We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel DeBrett

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel DeBrett to your Saves list
Hotel DeBrett
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Small and perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

This is a stylish oasis in the middle of Auckland; an old hotel that's been totally upgraded and it's now a boutique luxury hotel, with enchanting rooms, and excellent service. The location is terrific, right in the heart of Auckland. Real effort has gone into the refurbishment, including carpets woven in India (of New Zealand wool). Everything has been carefully thought through...it's a terrific place to stay, especially if you're sick of impersonal international chain hotels. Perfect place for a romantic stay, a business trip or anything else actually.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    112
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
74
378
52
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
340 helpful votes 340 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

There are a handful of amazing hotels in the world this is one of them. A fantastic mix of Urban modern chic, and eclectic mod, and Deco.... Service is fantastic, bath room is huge, and indulgent, electrical outlets in abundance, and where you need them, and Jacobsen Swan chairs next to the art deco works.... Feana (Buenos Aires), Greulich (Zurich), Rivington (NYC), The James (Chicago).... and now DeBrett (Auckland).... Of Course not one owner, but certainly of the same intention.... cool

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

great location, rooms spacious, cleaning not the best. Concierge all talk no do. Restaurant, not up to the reviews it has been getting. Overall I have stayed in better hotels. Over priced.

  • Liked — bathroom
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

Stayed for a total of 3 nights at $600 per night - deal was stay 2 nights get an extra night free. Cost NZ$1200, so $400 per night. So review based on staying in an Auckland in winter at $400 per night.

Positives:
- room was beautifully furnished. Stunning bathroom, and bedroom had fantastic fittings - the wardrobes and bed unit were very nice.
- associated restaurant was good, but definitely not Best New Auckland Restaurant, as Metro magazine titled it. Staff were good a ignoring you, especially at breakfast.
- loved the art deco reception area, and staircases in the public spaces.

Negatives:
- lighting - very confusing lighting systems. Whenever you left the room, you always seemed to leave lights on, as there was no master switch. Then had to hunt down where each light turned off. Also task lighting was miserable - it was difficult to find a spot to read that supplied enough lighting in the living area.
- privacy - our room, 2.8, you should avoid. It is right in the interior of the hotel, and neighbouring hotel rooms can look into it (we share a joint atrium). The customers downstairs can also look straight up into our room, with it's full length glazed balcony doors; giving us zip privacy. The blinds had to be down all the time, so you may as well have had no windows! The living room had two sets of balcony doors, double glazed from memory, that stepped out onto cute wee balconies - however you'd never open those doors, due to privacy/noise issues. Nice to know that we paid for them anyway...
- little things like no bottle opener in the room to open the beer in the minibar, so having to contact reception for one.
- noise - it seems a jazz band/vocalist play for three hours each Sunday from 5pm. Right beneath our room, in the restaurant/public area. We'd just got back for the day, to relax, and instead had the constant distorted effect of amplified music beneath us - tedious! I wish the hotel had warned us, so that we could have gone out for a few hours more and avoided the hotel room that we'd paid for!
- wireless - was handy for internet access, but only one user at a time per room! Also had to log back on each time you disconnected, with an unnecessary level of complexity.
- Rooms were called 'Loft' but misleadingly had no loft. Other 'Loft' rooms had a loft (ie bedroom upstairs). Our room had a bedroom in between the living room and bathroom. Bedroom had no windows. Just seemed to be a small set of rooms that were very overpriced.
- bathroom constantly had a musty, damp smell, as if though there was not enough ventilation.
- unless the pricing is severely reduced, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Hotel staff tried very hard, and were friendly and helpful. Room was quirky in layout and had bad lighting (one red lamp) as well as looking directly into the window of a neighboring restaurant. Concierge was not able to articulate exactly where to get the bus to the airport, nor where we could find an Italian restaurant and gave super-confusing directions. Food in the restaurant was good but service was slow.

Possibly not being fair to the hotel because we found Auckland itself depressing. Rained non-stop and the downtown area was dingy and slightly scary.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

If you are looking for something a little different in a fantastic, but quiet downtown location- this is a must stay. Slightly retro fitout- very upmarket. Fantastically helpful staff. A real treat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

After having stayed at a couple of the bigger hotels in Auckland last year (Sky City Grand Hotel and the Hilton) we thought it would be nice to try one of Auckland's boutique hotels for a more authentic experience. I read reviews on tripadvisor which led me to Hotel DeBrett's website and I was immediately convinced it would suit us perfectly. It is just around the corner from "The Occidental" pub which must serve the southern hemisphere's best mussel pots, it is located right in the heart of the high end shopping precinct and is a short walking distance to some other great restaurants and bars. It is also quite easy to walk to the harbour from the hotel. The hotel's decor is outstanding - I kept finding unusual pieces to look at each day - the light fitting and rug in the atrium area are particularly noteworthy. One of my favourite holiday experiences was to spend a couple of hours whiling away a morning with a book and a pot of tea in front of the fire in the atrium. The hotel bar and restaurant are quite a busy hub, particularly on weekend nights when they spill out with locals and visitors, alike, but we did not notice this in the sanctuary of our room. The hotel's greatest asset, however, must be it's staff, and their enthusiasm for helping the guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay. They must have brought my husband at least five different types of pillow to try until they found the one that he really liked and they did it all with a friendly smile instead of an eye roll which he might have received elsewhere. We are very keen to go back - in fact an email from them today reminded me to make this contribution and when i forwarded it to my husband his immediate response was - "when have you booked, and for how many nights?" Totally recommend the Hotel DeBrett - it is like no other.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel DeBrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeBrett

Address: 2 High Street | CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DeBrett 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant boutique hotel experience in the heart of Auckland City's fashion and business precincts. Hotel DeBrett’s iconic building features 25 individually designed rooms and suites, with luxurious beds and lavish bathrooms with divinely deep baths, granite floors and underfloor heating. Dine in award winning “Kitchen” restaurant, unwind in the warm inviting spaces and enjoy personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel DeBrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debrett Hotel Auckland
Hotel DeBrett Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel DeBrett, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.