We booked Mollie's as part of a 2-night pre-cruise package. We did not really know what to expect and our first observation on arriving was that is was really not near anything. It was about a half-mile walk to the Auckland City Circle bus line stop, and the nearest place where a few restaurants are located. So if you want to get around quickly, expect to order up a taxi from the hotel.

But things got better quickly when we went inside. The hotel is small and intimate, but the rooms were huge and exquisitely appointed. Ours had two outside decks where we had drinks and dessert both nights. The rooms also had washer's and dryers, a full kitchen, and complimentary WiFi. As we had been hiking in the South Island for several days, the washer and dryer was nice to have. As it turned out the washer handle was broken, so the Hotel staff did ALL of our clothing for us at no charge.

As part of the package we had dinner at Mollie's the first night. I can't say enough about how wonderful it was. The owner had been a New Yorker for many years before being called back to New Zealand when her mother needed help with the hotel. She was a musician at heart, so before dinner there was a small opera concert by local young people. Then dinner was served. All I can say is the serving staff are wonderful, and the food the best we had in our 3-week New Zealand stay. Although we did not know anyone before we arrived, the mood created by Mollie's that evening was relaxed and wonderful, such that very quickly you felt like you had met old friends.

Due it's expense and location, 2-nights is probably the right length of a visit. But if you need a haven during an action packed vacation, Mollie's can't be beat. We will definately go back.

  • Liked — The experience
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

We stayed at Mollies for just one night following a cruise. It happened to be Valentine's Day and turned out to be a most memorable occasion.
We arrived at about 10:30 and our rooms were not ready. the staff graciously set us up on the dining terrace and offerd to prepare a hot breakfast, in addition to the continental, cold buffet. It was absoulutely delicious in a lovely setting. Fresh flowere were on all tables, Our room was ready before we finished breakfast and we were told our friends' room would be ready in about 30 min. We went to our room, unpacked and got ready to explore Auckland. We did not reallize until then that our firend's had just gotten their room, an hour and a half after they were told. But they entertained themselves in the parlor with the lovely piano, which my friend played.
That evening the dining room and terrace were converted into a magical setting,with literally hundreds of candles and we dined only by candlelight. Beautiful, tall orchid arrangements were on the tables. Prior to dinner, we were treated to music in the parlor, arias performed by local talent as well as Jack the manager of the hotel, accompanied on the piano by the owner Frances. Simply beautful. We had begun our trip with opera at the Sydney Opera House and ended it with beautiful opera and other musical selections while we sipped Champagne.
Dinner was excellent and very romantic, but also very expensive. We ordered one of the least expensive bottles of wine because one of our friends does not drink. The server offered me a glass of the same wine when the bottle was empty and that single glass was $35
We talked with Frances, met her husband and in general had a delightful evening.
Our room was a two story with a terrace on the upstairs and a small balcony on the first level. Our "harborview" as another poster indicated was over a lot of rooftops and the harbor was actually quite far in the distance. Our friends had a first floor room, with a lovely garden outside their door. We were very happy with our room, but I found the other room seemed closed in with low ceilings, although very spacious and with a full kitchen. The bathrooms were very well appointed. Coffee/tea facilities were in the room with complimentary snacks, as well as a mini bar with high priced beverages. We had a gas firelplace which we did use.

Mollies is in an inconvenient location if you want to explore the city. It was especially so because it rained much of the time we were there. We took several cabs;the area around is residential. My husband and I walked in the rain to a small shopping area, purchased a bottle of wine and enjoyed it on the terrace between rainfalls.
The staff stored our luggage and invited us to return and freshen up before our plane left at 7:30 pm. The staff, especially those in the dining room were especially accomodating. They arranged a van to take us and too much luggage to the airport for $80 NZ

If we return, we would likely stay in a more convenient location unless we just want to relax in the hotel and take advantage of the spa. But it was a highlight of our trip and unforgettable experience. My husband volunteered to take me back to NZ to celebrate our anniversary at Mollies!

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

Comparison: It’s a nice hotel on its own but it was our least favorite luxury hotels in New Zealand (compared to Azur, Grasmere, and Solitaire) for the below reasons. Among the hotels that charged over NZ$800, Mollies was the only one that did not come with free mini bar and breakfast. The biggest weakness of the hotel was its location. Auckland didn’t have much to offer to start with, and Mollies was in the middle of an average residential neighborhood. There was absolutely nothing around. The taxi fare from airport was about NZ$80 one way and to downtown was >NZ$10 (so expect to spend >NZ$200 for taxi fare). It’s also inconvenient to get a taxi as the hotel has to call one for you and then you wait for it. A hotel in this price range should offer complementary shuttle. The services were average; they were the least responsive with my email requests compared to other hotels. The atmosphere in the public area was too formal, not something I want while on vacation. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was quite good. Loved the music theme throughout the property.

Room: The best part of Mollies was its room. We opted for the highest category, Premier Suite. It’s very spacious, over 1000sqf. They put some kind of aromatic flower in the room so the smell was always fabulous. The two-stories suite had a large terrace looked out to the bay, although the distant bay view was not great as you had to look over many roofs.

Location: Far from anywhere you want to go. The nearby shopping streets didn’t have much to offer. You had to call a taxi to go anywhere. Rental car would not be convenient as it’s not easy to find parking in the downtown area.

Conclusion: Mollies was overpriced for what we got and will not return. People visit New Zealand not to see cities and Auckland is just a transit point for most, so I don’t see why one should spend big money for Mollies. I recommend Westin over Hilton Auckland, although Hilton is on the waterfront and has beautiful water view but docked cruise ships frequently blocked it.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

I am a bit late in writing this but was posting reviews of my stay in South Africa and realized I had forgotten to post on New Zealand from January 2007.

This is without a doubt my very favorite city hotel ever.

The owner is so charming and friendly as is the staff. The decor is all in very comfortable, flowing fabrics of shabby chic. Her husband, who designed opera sets in New York City, decorated it. My bathroom was luxurious marble and so nice. The bedroom had a large gold harp in the corner!

She has been an opera instructor for years and her students perform at night in the small living room. She plays the piano while they sing beautiful opera.

The food is fantastic as well. I really did not want to leave.

They have two cats on the property and if you wish you can ask the front desk if one of them can sleep in your room.

I would return here in a heartbeat. Loved it!!!

  • Liked — The Opera Performance, The Decor, The Food, The Staff...
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

We arrived at Mollies via taxi just as the rain began. We were quite a bit early, and didn't expect to be able to check in, but were welcomed by Frances who dropped everything and graciously gave us a grand tour of the house. We had no idea that it was a house of music, but we could see the beauty immediately. When we were taken to our room, my mom burst into tears. There was opera playing on the CD player, and our room was a three room suite with a parlor looking out onto St. Mary's, a beautiful bedroom with twin beds, a small closet area with robes and slippers for us, and a luxurious spa bath with a huge tub and shower. Everything was plush and light. The ceilings are high, and the house feels spacious but not pretentious. The entry way leads you up the stairs to the sitting room with its grand piano, and adjacent is a common room full of movies, a computer, books to borrow, and a big screen telelvision. Out back is a small gym with wood walls and ceiling. The gym felt like a rustic but rich place in the country. Flowers were everywhere, and music was everywhere. My mom wondered if she truly had gone to heaven, and I think we did for those three days. We enjoyed the singing in the parlor and dinner on our second night. Frances is (was) a concert pianist and opera coach. We enjoyed her students, but she also encouraged a young guest to try his hands at the piano. We weren't just guests as much as part of this wonderful community for a few nights. We both had lamb, and it was the best lamb I've ever had (and I've worked for some excellent chefs who I thought had already served me the best lamb that I'd ever had.) Somehow we got a good deal on Expedia, because the general rate is beyond our reach....but we were so blessed to be able to spend the time at Mollies. It's a short uphill walk to Ponsonby and shops and restaurants. Taxis were easy to come by for short trips around the city, and we used the buses as well. Our stay was a series of surprises...we didn't know that we were in for such care and service and such MUSIC! Everything was taken care of behind the scenes, and we had fresh fruit and the nicest and tightest sheets I've ever slept on. If you are a music lover, or a food lover try Mollies. Go to indulge and take the time for the spa bath!! I almost forgot to add that the floors are heated, and the spa bath has a heater that will keep your bath warm. The decor is comfortable, and you know that you are in the arts while you are there. It will stay in my memory for many years. Perhaps we will get to return someday.

  • Liked — All the details, we were pampered!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mollies

Address: 6 Tweed Street, St. Marys Bay, Auckland, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#1 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mollies 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mollies luxury boutique hotel is located just moments from Auckland’s CBD in the gracious heritage suburb of St Mary’s Bay. Private, spacious and welcoming, it offers elegant accommodation in a relaxed and intimate 5-star setting.Mollies’ ten suites are spacious and beautifully appointed with bespoke furnishings, king size beds, exquisite hand-printed linens and marble ensuites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Mollies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mollies Hotel Auckland Central
Mollies Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mollies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.